Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining & touching psych-ward tale
This film is based on the book It's Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini, which in turn is based on his own experience of a brief stint in a psychiatric hospital for depression.

It's kind of a funny story follows our 16 year old high-achieving protagonist, Craig (played by Keir Gilchrist), as he wrestles with the pressure placed on him by life in general...
Published on 31 Jan 2011 by J. Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great
This film is great, it is one that some teenagers could relate to if they felt alone in the world. Only three stars as it isn't as exciting as i would of liked it to be be but defiantly fun to watch.
Published 20 months ago by Alice - Megan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining & touching psych-ward tale, 31 Jan 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This film is based on the book It's Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini, which in turn is based on his own experience of a brief stint in a psychiatric hospital for depression.

It's kind of a funny story follows our 16 year old high-achieving protagonist, Craig (played by Keir Gilchrist), as he wrestles with the pressure placed on him by life in general. Feeling depressed & suicidal, he goes to his doctor in desperation who is convinced enough to transfer him to '3-North' the secure psychiatry wing of the hospital for an observational 1 week stay.

Convinced that he doesn't belong in the ward full of schizophrenics, self-harmers and agoraphobics Craig is initially a little sceptical that this is the place to help him. After meeting fellow patient Bob (Zach Galifianakis -The Hangover) he begins to open up as Bob shows him that his life just isn't that bad. Things perk up for Craig when he meets Noelle; a self-harmer in whom he really finds a kindred spirit who helps him discover just what he wants from life.

IKOAFS is a simple premise but delivers 101 minutes of straight-forward character development, we really see Craig grow as a person through the story as he learns what is important to him and to stop worrying about the insignificant stuff that is the cause of his stress. Keir Gilchrist fills the role out perfectly, really emoting well and whilst Zach Galifianakis still has the trademark beard (would anyone recognise him clean-shaven??) his character really shows more of his acting range and proves he isn't just a one-trick pony for ridiculous lines with deadpan delivery. The supporting cast are more than capable and provide a rich tapestry of mentally-afflicted characters to juxtapose just how "normal" Craig actually is.

The stylised maps Craig draws (after discovering art-class) are fantastic and the "Under pressure" musical scene is one that will stay with you well after the credits have rolled. Whilst this film probably won't win any awards and only justified a limited cinematic release, this is a touching feel-good film that steers clear of the usual psychiatric ward clichés and has you rooting for Craig the whole way. Definitely worth a watch, recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quirky, immersive and unique story, 28 Jan 2011
By 
D. Diep - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Kind of a Funny Story [DVD] (DVD)
I've never read the book to the film, so I'm going to review the film without such judgements.

The film's plot is about a depressed boy going through pressures in life, such as getting into a good school, dating issues, stressful parents. He thinks about suicide, but instead feels as though he should get checked into a hospital for some medication for his illness. Doesn't sound very funny, right? However, he finds that he must stay in a psychiatric ward for a whole week, meeting some of the patients who are more messed up than he believed he was.

Frankly, I had low expectations given the critic's reviews. But I think they got it wrong this time. This film is at times moving, with the main character, Craig, learning some life lessons along the way. Galifianakis, who plays Bobby (an adult patient who shares more in common with Craig than both of them realise) does an exceptionally great performance, expressing charm and amiability within every role. Newcomer Keir Gilchrist's acting reminds me a bit of Michael Cera's 2-dimensional personalities, but he has his own quirkiness that brings something new to the table. Emma Roberts, the female love interest of Craig is also likable, but I think she is a bit too cheerful to be playing a self-injurer.

The ending, while it leaves you wanting more, is feel-good and uplifting. There are moments of sadness mixed in with hilarity and ridiculousness, and somehow it never feels as though the two parts don't fit in together.

By far a different, but wholly satisfying film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 30 Jun 2012
This review is from: It's Kind of a Funny Story [DVD] (DVD)
I'd definitely recommend this, it's officially now my favourite film :) i found that i completely related with the main character Craig and it was just such a perfect mix of seriousness, humour, honesty and a little romance. The film follows Craig through his journey trying to beat depression amd make sense of his life. It was truthful, uplifting and lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Humor?, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Kind of a Funny Story [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film as someone who suffers depression I found the funny side, which my friends were a little tentative of. I think it does address some deep issues regarding mental health but overall its a beautiful Indie Film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great funny (but real-looking) take on depression and redemption, 19 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: It's Kind of a Funny Story [DVD] (DVD)
As an on off psychiatric ward visitor myself, I thought this film rocked!

Although it's a very funny feel good film with very pretty cast members like Emma Roberts, it's not dissimiar to a real life loony bin - trust me here.

'It's Kind of a Funny Story' is based on a 2006 novel by American author Ned Vizzini. It follows a depressed teenager who becomes suicidal and checks himself into a psychiatric hospital. This film adaptation, directed by Ryan Fleck and Anna Boden, was released in the United States on October 8, 2010.

The lowdown: Craig, the narrator, is 15, and lives with his family in an upper-middle class Brooklyn neighborhood. He attends the prestigious Executive Pre-Professional High School, having studied arduously to win admission. Once admitted, however, he becomes overwhelmed by the school's intense academic pressure. His stress eventually manifests itself in depression. After he stops taking medication prescribed by his psychiatrist, his depression builds until he is admitted to a psychiatric hospital.

Craig meets a female patient, Noelle (Emma Roberts), who coped with a history of sexual abuse by cutting her face with scissors. In isolation from the outside world, and with help from Noelle, Craig confronts the sources of his anxiety and finds redemption and maybe even romance...telling more would be wrong.

This a great movie, with an excellent cast and script (look out for Zach Galifianakis from 'The Hangover', for one, plus Zoe Kravitz (Lenny's daughter).

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Kind of a Funny Story [DVD] (DVD)
The book is a 100x better. Most of the deep points of the book are missed in the film and it doesn't flow well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Kind of a Funny Story, 2 July 2014
This review is from: It's Kind of a Funny Story [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great film. It is funny, sad, and just amazing. I love it so much and would definatley recommend it to anyone wanting a movie night. Have fun watching it xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely film, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Kind of a Funny Story [DVD] (DVD)
I was a bit worried about this film as I thought it would be another one of the many movies about this topic that sucks. I was pleasantly surprised, bestfilm I've seen in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Kind of a Funny Story [DVD] (DVD)
One of my favourite movies, very different to the book but all the same a well acted and scripted movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story., 4 Feb 2014
By 
Mads (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very touching film, bought this for teenage daughter but i enjoyed it as well. Good storyline giving you an insight to how some people feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's Kind of a Funny Story [DVD]
It's Kind of a Funny Story [DVD] by Anna Boden (DVD - 2011)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews