Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars567
4.3 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£7.99+ £2.03 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2012
Usually this type of game doesn't really interest me but after hearing all the hype about it and seeing video clips I thought I must give it a go and all I can say is it is stunning!

Do whatever you want: Once you've done the start you are pretty free to do whatever you want go live in a village and work for someone or get a weapon and go out and explore the wonderful carefully crafted world that's been made for you to explore. You can tell the game makers have spent loads of time and detail to make it wonderful.

Dragon Born: Your character is special they are a dragon born which means you can use shouts and absorb dragon souls when you kill them this gives you a important role in some parts of the game and in the main story line.

Gameplay: So much to do! I've been playing for 3 months now and still have a huge list of quests to do its amazing its like an unlimited amount of adventures in this game something which not many games have to offer, I would say well done to the creators and writers of this game on spending so much time on quests and storylines.

Good:
Good graphics and detail everywhere.
Great sounds.
Very good gameplay.
Only takes about 5 minutes of playing to realize this game is a masterpiece.
Plenty to do.
Difficulty settings if you are new to this type of game make it a bit easier or if you want more of a challenge you can adjust it to make you happy.
You can be a mage, archer, or a armed warrior.

Bad:
Some bugs and glitches around which every game has but there are some missions that don't work.
Some people say the same thing over and over again it gets annoying.
I'm not fond of the navigation system and maps I find it hard to get to the quests sometimes.
Sometimes the quests could explain a bit more on what your meant to do.

Overall:

I don't often play games and write reviews that say this is one of the best games ever but it has to be said for this one. This game holds a big adventure for you a massive wonderful world waiting to be explored now go and slay some dragons!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2011
As a fan of Oblivion it was obvious I had to pre-order this beauty of a game. Now I did have to take some time altering to it, some changes like not being able to use health spells while still wielding weapons, remembering this time around that vendors DO now run out of money to buy off you, and that rather than a standard level for enemies you now face regular/fairly regular "big bosses" or masters/leaders so you do have to plan ahead often to make sure you are well equipped. But the latter is fine with me, its easy to get robotic on games and Skyrim mixes it up a little to keep you on your toes!

For those new to TES, the world is an epic freeroam world, many interactive A.I. and many quests, main, sub etc. This installment sees your character (fully customisable, male/female, size, war paints, hair, and best of all you get to (with requiring money ingame) customise armour etc) in a new world from Oblivion, we see a Triassic or Jurassic style age map, with such beautifully designed beasts as the Sabre Tooth, Mammoths and tundric terrains. There are giants (mostly friendly if you keep your distance, try not to take them on early on), mages, mercenaries, dungeons, caves all in mountainous and open regions, all explorable (though some only by quests in first instances), you have many guilds you can join, thieves guild, the Dark Brotherhood (assassins), and many other unique to TES this edition. There are cities and quaint villages all with their own unique offering to quests and skill trainers. Though the size of the map can be daunting to many not just new players so its advised you make good use of the carriage outside Whitehall stables to pay a small bit of gold to travel to each city so you can the fast travel easier (to fast travel you must have explored the area atleast once before).
This edition to TES is literally about you being a dragonborn (able to take the soul of a dragon), the dragons are mostly random on appearing but there are areas you can seek out to hunt them, you also have a special "shout", the language of the dragon, they are great at using verse enemies but be careful not to use them on the citizens or you can get into trouble ;-) Also you seem to be in the middle of a wonderful war between the Nords (native to Skyrim) and the Imperials who reside in Skyrim as semi-rulers though you will notice there are still Jarls in the cities of Skyrim who are mostly backing the Nords or Stormcloaks as they are known. So you can have your hands full when people expect you to choose a side ;-)
Though originally I gave a 3 star for taking away some of the original Oblivion leveling styles etc I find myself ever more addicted to the TES via Skyrim, this game is hard to put down and there are so many options to choose and paths you can take that it feels alive within you. The interactivity as always is great but I have to say its a great thing the voices sound more numerous than Oblivion, that got a tad irritating hearing only 2 different voices in the game :P Now you have a more diverse accent arena and as for the characters, so much has been added to the details, the Khajiit look awesome and sound much better! Seriously good work put into this title! Bar the rush to get the PS3 version out on 11.11.11 hence the often glitchy problems verse Xbox and of course the mighty PC! But I highly recommend this to any age group, bar like the rating its given (15 in UK) as there are darker circles in the game just like in reality! But the beauty is you get to choose how you play it, good guy, bad guy, or a bit of everything! This is no ordinary game!

Alas there are a number of glitches I have found:
1. A couple of times out in the wilderness you can get attacked while already in conversation within a quest so you have to come out of it to fight then start the conversation from scratch again.
2. Sometimes an enemy will fall and you won't be able to pick their items (but you can leave area via a door etc and return to successfully do this).
3. Dragons often "flee" leaving you to chase them far and wide to kill them and also you must be careful, I have had many dragons kill vendors etc, a blacksmith, a sneak trainer and other important people that I didn't realise were important until later on when I found some shops were no longer available to trade with.
4. Sometimes vendors will not show the selling bit to use for trade, I thought maybe somedays weren't trade days etc but this seems very random and not set.
5.a. There is a serious "slow down" rate on PS3 but I have only found this on gameplay of over 6 hours non-stop! So shouldn't really be an issue so long as you keep an eye on real time ;-) But this is hard, its an addictive game, and beautiful in so many ways!
5.b. I have found taking auto save off completely and just manually saving has also stopped "glitching" when entering/exiting areas, the autosave seems very badly done so if you can rely on yourself to save regularly then I highly recommend this.
6. A door is missing in the garden you find a Daedra God in via a portal for a quest (I forget exact details) but you get out of the garden via speaking with this Daedra but if you return to this garden later you will not be able to return so be careful to save often especially before entering new areas.
7. Horses die very easily and you still can't attack while riding so you have to just keep fleeing regularly, dragons can kill them in just one hit if the horse doesn't run in time (when you are not mounted on the horse), this is costly and unique horses like Shadowmere will be gone for good when dead!
8. Some areas you travel to on quests will still not be possible to fast travel to even if you've been there before.

So really I have come across a couple of bad glitches but overall most problems are rectifiable manually so its just a case of remembering where not to return and having breaks between gameplay (even if it is your day off!), on my days off I play 4 hours a time, turn off console and come back 30mins or more to return to gameplay, with this I have had no real issue with slow down bar the odd moment where you can just stop movement a few seconds, let the game load settle and return to play.
(*This is without the patches, I haven't internet for PSN so unsure what the patches do to the glitches but without the patch these steps should help*)

Top game, see it taking another Game of the Year award without any hassle! Well deserved and keep up the great work!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 January 2012
I'll just preface this review by telling the reader who I am. 65 years old and now quite curmudgeonly. Fell in love with rpg games when my boss lent me his zx81 with a copy of the hobbit, from then on I was hooked.
I bought a vic20, then a c64, then an Amiga, etc etc. I have played every rpg off and and online. Offline Bards Tale was to me the best, some of the Final Fantasy series came close, online Everquest gave me the best experiences in gaming in my life, and many many good friends, who I met in the real world, and proved to be as nice in RL as in VR.
I have played all of the forerunners of Skyrim, and never got hooked, no more than 9 months ago I sold my copy of Oblivion on Amazon Marketplace, and threw my Oblvion guide in the recycle bin, yes stupid with a capital S
Back to now, bought Skyrim, hoping that it could the void, and so it did.
If you look at other reviews you well see many criticisms for bugs and loading lags, well they are all legitimate, but it has improved on the PS3.
There are still gfx bugs, and other glitches. The final line however is how enjoyable is the game, and in my book it gets full marks.
The size of the world is amazing, you can go anywhere; just wander about and collect ingredients, mine ores and kill stuff.
Quests are everywhere, with huge rewards, and on many occasions when you make a kill, you are rewarded with a slow motion cut scene of the kill.
Weapons, armour, skills, crafts it has it all.
I have recently broke 200 hours of playtime, and looking at the map and available quests, I would guess there is at least another 200 hours at least in the game.
So the bottom line is that Skyrim, has put the fire back into an old gamers heart.
And just to add more spice to the meal, we have Kingdoms of Amalur in a few weeks, happy days.
1010 comments|93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2012
This is an absolute must have game!

It has an incredibly immersive map, and you would think therefore that overall it lacks detail, but you would be wrong. You can spend hours simply exploring a few crypts, and once outside there is a beautifully constructed landscape awaiting you. The graphics load smoothly, and while I have experienced the occasional lag in terms of the textures loading, there have been no serious issues.

The main storyline is good, but it is the sheer number of side quests that make this game excellent. The side quests are well thought out, and include detailed plots, and numerous NPC's will have some form of small task for you to complete.
The level-up system is a joy to use, with a clear description of what each perk gives you, and working your way toward those perks is not arduous at all.
The number of things you can do in the game is overwhelming, from simply chopping wood to crafting your very own set of dragon armour, and the range of skills is incredible

However, I have experienced some trouble with this game. Once, a dragon I was fighting duplicated, the original disappeared, and the second dragon just circled over head, not attacking and I wasn't able to harm it.. Once or twice the game has come to a shuddering halt, and frozen (but not often). But do not let these deter you from getting this game! A quick restarting of the console, and it was as good as new.

It easily makes its way into my top five, and if you get it, i'm sure it will be in yours too.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
From its dazzling open-world expansions, to its gorgeous visuals and complex storyline driven by both character dialogue and intense gameplay and backed by an astounding soundtrack, Skyrim is ultimately one of the greatest RPG games ever created.

The central premise, in a nutshell, revolves around the player assuming the role of Dragonborn, who must save Skyrim's fate from the malicious and manipulative dragon Alduin. Fantasy lovers alike will undoubtedly enjoy every minute progressing further into this complex storyline, but what also gives this game a significant amount of both depth and substance is the second story which runs parallel; the land of Skyrim being torn apart by a bitter rivalry between the Stormcloak and Imperial factions entrenched in hatred since the overthrowing of the High King. This in itself plunges the player into an incredibly intricate, politically-driven feud and offers a much more refreshing perspective. As a man who generally cannot adhere to one task alone without becoming incredibly apathetic and demotivated, Skyrim offered me an amazing opportunity to dip between these two major plot lines (this of course not taking into consideration the ridiculous multitude of other quests appointed to you from NPC's (non-playable characters) across the map of Tamriel far-and-wide.)

The musical score in itself is more than just a cacophony of miscellaneous in-game sounds of sword-on-sword clinging and clanging and noises akin to battle sequences. From the hearty string and flute melodies that echo through the inns of the homely Bannered Mare, snuggled away from the blizzards and bitterly cold winter storms, to the haunting, foreboding backdrop amidst the Nordic dungeons where time forgot, to the epic, emotionally-driven mosaic compositions that form a tapestry of both suspense and great heartfelt depth as you traverse along the plains and rocky hills overlooking the azure sea and culture-rich villages, right down to the grand royalty of the great halls of Dragonsreach, Solitude and Winterhold, the soundtrack does more than just accompany the gameplay; it enriches it. Each and every place one can explore in Skyrim is brought ever more to life with the wave of Jeremy Soule's (the composer's) hand, and if you feel I'm exaggerating a tad, try closing your ears or muting the television while playing and you will see for yourself. Pieces like Distant Horizons and Wind Guide You make you want to just lay the controller down for a bit and watch the camera rotate itself around the player and the mass expansions laid out around them. One They Fear and Caught Off Guard will have your adrenaline pumping as you fight off behemoth-sized fire and ice-breathing dragons atop mountains as well as undead knights in the murky, sinister depths. The score is so varied and patiently written and performed it is spread over four discs (owing to roughly 18 tracks each) which I, as you can imagine, am proud to own.

The visuals go without saying. The incredible detail from both the in-game physics to the rich contrasting colors are testament to the aptitude and sheer proficiency of those at Bethesda. Thick, crisp white snow blanketing towns and villages which fluoresce in the night. Intense crimson sunlight beating down on trickling water streams and smooth stepping rocks. Rich, vibrant greenery inhabiting obscure tree creatures. Marble floors and walling of desolated Elvish towns, protected by advanced robotics operating with all their alluring architecture. Golden, warmly fires underneath char-black cauldrons to tiger-skinned rugs which hug vast spaces of palace flooring, to iron doors in ancient Nordic underground bunkers, presented in sharp and elegant swirls and patterns. All detailed, and more, in such a way you can almost step inside this world and be lost amongst its beauty and awe. Even great care has gone into the facial expressions exhibited by NPCs, ally and foe alike; energy-surrounded guarding shields summoned by necromancers and great axes wielded by the greatest and challenging of enemies are just some of many examples.

As far as the dynamics of the gameplay go, Skryim does not stop short of just offering players the ability to shape their character's appearance and race. Throughout the game and with each level up, the player is given the chance to increase their magic, health and/or stamina, followed by their skills, which range from lockpicking to armour, and from smithing to conjuration. Take your pick, after all you decide how you want your character to be. A stealthy assassin possessing advanced lockpicking skills? Or a mage specialising in healing, conjuring and alchemy? A hardy, steel-clad warrior? Or a mix of all of these? The choice, and indeed the Skyrim world is yours. Subsequently, the actions you carry out in this game will improve such skills, for e.g. the more you devise potions and medicines, the higher your alchemy. The more you implement the use of your shield in combat, the higher your blocking. Weapons, armour and jewelry improve certain aspects of your statistics and scrolls collected throughout allow you to conjure up allies to aid in fights when help may be needed.

The fighting sequences keep the action fast-paced and heart-pounding. The player has the option of using physical means of attack (swords, shields, axes, bows and arrows, hammers etc) as well as using magic in a variety of destructive ways (fire bolts and flames, ice attacks and electric sparks shooting from the hand, Victor-Von-Doom-style.) But above and aside all this, Skyrim offers a much more unique in-game combat technique which is also integral to many of the quests; the ability to shout certain chants and words in a myriad of manners. They can be used to control and bend the weather to one's will, calm creatures or terrify enemies, sending them fleeing back to the recesses they crawled from, and knocking fool-hardy bandit chiefs right off their feets. Shouts can be improved with every new part of the chant learned (which involves first discovering the chant transcript and then purchasing them by means of dragon souls obtained from slaying them.)

In summary, Skyrim is truly a colossal fantasy RPG epic that requires a great deal of time and dedication; expect to burn away 3-4 hours to even several as it pulls you into a beautiful world you do not wish to pull yourself away from. What I have reviewed is a mere fraction of what this game offers (no hyperbole intended.) Battle dragons, wolves, vampires, the undead, corrupt ministers, shady townsfolk, reckless thieves, daemon worshippers, bounty hunters, assassins... Choose your fate, decide the outcome where more than one is possible; town criminal with a price on your head, or hailed saviour of the people? To support an Imperial movement well-cemented in the politics of Tamriel, or side with the rebellious Stormcloaks, that claim the democracy is fragmented under Imperial rule? The choice is yours.

At the time of reviewing this game, Amazon priced it at £12.48. Take my word for it, it is, and will be, worth every penny. You may find cheaper elsewhere, but once you immerse yourself in this game, the price tag will appear negligible.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
You'll love it for being so good but hate it for being better..

This game is VAST.. I mean seriously huge. You'll get 300 hours of game play at least out of it. It's addictive and enthralling. You will get lost in this world and find it incredibly hard to put it down as one quest leads seamlessly onto another. Value for money wise, it's got to beat everything else out there hands down.

Here you have a game of breathtaking scale that interweaves action with character building, crafting, exploration and shaping the course of a land's history.. with dragon slaying. What's not to like?
It's a really good game, but as it turns out there are a few things...

- It hangs/freezes regularly. About every hour or two in my case and it seems to have gotten worse with the last two updates - not better. This is frustrating to say the least.

- Glitches and bugs do pop up , most minor but there do exist a couple of major ones that affect your quest lines and cause dramatic drops in the enjoyment of it

- Loading times. The waiting every time you go inside, outside or (in some cases) change rooms of a building) are long and drag. I understand why they are there but I think they need to re-think the way/why/when and how they do this as it breaks up the gameplay too much in many instances.

- Difficulty. They have not quite got it nailed in my opinion. The start is ok, challenging enough and then it settles into a good curve more or less but by the time you get to level 40 it really starts to lose its shine because most things pose no threat to you whatsoever. Also the availability of things (items spells and stuff etc) is weird and not natural. eg. Why should there be less gold in a rich person's house because your level is low than later when you're more experienced? I think these sorts of things should be re-thought.

- Story and Character - the biggest issue with this game and the thing that stops a good game from being truly great. Like many MANY games out there, they get the 'what' you do sorted out but not really the 'why' you'd bother. No one has any charisma, personality or endearing qualities. The voice acting and general story writing is average and it feels like if they learnt a few lessons from Naughty Dog (Uncharted series) they'd have something truly great. They have spent years building thousands of different dungeons to pillage but it fails to get you excited enough to bother most of the time or provide any reason for you to care about any of the characters you should be helping - or not.

eg. There is a political struggle going on and you are pretty much expected to side with one faction or the other (Imperials or Stormcloak rebels) - but don't really have an option to choose neither. What if (like me) you think the Empire is a largely corrupt and fascist entity that has no legitimate claim to rule over others but then the Stormcloak rebels are a bunch of redneck white supremacists whose leader is a murderous egotistical megalomaniac who has no claim to rule others either? What can you do? Frankly if I'm the Dragonborn and can defeat Alduin, run three guilds and be a Thane of several regions I should either be able to suggest myself or tell them all to get knotted and undermine them by establishing an anarchist independent state.. but no.. I have to play along with this ridiculous feudal paradigm. Sigh.. anyway.. there's more.

Why are none of the special or amazing legendary quest items nowhere near as good as the stuff I can make myself? It cheapens things..
Why don't people remember/respect who you are? The world doesn't really change in any meaningful way as a result of your actions or achievements which takes a lot of the shine off.
Some things are earned too easily also. Eg. I (reluctantly) became the Arch Mage of the magical college just by completing the quests. I don't even use that much magic and (unfortunately) spend most of time killing endless undead in caves - not running an arcane academy. Am I the best person for the job? No. Did I have a choice? No.

I am now also the head of the Thieves Guild but still get treated like a common piece of dirt by my underlings when I pass through. I also have one quest where it still doesn't consider me to have completed the 'join the thieves guild' part of the quest when I'm supposedly running the place. Also why is almost every structure around the place run down? Anyway.. I could go on.. but the point is that it felt a bit rushed and while it is impressive in scope and brilliantly engineered to suck you in and take hours, days and even weeks of your life - it should be better I feel.

Buy it, enjoy it, be frustrated by it but keep the pressure on them to do better next time and write some fascinating stories and characters to bring the world truly alive.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
2 days in, 30 hours down, grip on reality ebbing ...

As an experienced RPG gamer, I am not easy to please. I want true freedom in character creation. I want an excellent story (sorry Dragon Age 2, you really let me down). I want the best swords, axes, spells, enchantments, robes, shields and even books/journal entries (depending on the RPG) possible. I want bloodthirsty enemies and damsels in distress. I want excellent graphics. I want well-thought out side quests and sandbox style play. I want maps that are actually exciting to explore. I want that experience when you turn a corner and have absolutely no idea what to expect. I want the detail. I want a game you can get lost in, and give up your life for. And most of all, I want DRAGONS.

There is absolute delivery here on all of those things and more.

This game goes back to its Oblivion roots and thankfully Bethesda have listened to what the fans wanted and removed many annoying elements that plagued the prequel. Lots of the pointless skill attributes have been removed to streamline the experience (inteligence for one), and other little graphical issues (swimming anyone?) have been much improved.

The game runs on a new graphics engine and thats plain to see from the draw distance and stunning vistas, to the way the water runs down the river with the spray and ripple effects. I played Oblivion on both the PC and PS3 and after seeing this run on both, I think the difference is smaller this time in terms of quality- really pushing what the PS3 is capable of.

The learning curve to get in to the game is shallow by comparison to other RPG's, and its not that which will put off the first time Elder Scrolls adventurer but the shear scale of the world you live in- its beyond words and something you'd usually associate with a massively multiplayer online game. Even I (a hardcore geek gamer!) was slightly intimidated by its scale. But that only adds to the immersive nature of the Skyrim world- hours flash by in seconds as you explore that tiny little cranny behind the stables, or have a swim down the river just to see where it takes you. I have never quite felt so involved in a game before.

If you like a nice chronological gaming experience, with limited choice and mainly hacking and slashing (bah, you unimaginative types) then this game probably isn't for you. Otherwise, buy it now.
Just don't expect your friends/family/boss/significant other to be too pleased about it- you're giving up 100+ hours of your life. And wow, is it worth it.
1818 comments|159 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
While I do love this game, it's rich back story, locations, open exploration and game play, geography, included DLC's and sheer enormity, however, it can never get 5 stars simply because of the glaring problems, the 3 main of which are:

1. Glitchiness....lost count of the times I have been stuck 'in' or between rocks, loading screen freezes requiring hard resets.
2. Lack of character diologue and interesting character interactions with any and all the various NPC's.
3. Horrendous combat system!

But, apart from that it is still pretty awesome!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
If you are a fan of open world-sandbox RPG's then this is for you.

Yes this is a five star review, and yes this an absolutely amazing game... however I do want to emphasise that it is not perfect.

I am playing this four years after it came out... and I do with a lot of games because initial releases often buggy as a hell, and I want to make sure that I have the final patch before embarking on my quest. Additionally, and for the sake of clarity, I am a big fan of Morrowind (although it took me a long time to like it), and I have NOT played Oblivion.

The story is interesting insofar that there are two main quests, three class-type sub quests and more miscellaneous quests than I can count.

The two main quests are that:
1) Civil war has broken out in Skyrim between the Empire and native Nords. You must pick a side and see your faction to victory.
2) Because of the civil war, the dragon king Alduin has managed to break free of his time-prison, and as the Dragonborn (and dragon soul in a human body), only you can defeat him.

Both story-sets are good, make reasonable sense, and are enjoyable.

There are a few things that really struck me whilst playing;
The graphics are great. Bearing in mind that I only upgraded from my PS2 to PS3 in 2015, I played this on my HD TV was impressed. There is fantastic detail in everything, and the way that light sources are used really create atmosphere. That said, these are no perfect - in particular, my shadow when cast on a cave wall was horribly pixellated.

Secondly, the scale of the game. It's big. I mean like really big. Seriously, we're talking ginormous. At a rough guess, I have put 500 hours into this, and I'm still not done with all the side quests and my character is a long way from being maxed (currently in the high 90's).

Thirdly, the AI, and in particular that of your companion/sidekick. Look, I know that AI is notoriously difficult to code, but it is frustrating when you're being hacked to death and your coterie just stand around and watch. Not in this game - they have absolutely NAILED the AI. My companion responded to my commands, attacked and defended as I wanted and was generally a real asset.

Next up, is the XP scaling. I know that a lot of games use this now, but can I just say how much I love it. It doesn't matter how much of a super-character you are, key areas will scale the villains accordingly and this makes the game so much better.

With these points, it should evident that dropping your £20 odd on this game is well worth it, and I would even go as far as to say that this game ON ITS OWN justifies the cost of a PS3.

However, as great as this game is - and it is a great game, and I really do love it - it is not perfect. A few complaints;
1) You can own property throughout Skyrim in which store objects and equipment. Great. However, if you put too many objects in a container, the game starts to REALLY lag. I mean like 3minutes to open up a new area (where said container is). However, you get no idea how many items a container can hold, and there is no warning. It would a really good idea to put some sort of limit, either by weight or number of items, on containers so that this cannot happen.

2) Several times I got stuck in the scenery, and had to reload. This is really annoying, and there is no function on the PS3 to report the problem, or the co-ordinates where this has happened.

3) Hard crashes. Yup, I got nearly a dozen over 500hrs of play time. It's not the end world, but it is really annoying, and typically happened when there was lots of magic being cast on screen.

4) Whilst the companion/sidekick AI is great, equipping them with magic enhanced weapons does not do anything. For example, I give my companion a daedric bow with should do 30pts of additional fire damage. When I use it, the target bursts into flames. When my companion uses it, it just seems to deal regular damage.

5) Spells and enchantments. Honestly, I found these a bit frustrating. Unlike Morrowind, there is no method to create your own spells, and different pieces of equipment limit the type of enhancement (by way of soul gems) that you can place on them. Personally, I would have like this to have been a lot more open, rather than the restrictive way they are applied.

6) No online play. I appreciate that such a game would be difficult with online players, but it would have been nice to be dungeon crawl with a few friends.

7) Reputation. The game employs a Fable-esque reputation style function... but the results are really mixed. For example, I got dragon scale armour and Azura's Star... and it was great because NPC's comment on it as I walk past them. However, this is not true of all quests. In Whiterun, the court wizard tells you "if you have an interest in magic, you should join the Mages Guild in Winterhold"... and off I go, join the guild, rise through the ranks and become High Archmage. But it doesn't matter how many times I go back to that court wizard he never acknowledges my rank, and keeps telling me to go to Winterhold if I have an interest in magic. It's a bit frustrating.

8) Lastly maps, and quest markers. The world map is great, and I really like. However area maps, particularly of dungeons, are horrible. They overlay all levels onto a single two dimensional plan, making it impossible to tell where a door or a corridor actually is, or which way I should be heading. Similarly, the quest markers are great for telling you once you have started a quest. However, there is no marker - nor system for turning it on - to tell you who has a quest for you. I appreciate that this encourages you to "talk to everybody", but towards the end of the game, it is a little needle-in-the hay-stack like.

However, the annoyances are minor given how great the game is in other areas. The graphics, immersive gameplay, and sheer scale all warrant your time and money.

Not perfect... but possibly the best reason to buy a PS3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
This game starts of with a bang within the first 15 minutes your running for your life & escaping a burning village. Sounds Fun? Well yes & no; Skyrim starts off brilliantly & for the first few hours you feel like you've left you world behind & you are now living within the snow capped mountains of this amazing fantasy world. You have 100% freedom on what you do, where you go and want perks you want to master. Then sadly it slowly goes down hill; the first few missions are huge amounts of fun and it feels like you are making vast amounts of progress. Then it just starts to stumble, the missions start repeating themselves & the more hours you play the more the bugs & glitches you encounter. From simple things like it freezing when you enter a building or town which means you have to re-start the game and lose ALL unsaved progress to characters being unresponsive when your hammering on your controller. Now I know this game is a couple of years old now but still why are so many people banging on about how amazing it looks? I'll agree there are moments when your mouth will hit the floor & then there are other times where you feel like you've seen all this before in other games; games which are even older then this. Overall this game is fun to begin with and its great to design your character in your own style but it just grows stale and sluggish for me after a few hours and the glitches are a real pain in the behind. If your a die hard fantasy fan or a Elder Scrolls fan then I would say give this game a try but if not then buy it when its cheap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.