Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an epic
The Promise [DVD]The Promise is two stories in one. In 2005 an 18-year-old Londoner, Erin, agrees to accompany her best friend, Eliza, to Israel, where she has to do her National Service. Eliza's parents live there in some luxury, and so far as Erin's concerned, it's just a great holiday. For a couple of months, she'll give Eliza moral support while she completes her...
Published on 31 Oct 2012 by gilbert

versus
13 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Biased
While well done, this movie is very biased and uses partial facts to create the theme (i.e. questioning the right of a Jewish state). Surely, wars are horrible and do include atrocities, but to portray the Arabs as the saints in this conflict is a complete misrepresentation. The 1948 period is shown with Jewish atrocities only. However, most atrocities were committed by...
Published on 17 May 2012 by Jean Kaufman


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tragic tale beautifully filmed, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promise [DVD] (DVD)
A beautiful, tragic film that starts with an old soldier dying and his young grand-daughter finding his diary and a mysterious key - and alternates from the past to the present as the story is told. The film sets out well why there is a problem in the middle east, and what part we - the British - had to play in this whole sorry saga. The Israeli's do not come out well in this, and neither should they. And maybe if we could have done things even slightly differently, then the problems today may not have been so destructive to millions of Palestinians. But we had just come out of a long and protracted war, which for the first 2 years the British and their colonies were totally alone, in fighting the Nazi's. And our forefathers were tired of war, of lost and killed soldiers and were ultimately broke.
It is also tragic that a people who were so persecuted by the Nazi menace turned out to be so barbarous themselves and took part in thuggery, theft and ethnic cleansing. Both of my uncle's were posted to the Palestinian Territories in 1946 and witnessed first hand the chaos that these poor people suffered through no fault of their own apart from being born in land that the powerful Zionists claimed as their own .
There must be thousands of stories, similar to this, that have never been written about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must see history lesson, 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Promise [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best tv dramas ever seen on TV. I was glued from beginning to end and believe me, thats something special for me! I usually can't stand TV, especially since the arrival of putrid talent shows, endless quiz programmes and the one braincell reality puke! I think the last time I spent my days wishing a programme would hurry up and start was the Saturday morning B/W series of Robinson Crusoe! Anyway, back to the promise. Watch it and you will not be dissapointed. An amazing story, full of drama, heartbreak and passion. Superbly acted by all and something that literally stayed in my head for weeks afterwards. Can't recommend this drama enough; it is absolutely brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Promise, 18 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promise [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed the serialiason on the TV so bought this DVD as a present for someone else.
It does cover the original period when this conflict started and does give an understanding of the injustice done to the original Palestinian inhabitants at their land being taken over by people they initially welcomed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 11 April 2011
This review is from: The Promise [DVD] (DVD)
Hope he makes more- I bought it to lend to friends so we could discuss its finer points- hardly any one I know saw it! Many friends have given up TV but this was so good I had to share it- all the different angles- all the British involvement- the Irgun etc.. what a history lesson and thro the eyes of a dipassionate teenager, full of passion..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Promise, 19 April 2011
By 
David G (Aberdeenshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promise [DVD] (DVD)
A piece of excellent television which clearly sets out the case for each of the interest groups in the Israeli/Palestinian situation and the historical context of the conflict. This is achieved in a gripping drama presentation which holds the viewers interest for the the entire 8 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what happens when you read someone's diary!, 9 Mar 2011
By 
THEWHITLAM (leafy Clapham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promise [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered the dvd because I knew I couldn't watch all the Channel 4 slots. This is a brilliant story, extremely moving, fast paced and thought-provoking.
The only reason we get the story is because the young girl Erin reads her grandfather's diary which is about to be thrown out as she and her mum clear his house. She begins the story as a diffident teenager and ends the story as a woman with a life-changing experience.
The mystery in the story surrounds the reason why the grandfather was so miserable in later life; we get his story as Erin reads his diary. He is a sergeant in the British army which is mandated to keep peace in Palestine just before and just after the creation of Israel. He is basically a good guy but is faced with all kinds of pressures and prejudices as he goes about his business. He is a rounded character, blessed with a very good Leeds accent, and insists on helping Jew and Arab alike as he meets them.
Erin meanwhile, back in the future, is having her own adventure. She is trying to reconnect with the people her grandfather feels he betrayed and she also wants to know why he left the army in disgrace, after the diary finishes. Her best friend,Eliza, on military service in Israel,hosts her within her kind Israeli family, allowing Erin free rein to meet people. There are myriad parallels between her adventures and those of her grandfather, in particular her non-religious affinity for good and interesting people, whether Arab or Jew.
I'm not going to tell you any more because it might spoil the many twists and turns ine tale. I have travelled in Israel and was, therefore, a little 'primed' about the themes. I found this a clever and compelling human drama, coupled with a lot of interesting factual background about the troubled exit by the British of yet another piece of ex-empire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally compulsive viewing, 21 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Promise [DVD] (DVD)
This series is being shown on Channel 4 on Sunday nights and is nearing the final episode. I was totally hooked after the first installment. The two story lines take place over 60 years apart when a young woman starts to read the diary of her dying grandfather. She is visiting with a friends family in Israel. The story covers her grandfathers British army service in Palestine in 1948 and goes from modern day Israel and back to 1948. It is also a fascinating history lesson on the politics of that time in the middle east. The characters are engaging and their stories complex and emotional. Beautifully produced and outstanding acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This docu/drama lived up to its promise, 15 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promise [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone who has seen peter Kosminskie's previous TV dramas will admit this is one of his best. Make sure you have watched his previous TV productions "Warriers" and "Britz".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must watch, 26 April 2011
By 
Mr. PM GILBERT "Papa 'G'" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promise [DVD] (DVD)
This was shown on Ch4 well worth watching best TV I have seen for years. So good I had to buy the DVD and watch again.The Promise [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Promise, 31 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promise [DVD] (DVD)
The Promise lived up to its name having a double meaning the promise that God made to his people. It showed the sorrow that the Arabs went through being constantly displaced as their homes were being taken over by the jews. Overall because the way the story was written it did favour the Arabs. One couldn't help but be moved by both sides. The abominations the Jews endure during the second world war will never be forgotten. I think what was particularly well done with this story is that it showed what the Arabs went through also. It is a very poignant story and one that will have you thinking for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Promise [DVD]
The Promise [DVD] by Peter Kosminsky (DVD - 2011)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews