Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obsessive, or what! Dead addictive!
You have to understand, I'm nearly 65 and the state's shortly going to pay me for just being a nice, old chap! I was raised on the pub version of space invaders - ping! Ping! Ping! Zup, you're dead! I played Dead Space 1 at the easy level and was pretty taken with the graphics in that. I couldn't believe the number of senarios contained in the race to get the marker. The...
Published on 28 Feb. 2012 by Brian Lightowler

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dead Space 2
Dead Space 2 is more or less like the first game , it sees the return of our hero and all of his alien "foes" who try to stop him/her at every turn as he/she works their way through the many challenges the game presents - which in this case it all takes place on a massive space station on what is left of the moon Titan (I won't give any more away :P). Other than the...
Published on 15 Sept. 2012 by Chaines1991


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near the first game, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 2 - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I really enjoyed the first game. It got everything right. This one just does not work as well but I really cannot explain why. Perhaps it is because they have tried to make this more of a shooter than a survival horror, without making any other changes. The story does not add anything to the first either, which I really was looking forward to. Perhaps the only real issue is that the first game was so good (IMO!), this could never match it without recreating it, so in fairness I cannot blame the developers. Still, not a fan so I will not be playing 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 2 - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
very good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Check your heart condition before playing, 23 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space 2 - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I've been a big survival horror game fan since the original Resi Evil game .
Not played many games over the last few years but thought I would give this a try after reviewing the Dead Space and 2 reviews.
Would say this game as tension oozing in the bucket loads, brought about by excellant lighting and sound effects.
The game certainly keeps you on the edge of your seat . If I have small gripe then its the game appears very linear. If they could make Issac roam about more ( Ala BIOSHOCK) then I believe they would have the perfect survival game.

A must play thou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a game!, 11 Feb. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space 2 - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
this game is scary, violent, gory, unpredictable and just plain awesome! Even better than the first. This game has taken everything that was good about the first one and improved it dramatically (which is hard to do as the first dead space was incredible!). Dont hesitate to buy it because you wont be dissappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply, wait for it.......Remarkable, 1 Feb. 2011
By 
Osama Wahab - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space 2 - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
It is a superb game, a strong contender for game of the year 2011, a delightful horror frenzy. Lets see what gears 3 and arkham city will bring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A huge disappointment, 15 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Dead Space 2 - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I was looking forward to playing this game but I was bitterly disappointed. Dead Space 2 has changed into an action game. The developers made the same mistake like Capcom with RE4 and 5. Tension only exists in the first chapters. Then the game started to become an action game. To extend the gaming time the developers integrated frustrating situations where you die a dozen of times. One crowd of necromorphs after another gets in your way and almost all the time the necromorphs spawn behind your back. This is the point where the game starts to become boring and annoying.Final bosses are rare and the motivation to play it through is low. I wanted to deinstall the game after chapter 10. The story is very lame and the Sprawl is only in the beginning of the game a place to be scared. Graphics are good. The lighteffects are nice. But I don't understand why the game was so hyped. The designers made fatal mistakes. Respawning enemies are a capital sin in gaming industry. Maladjustment of the difficulty setting is another unforgivable mistake. Certainly the game has some good moments but these shortcomings are too severe to say it's a good game.In recent years I have noticed that a gaming generation has arised which prefers action titles with a dumb story. Maybe this generation isn't able to follow a complex story. The same is for the action part. A generation has emerged which can only be stimulated by pure action. They don't know what to do with a slow unfolding story and tension. It's a sad indication of our time. The first game was the much much better game because the pacing, the unfolding tension and the story were superb. The sound in Dead Space 2 is even better than in the first game. All in all the game gets two stars because it nearly fails in all aspects towards its brilliant predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good sequel, 2 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Dead Space 2 - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Dead space 2 is a great sequel to an outstanding first game, is this better than DS 1 well yes and no, whilst it's as atmospheric as ever it's a little too easy ( on Normal setting) and i've whipped through this in no time where as in the original it took me longer to get through with more complicated puzzle solving and trickier environments.

First the good stuff, they've addressed some of the bug bears of the original, one of the things i hated about the original was the tricky zero gravity levels, sometime manoeuvring was tricky along with disorientation of surroundings. DS2 has addressed these issues with easier to control zero gravity environments and less disorientation of surroundings whilst keeping all the hallmarks of the original.

The new weapons are a great addition and very cool too!

One of the things i didn't like was the levels kinda blended into one another without much separation? In the original isaac would head to the tram at the end of each level and the end of levels had some logical conclusion and finality. Here they don't and you'll suddenly find your on a new level without realising it half the time.

I havent played the multiplayer yet so can't comment on that but i'd definately recommend DS2 to anyone who enjoyed the original, whilst not quite as enjoyable and scary as the first one it's a worth follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warning! People squeamish about eyes beware, 7 Feb. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space 2 - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Really amazing game only keeps getting better. The part at the end however with the "needle in the eye" is really quite twisted. Apart from that its not that scary, just a good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This game isn't HORROR! Since when did "boo" become horrifying?, 17 Feb. 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space 2 - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This game ISN'T scary in the slightest. It appears that there are people out there that claim that monsters CONSTANTLY jumping out at you every bloody second is horror. Sorry, having something jump out at you isn't scary in the slightest, it's just a knee-jerk reaction.

There is no emotion in this game, and it's something that is certainly missing from this story. I won't say much more due to spoilers.

The gameplay gets rather annoying after a while. Why? Well, it's because Necromorphs jump out at you every 5 steps you take, and you're forced to kill them. Then again. And once again. Oh, some more. ... Again.. seriously? Ugh.

Monsters jumping out at you is all this so called horror game is, and it gets so boring. Very boring. I actually turned the game off once because I got sick of fighting this damned monsters. I fought a massive wave, was low on ammo, but survived and continued on - crap. I had to fight more. I couldn't be bothered anymore. That isn't a good sign for the game.

If this is horror, I'd love to know what these people think of Project Zero (aka Fatal Frame) and Silent Hill 1,2,3.

The game is decent, I mean I beat it after all. That's saying something, right? RIGHT?!
If you desire to play something that's in a dark setting with a ton of action, then pick this game up.

If you want a horror, then, um.. there are some on the PS2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No viene en español, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 2 - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Pense que si , pero no viene en español . Es una pena , por que el juego tiene una pinta estupenda
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Space 2 - Limited Edition (PS3)
Dead Space 2 - Limited Edition (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
£14.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews