Customer Reviews


390 Reviews
5 star:
 (294)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


166 of 170 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the right album to bring home!
Beautifully sung collection of tracks which show the sweetness and gentleness of a voice which at times demonstrates a quite remarkable power. Highlights are definitely Bring Him Home for which he received a standing ovation during the Les Miserables O2 concert that stopped the show mid point and the duet with Kerry Ellis which trips your heart. It's stunning!! This man...
Published on 1 Jan. 2011 by LadyBird

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's alright
Wish I'd taken a little bit of time in looking at the selection of songs before buying this c.d.

I really love the sound of Alfie Boe but was a little disappointed in the choice of music. Why on earth is there a duet with Matt Lucas.....truly awful and sounds like a pub karaoke player singing with the wonderful Alfie. It is unbelievably awful and I really...
Published on 27 May 2012 by A. Jolie


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

166 of 170 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the right album to bring home!, 1 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
Beautifully sung collection of tracks which show the sweetness and gentleness of a voice which at times demonstrates a quite remarkable power. Highlights are definitely Bring Him Home for which he received a standing ovation during the Les Miserables O2 concert that stopped the show mid point and the duet with Kerry Ellis which trips your heart. It's stunning!! This man sure knows how to sing a love song.
Alfie Boe is new to the world of Musical Theatre but so very quickly has established a place of prominence and this album gives but a taste of his talent but enough of one for this fan of MT voices to put this album on repeat.
This album showcases Alfie's voice, neither of his duet partners, the choir or the music itself is any more than an accompaniment to his vocals I felt. The same cannot be said of many albums, a great job done by the production team too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A joy to listen to, 17 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
I had seen Alfie Boe perform on TV in the Les Miserables celebration at the O2 and decided to get his CD. What a wonderful voice this man has. Great songs from everyone's favaourite musicals. Alfie Boe is truely gifted with a wonderful voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's alright, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
Wish I'd taken a little bit of time in looking at the selection of songs before buying this c.d.

I really love the sound of Alfie Boe but was a little disappointed in the choice of music. Why on earth is there a duet with Matt Lucas.....truly awful and sounds like a pub karaoke player singing with the wonderful Alfie. It is unbelievably awful and I really have to push the skip button each time it comes on.

Apart from that I would say it is OK but certainly not his finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Music, 22 April 2011
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
Alfie Boe has all the colour, fullness and richness of a tenor 10 years his senior. Lucky for us, he's only in his late 30s so there'll be lots of music to come.
I enjoy almost every tune on this CD - 10/12. Two of the pieces I had never heard before and they have become favourites. Of course, "Bring Him Home" from Les Mis" can't be beat for its power and beauty and Alfie Boe gives us such a sweet, ringing note at its end. This song alone is reason enough to buy the CD. Then when you have it, you can discover your favourite songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning album, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
Diva (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
I've only just recently discovered the awesome Alfie Boe after seeing him on the 25th Anniversary DVD of Les Miserables, which I received as a Christmas gift. I was so completely blown away with his amazing voice that when I noticed he'd just released this album, I just had to buy a copy and I am SO not disappointed. This is a wonderful collection of well known show tunes and a couple of duets too. Loved the duet with Matt Lucas singing 'The Impossible Dream'. I can't recommend this album highly enough, something I shall play again and again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring it Home !!, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
Stunning album from a proper singer. Love the record. Glad that people are finally getting to know Alfie Boe, possibly after his 5 minute standing ovation at The 02. Choice of songs is fabulous. I love the title track, "Bring Him Home" of course, but the two duets are amazing too. Its an album that just gets better and better the more you listen. "Hushabye Mountain", "Some Enchanted Evening" "On The Street where you Live" "Come What May"................Alfie has possibly the best voice around and this collection of songs really shows his wonderful talent. This is an album I won't stop playing. Just fabulous !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good listening, 5 Aug. 2011
By 
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
This CD does not disappoint. It is everything it promises to be.
Music can make you smile, think and even cry with emotion.
Would thoroughly recommend this CD, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great singer and album, 27 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
Purchased this album after hearing him on the 25th Anniversary Les Miserables DVD. Great to hear Bring Him Home and some other classic songs. I particularly like the duet with Matt Lucas :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars listener, 16 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
Rather disappointed the selection of songs a better selection of songs would have made a more successful CD with easier listening. Many of these songs have been recorded better by other artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring Him Home, 12 Jan. 2011
By 
Mrs. M. Down "Marian Down" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
Any music recorded by Alfie Boe is well worth purchasing be it CD or DVD, and his latest CD is no exception. A fine selection of memorable show songs are included on this album and as always, are sung beautifully by Britain's favourite tenor.
Difficult to choose favourites as each song is a gem in its own right, but personal favourites are title track 'Bring Him Home' from Les Miserables, 'Tell Me It's Not True' from Blood Brothers, and 'Hushabye Mountain'from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang.
I definitely recommend this album to anyone who enjoys musicals and impeccable singing, in fact everyone should 'take him home'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bring Him Home
Bring Him Home by Alfie Boe
Buy MP3 Album£7.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews