Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love - the Greatest Thing of All, 14 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This delightful fifty-five page book, first published in 1874, is based on 1 Corinthians 13.

Love is described as 'Christ's one secret of the Christian life.' It is, says Drummond, "...the rule for fulfilling all rules, the new commandment for keeping all the old commandments..." p16.

Drummond unfolds each section of Paul's writing in chapter 13, supporting his exposition with a range of verses from Scripture. Examining how Paul first contrasts love with many things which are highly esteemed, he then provides practical applications to the nine components of love identified by Paul in verses 4 - 7.

In his final chapter, Drummond explains why Paul described love as the supreme possession. "In a single word, it is this, it lasts. 'Love,' urges Paul,'never faileth.'". p43

A life that is fulfilled, joyful and purposeful, argues the author, is a life that is centred on and becomes the love of God to others. "For the withholding of love is the negation of the Spirit of Christ, the proof that we never knew Him..." p53.

Uplifting and challenging, this book provides a deeper understanding of 1 Corinthians 13 and the foundational truth embedded in Scripture, that love is the fulfilling of the law, (Matthew 22:40, Romans 13:10). Love, when rooted in Christ, is the measure by which finally we will be judged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uplifting and wonderful, 15 May 2009
By 
Ms. L. Pasternack (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When you are having one of those days when you really think you might as well get off the hamster wheel, read this and experience your spirits being uplifted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but read with discernment, 24 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've just finished reading this and found some great truths - especially in the other addresses included in the book on God's will and holiness.
The addresses included as well as the famous "The Greatest Thing In The World" are:
"The Programme Of Christianity"
"The Man After God's Own Heart"
"God's Will - The Christian's Aim"
"The Relation Of The Will Of God To Sanctification"
"How To Know The Will Of God"
"An Address To The Man Who Is Down"
"The Kingdom Of God And Your Part In It"
However, be warned that Mr. Drummond appears to have been duped by the theory of evolution as many men of God were in the late 19th Century. For this reason you should read with discernment, especially the chapter entitled "An Address To The Man Who Is Down". Don't let this stop you buying the book though - I especially enjoyed his approach to holiness - not "How can I be holy?", but "Why do I want to be holy?".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All I can say is this is the second copy of this book I have bought since borrowing a copy from my Mum to read. It is truly inspirational & a book I truly recommend to others to read again & again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can you live without it?, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This little book is a real gem, it is easy to see why over 12 million copies have been sold. Its nice to find something that talks about what love really is rather than the many distorted views in society today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest thing in the world' Experiencing the enduring power of love by Henry Drummond., 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'The greatest thing in the world' Experiencing the enduring power of love by Henry Drummond.
it was so true - the greatest thing in the world is the love of Jesus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 10 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Because it was everything the seller said it would be. i liked the book because I had read it several years ago and it was a big help to me. I recommend to my friends this old book as it is becoming a rarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational & uplifting, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Thing in the World, Experience the Enduring Power of Love (Kindle Edition)
This book has helped me begin to understand personal difficulties & how to overcome them by God's grace. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews