Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World Is Yours
Scarface is one of those rare, rare film experiences you'd be hard-pushed not to enjoy. Brain De Palma's 1983 remake of the 1930's flick had all the ingredients of a classic: a great script, a defining soundtrack and a leading actor in his all-time prime. Al Pacino's performance as Cuban gangster Tony Montana has now almost received iconic status among film fans. Few...
Published on 8 Mar 2005

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon fail on a age old classic
I love this film. A cult classic. You're wondering why I've given it a one star right? My partner and I sat down to watch this film after me telling her how great it was. Now this is where the problem began (and ended pretty quickly), in this day and age you'd expect a company as big as amazon to realise that there is a vast majority of people that are unfortunately hard...
Published 3 days ago by s j l eeles


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World Is Yours, 8 Mar 2005
By A Customer
Scarface is one of those rare, rare film experiences you'd be hard-pushed not to enjoy. Brain De Palma's 1983 remake of the 1930's flick had all the ingredients of a classic: a great script, a defining soundtrack and a leading actor in his all-time prime. Al Pacino's performance as Cuban gangster Tony Montana has now almost received iconic status among film fans. Few would deny that Pacino's take on cocaine-snorting Montana is not one of his career best. Scarface is seen nowadays as one of the top gangster films, maybe not in the same ilk as say The Godfather, but still a thoroughly entertaining piece of cinema. This 2 Disc Special Edition, although not loaded with features, still should be part of any respectable DVD collection out there.
For those unfamiliar with the story, Scarface follows the path of Tony Montana, a charismatic Cuban refugee, who arrives in Miami looking for the American dream. Tony's up-front and tough personality makes him go right to the top of the cocaine underworld. However, no one, as they say, stays at the top forever. There are consequences to his success, and as Tony learns, money and power can't give you everything. A special mention should go to Michelle Pfeiffer, who superbly plays Tony's love, in what was her first major film role.
The sound and picture quality was in my eyes the highlight of this DVD package. The new digital transfer was near flawless, and the comparisons between this and the old VHS are unbelievable to be honest. Hearing Pacino talk so clearly in that hilarious accent of his was a delight and the famous 'Say Hello To My Leetle Friend' ending blows you away with all the sound.
The extras shown on disc 2 are not in abundance, but what you get here is quality not quantity. You have some decent documentaries with recent interviews with Pacino, De Palma and scriptwriter Oliver Stone. I must stress they are not very long, but don't let that put you off. You get some really fascinating information about the making of the film (including Stone's trip to South America!), that more than satisfied me.
Scarface is a tremendously powerful, violent and moving film which is made by a really talented team on and off camera. It is loaded with famous scenes throughout which Pacino makes his own, once you see Scarface you'll never forget it. If you are wanting to own a genuinely brilliant piece of 80's cinema, you have came to the right DVD package. Do yourself and your collection justice. You won't look back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital copy code works, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarface Limited Edition Steelbook Triple Play [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Hi to everyone wondering whether the digital copy of this movie works. I can confirm that even though it says on the slip in the case that it expires on 05/09/2012 I have just put the code n to itunes 27/03/2013 and it worked great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the highs and lows, 12 April 2010
simply the greatest film i have ever seen! mustve watched it over 25 times and still never get bored of it. such a thrilling story from start to finish and pacino is obviously brilliant. i am biased in that i love gangster films such as godfathers,carlitos way,casino,blow etc but scarface is my number one as it runs at a good pace, has a great mixture of action and suspense. probably best not to watch in front of the kids coz of the excessive use of swearing & the famous chainsaw scene (you dont actually see much). it is over the top and very 80's but so what? it works. im sure by now youve already seen the film so i wont explain the story but the added bonus disc is a welcome addition. to conclude a movie that should be in every collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tony Montana: The Rise and Fall of a Nortorious Gangster, 25 Dec 2003
"Me? I want what's coming to me... The world, Chico--and everything in it." - Tony Montana
"Scarface" was a box-office flop when it first came out and was literally trashed by almost every film critic that you can think of. Many years later, it's considered a classic and some say it's one of the most influential gangster movies to ever to be made. There's real power that cannot be denied that is held within this amazing masterpiece that has one of the highest replay values I've ever experienced. I can NEVER get tired of this outstanding gangster epic, and it is a grand event that stands out from most crime sagas--and most films althogether.
Tony Montana came to America with nothing, with the exception of a dream to become a somebody; a successful and powerful somebody. He turns to a life of crime and slowly but surely becomes a well-established gangster. However, Tony becomes greedier and more consumed with power as the days go by, and it's only a matter of time before he starts to want it all. His "wanting it all" leads him to his ultimate demise that will consume his fate. This is a story about starting with nothing and then having everything--only to lose it all in then end.
Words cannot even begin to describe how passionately I feel about this movie. This is a crime saga that has layers of character and story. It isn't just a senseless bloodbath with mindless violence around every corner. No, this movie has a certain path and structure. Al Pacino literally makes the role of "Tony Montana" his own and never loses sight of it for a second. I can't think of another character that is "impersonated" in the real world more than Pacino's "Tony Montana." The film is brilliantly written by Oliver Stone (who deemed this movie as his farewell to cocaine), and is perfectly executed by director Brian DePalma. This film had an amazing cast and crew behind it, which made it the success that it is today.
This Two-Disk Anniversary Edition is fully packed with some great extras. One of the main things that is so great about the DVD is the incredible audio and picture transfer that is COMPLETELY superb in contrast with the older version. While it's easier to note the difference in picture with a bigger (and perhaps even a widescreen) television, you should still be able to tell the difference and come to the conclusion that this new transfer is much better than the original. Extra features included are deleted scenes, documentaries, a "TV Version" montage that is absolutely priceless, and a hip-hop feature that shows interviews with some of today's hottest rappers and how they deem this movie as a "ghetto classic." While the DVD could've had a few more extra features, it is in no way disappointing.
"Scarface" is a timeless classic that seems to get bigger and bigger as the years roll by. It's a rare breed of film that can never be duplicated in a successful manner. I find it truly amazing how a film started off so weak when it first came out only to become the legend that it is today. If you have not seen it yet, I highly recommend that you give it a viewing as soon as possible. It is, and forever will be, one of my absolute favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AL PACINO'S BEST FILM?, 26 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarface [Blu-ray] [DVD] (DVD)
the time is 1980, the place Miami. An influx of Cuban refugees. One of them, Tony Montana, played brilliantly by Al Pacino, is destined to become one of the biggest crime lords of that time. It starts in the refugee camp. Along with his friend, Manny, played by Steven Bauer, they undertake a contract killing to obtain a green card. He quickly climbs up the ranks, and is soon running his own crime ring.

This film is violent and deserves it's 18 rating, but it's about gangsters. It's supposed to be violent. Just don't watch the TV version! It's possibly Al Pacino's best film.

There has been some bad reviews for this blu ray release. While it is not as good as new releases, in terms of quality, it is still good, having good black levels and natural looking colours. There is a very fine layer of grain in some of the interior shots, but not enough to distract the viewer, and it is very possible that this is how it looked in cinemas, so it would be the source material, not the blu ray transfer. The outside shots are bright and have strong colours, being shot in Miami.

The transfer is in the original aspect ratio of 2.35:1. And the sound is in 5.1.
Overall, this blu ray release is better than the dvd. If you've never seen this film, buy this blu ray and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAY HELLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND!, 8 July 2004
Well on of Al Pacino's greatest films ever.Plenty of action in this.Great storyline.A classic.One of the best accents ever as well.This film rocks from start to finish.
This film is a great conversion from the even older version about an American involved in the Mafia.It keeps true to the old version and is even better!
The extras on this DVD are great and at moments funny.You get to see when Scarface was put on TV and all swearing had to be cancelled out (there is ALOT of swearing in Scarface)!There's also interviews and even a hip-hop section!
Briefly:This film is great and if you don't mind swearing and violence then this film is for you!If you get quezy at the sight of blood or can't stand swearing then avoid this at all costs.Still a fab film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People's reason's for not liking this movie..., 23 Sep 2011
This review is from: Scarface Limited Edition Steelbook Triple Play [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I'm not going to review this moive as everyone knows it's an oustanding film. I would like to just quickly comment on that the picture quality and 7.1 dts sound is stunning. It would of been nice in some night time scene's to see abit more attention to detail with grain's and dark black's. But that is very, very slight complaint. Extra's are good not oustanding but very solid.

However, this moive review is really to question the people that have discredited this movie. The people who rate this poorly state that it is over the top and too violent etc etc. But if they actually had a brain cell, they would realise that the whole point of the film, is for that very reason. Going from the music, to the fashion, to al pacino's voice, to the violence, that cocaine is like gold. The whole movie is a metaphor for the time in Miami in the 80's, time of excess.

Find it quite embarassing for people to slag of an oustanding movie, when they havent got a clue in the reasons why it's a so called 'bad movie'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars say hello to my little friend!, 29 Mar 2004
Scarface, introduces Antonio Montana (Al Pacino), a Cuban immigrant with an untraditional perspective on achieving the American dream.
Montana starts as a low level thug, who works his way up the organised crime chain.
Slowly he begins to create a reputation for himself, however his determination is never far apart from his rashness and overconfidence.
Despite being nearly three hours long this films does not seem to drag, for this credit must be given to both Pacino ability to carry the film with a memorable performance and the script itself
Despite being contoversial at the time for its violence, there are far more violent and disturbing films available on DVD (Last house on the left springs to mind)
The films greatest strength is the acting of Pacino who provides some memorable lines.
His character was reasonably complex, just when a viewer begins to feel sympathy for him, he makes everyone remember why gangsters don't make good friends.
Al Pacino gives an unforgettable performance as Tony Montana.
From the start he begins to set his sight on bigger and better things, eventuallty reaching the top of the crime world.
Scarface is really a must see film if you have any interest at in crime/gangster style films or if you are a Pacino film.
If you have seen Pacino's other gangster films such as Carlito's Way, Donnie Brasco and the Godfather trilogy - I guess you probably have seen this one as well, but if you have not then i thouroghly recommend this. I bought the orginal version on DVD - not this special edition however the quality of the film itself can easily justify a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top film!, 18 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be one of the greatest gangster movies ever made, which follows the rise and ultimate downfall of Tony Montana a young Cuban who chases the American dream and finds it to be a nightmare. The fact that the film has been described as violent, cold and morally bankrupt is the very reason to watch this masterpiece, which pits Montana against the system he so succinctly describes in saying "first you get the money, then you get the power, then you get the women". The huge backdrops, buildings, awful clothes and terrible music seem to magnify what a small and helpless character Montana is in the scheme of things. Al Pacino does a fantastic job playing the ambitious Montana, and does it with such gusto you believe he is Cuban. The supporting cast are great, notably Robert Loggia. On my first viewing of the film I was so moved by it, that the dialogue has permanently seared itself into my brain. If you love a quotable movie, this is it. The film hijacks the TWA advertising blurb "the world is yours" for all the wrong reasons, which is repeated throughout the film especially in my favourite scene where Montana looks up to the night sky and see an airship emblazoned with the words. And finally you should really try Montana's chat up technique, its guaranteed to deliver you with a slap in the face, as my mate discovered in pub the other day. As the drug dealer said in Deep Cover "buy it!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a one man show!, 27 Jan 2004
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] (DVD)
Scarface has to be one of my favourite films ever made.I love gangster films and this is right around the top of the list of the best ever made.Al Pacino gives the best performance in any film at anytime ever made and i will argue it to the grave.Many may think this is all that salvages the film but it is far from the only saving grace.All the characters interact brilliantly with each other and all give award winning performances.The script is just amazing you will be quoting lines from scarface for the rest of your life.Just a brilliant all round movie.Very gritty and doesn't go along with the happily ever after end.It shows the real decay that takes place with drug abuse and shows the american dream gone too far.The dvd could be better more interviews from Pacino himself would be much appreciated on what is his best ever performance.I advise all to buy you won't have any regrets if you like gangster films especially but if you just love good films im sure you will love this one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scarface Limited Edition Steelbook Triple Play [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
£28.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews