Customer Reviews


324 Reviews
5 star:
 (201)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oven Gloves
The gloves arrived promptly and as promised there were two of them. I can thoroughly recommend them. I have not had one burnt hand as they really are heat proof and safe to use to pick up stuff as they are non slip. They do everything it says on the packet.
Published on 3 April 2011 by Faith Tyler

versus
49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good product, but not as described.
I bought these oven gloves for 2 reasons:

1- they have fingers.
2- they are advertised as containing Kevlar and Nomex.

Firstly, the gloves fit my (large and long-fingered) hands perfectly. They are not too thick, allowing your individual fingers free movement. Because of this, you can actually "feel" and have better control over what you are...
Published 18 months ago by Scilly-Matt


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oven Gloves, 3 April 2011
By 
Faith Tyler (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Legendary Magic Oven Glove Hot Surface Handler (PAIR) - Cook, Adjust, Repair & Work Safely with the glove that can withstand temperatures of up to 540F
The gloves arrived promptly and as promised there were two of them. I can thoroughly recommend them. I have not had one burnt hand as they really are heat proof and safe to use to pick up stuff as they are non slip. They do everything it says on the packet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heat proof hands!, 7 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legendary Magic Oven Glove Hot Surface Handler (PAIR) - Cook, Adjust, Repair & Work Safely with the glove that can withstand temperatures of up to 540F
I've been looking for a product like this for a long time. I don't like oven mitts especially the ones that are, in essence, a long piece of cloth folded over at both ends as they seem to be made specifically for me to catch on something hot - an accident in the making!

Each glove can be used left or right-handed in that the heat resistance and non-slip blue strips are on both sides - great for us as we have a lefty who does a lot of cooking. It also means that backs of hands don't get sizzled on the sides of the oven when removing large dishes.

The non-slip strips are an extra bonus that have proven to be useful already when handling the heavier meat tins.

There are a couple of cons:

as I have small hands, there is a lot of glove left after my fingers end, this does occasionally cause me to dip the tip of the glove finger/thumb into hot liquid - just something to be aware of and watch out for

the gloves are bulky - as you would expect given the amount of heat they protect against - but this can make handling utensils a bit tricky (while basting for example)

However, the benefits of the gloves far outweigh either of those little issues so I would definitely recommend them and I give them 5 stars for doing exactly what they say they do.

I would certainly buy them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST!!!!, 31 May 2011
By 
Mr. C. J. Welsted (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Legendary Magic Oven Glove Hot Surface Handler (PAIR) - Cook, Adjust, Repair & Work Safely with the glove that can withstand temperatures of up to 540F
I have been using these oven golves for about 3 weeks now and they are great. Bit strange at first as it is lke putting on work gloves but they are just great and easy to use and keep heat away from your hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good product, but not as described., 18 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legendary Magic Oven Glove Hot Surface Handler (PAIR) - Cook, Adjust, Repair & Work Safely with the glove that can withstand temperatures of up to 540F
I bought these oven gloves for 2 reasons:

1- they have fingers.
2- they are advertised as containing Kevlar and Nomex.

Firstly, the gloves fit my (large and long-fingered) hands perfectly. They are not too thick, allowing your individual fingers free movement. Because of this, you can actually "feel" and have better control over what you are doing. The silicone non-slip strips also do their job. You can take things in and out of the oven with the confidence that your tray is not going to slip out of your grip. The heat protection is also very good for a lengthy period of time; plenty of time to relocate trays and plate ect safely.

However, based on my second reason for purchase, I've been very disappointed. The packaging and the glove itself do not mention Kevlar or Nomex. The gloves also rather suspiciously say "100% cotton" on the washing label. Therefore, if you are purchasing the glove on the basis that they contain Kevlar and Nomex, you may wish to think again.

In summary, I feel very mislead that the product and packaging do not even mention Kevlar and Nomex. However, I feel that for almost 10, they are still good value plus an extremely useful and functional tool for everyday cooking. It's just a shame that the product description was misleading. Let's hope someone corrects it before others fall into the same trap that I did.

UPDATE 19/9/13
Seller (Grendle Enterprises) responded to my negative feedback: "Maybe you are a chemist and can test for product contents, but that is what is says on the box. I am sorry testing is out of our ability". I find this comment unjustified and highly rude. The boxes I received do not mention Kevlar/Nomex and just to prove my point, I plan to upload photographs of the packaging very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot stuff, 13 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legendary Magic Oven Glove Hot Surface Handler (PAIR) - Cook, Adjust, Repair & Work Safely with the glove that can withstand temperatures of up to 540F
Very pleased - as it says on the tin. Believed to be Kevlar/Nomex but it doesn't actually say so. Anyway it performs just the same as those materials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great gloves but beware, 5 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legendary Magic Oven Glove Hot Surface Handler (PAIR) - Cook, Adjust, Repair & Work Safely with the glove that can withstand temperatures of up to 540F
These really are useful gloves, much easier to use than fingerless ones. Worth the money but do beware of getting them wet or escaping steam from cooking. Steam from a microwave veg bag has taught me a valuable but blistered lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVERYBODY NEEDS THESE., 17 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. F. Adams "ROCKET" (SUSSEX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Legendary Magic Oven Glove Hot Surface Handler (PAIR) - Cook, Adjust, Repair & Work Safely with the glove that can withstand temperatures of up to 540F
BOUGHT THESE FOR `ER INDOORS WHO HAS SMALL HANDS.SHE IS HAPPY WITH THEM AND SAYS THEY WORK VERY WELL.EARLY DAYS YET BUT A GOOD BUY SO FAR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars These Gloves are actually labeled as 100% cotton (inside and outside); They don't contain flame retardant kevlar / nomex., 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legendary Magic Oven Glove Hot Surface Handler (PAIR) - Cook, Adjust, Repair & Work Safely with the glove that can withstand temperatures of up to 540F
I already own an 'Ove Glove' which I got in the US. The washing label inside the Ove Glove says the inside is made of cotton and the outside is Nomex/Kevlar...

This product's description says
'Made of KevlarTM & NomexTM it can withstand temperatures up to 540F and is Flame Retardant!'

But when it arrived, I looked at the washing label inside and it clearly says both the inside and outside are made of Cotton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No better or worse than the rest, 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legendary Magic Oven Glove Hot Surface Handler (PAIR) - Cook, Adjust, Repair & Work Safely with the glove that can withstand temperatures of up to 540F
"Legendary Magic", "Made of KevlarTM & NomexTM it can withstand temperatures up to 540F and is Flame Retardant", "Dramatically extend the time you can handle hot objects without the risks of burning yourself or dropping them". That all sounded very good, but, after a couple of months' use and a couple of burned fingers, these turn out to be no better or worse than any other oven gloves we've had. Once the grease, sauce, fat whatever has penetrated the fabric, the heat gets through quickly. The lining tends to come out of the main glove too easily and turns itself inside out. What I don't like is that this product seemed to be promising to be better than the rest and it isn't. But it's no worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading. Disappointing., 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legendary Magic Oven Glove Hot Surface Handler (PAIR) - Cook, Adjust, Repair & Work Safely with the glove that can withstand temperatures of up to 540F
The advert says double pack. I received only one glove.
I think this was a bit of a con.
NOT recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews