Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars murder in the snow
Anne Holt's latest novel is "1222". The numbers refer to the height above sea level of the town where this modern version of the classic crime story takes place. The story starts with a derailment just as the train leaves Finesnut on its journey from Olso to Bergen. Plenty of injuries, but the train driver is the lone casualty. Amongst the 269 passengers who are evacuated...
Published on 1 Feb. 2011 by Cloggie Downunder

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mildly entertaining but disappointing and improbable
Undemandingly enjoyable but rather disappointing in some ways. The central character's situation - being paraplegic - could have been very interesting but was done in a superficial, by-the-numbers sort of way. Indeed, all of the characters were superficial. The situation - 200 people holed up in an isolated hotel whose triple-glazed windows were straining to hold up...
Published on 15 Jan. 2011 by Rogue Eyebrow


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor and very bizarre, 30 Oct. 2011
This novel was derivative, poorly researched and chaotic. The characterisation of disabled people was particularly offensive. I have no idea what Holt was trying to achieve with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Most predictable crime novel ever written, 8 Jan. 2011
This review is from: 1222 (HANNE WILHELMSEN SERIES Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
I have high expectations of Scandinavian crime thrillers, being a big fan of Mankell and Nesbo. That's why I was quite surprised that the person I thought was the murderer after the firsr few chapters turned out to be the murderer. I don't think the style of writing is bad, but the plot is simply way too simplistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A readable but simple thriller, 28 Nov. 2010
By 
Sam Moore (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
1222 reads like a cross between Dan Brown and Steig Larsson. It has the readbility of a Bown book, with mystery conspiracies and convienient weather changes and the Scandinavian feel of a Larsson book.

It's not without its problems. Aside from the protagonist, the characters are rather underdeveloped. To her credit Holt makes an point of commenting how many interlinked 'strangers' just happen to be on the train together when it crashes, which threatens to render the book implausible. We are left with a coiple of mysteries at the end which will either frustrate or delight, depending on how you view such things.

However it is very readable, consistent and and enjoyable way of passing a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst book I have ever read, 8 Sept. 2012
By 
A. Frodsham "Annie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read a lot of books, and this has to be the worst I've ever read. There are no redeeming factors whatsoever. A nine year old could have come up with a better plot. It was almost laughable, but in fact it was simply cringeworthy. If I could have given zero stars, I would have done so. Don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of my time, 17 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1222 (HANNE WILHELMSEN SERIES Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
I was tempted Amazon's low price and the star rating but regret to have to say that had it been free it would not have been worth the price. I kept waitng for the story to go somewhere but it just meandered apparently aimlessly to a totally confusing and meaningless end.

In a word, abysmal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, 6 Dec. 2010
By 
V. Warrington "vinniegognitti" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If I could sum up this novel in one word, it would be 'Meh'. It was fairly standard crime fiction (but set in Scandinavia, as all crime novels must now be thanks to Stieg Larsson), and to be honest I found it difficult to have any connection with the central character, who is a disabled, lesbian ex-cop fighting against prejudice within the Police Department - how very original...not.

I may well have rated this book higher if I'd read the earlier novels in the series, but as a stand-alone book it didn't do anything that made me want to go and start from the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars why?, 7 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1222 (HANNE WILHELMSEN SERIES Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
why spoil a reasonable story line with swearing? yes we know it happens in the real world but it adds nothing to the story. when will kindle give books a rating so we don't have to spend money for bad language?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews