Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A guilty pleasure - but not a realistic picture!
How much did I want not to enjoy this, since I am in the business? A huge amount. And how much did I actually enjoy it? About as much. What you mustn't do is take it as gospel or anything like it. Yes, there are quite a lot of little bits of reality (falling asleep over files was one that got me, and the clerks' mantra about never turning down work) but certainly...
Published on 10 April 2011 by bookelephant

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good
An interesting barrister/courtroom drama - the interaction and back stabbing from the lawyers was believable and the cases that came to court were dramatic and intriguing. However, it only gets three stars from me because it was predictable. It doesn't take more than one guess to come up with who was going to make silk at the end of the series.
Published on 18 Jun 2011 by susie


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A guilty pleasure - but not a realistic picture!, 10 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silk - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
How much did I want not to enjoy this, since I am in the business? A huge amount. And how much did I actually enjoy it? About as much. What you mustn't do is take it as gospel or anything like it. Yes, there are quite a lot of little bits of reality (falling asleep over files was one that got me, and the clerks' mantra about never turning down work) but certainly even allowing for the practitioners being in a different area of law a lot of it seems to me to be WAY off beam. In terms of sexism, level playing field for those who do not have family members in the job and equal opportunities generally the programme suggests to me that the writer may have been out of touch for 20 years or so. But of course it makes for much better drama. So too does the fairly terrible cross-examination - have the writers never heard of the basic principle: "dont ask a question to which you don't know the answer"? But again - it is more fun the way they do it - and it provides great illuatrations of the hideous things which can happen if you don't prepare properly. They have also caught the tacit competition between different barristers nicely - but seem to have completely missed the friendship element - no-one seems to have any close friends in chambers - which is not real at all! And I think (I really believe) that the ethical side of it is way, way from the truth. Generally well acted - and I thought Maxine Peake conveyed the stress and exhaustion pretty well. She could have done with bigger bags under her eyes though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YEAH M'LUD, 28 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silk - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a nicely nuanced show, extremely well acted, and convincing overall. Rupert Penry-Jones is just perfect as the supercilious, somewhat patronizing "blue blood" barrister who nevertheless admires his plucky "red brick" rival, equally well played by Maxine Peake. I'm not quite sure if any one of the excellent cast steals the show, but Neil Stuke as the clerk of chambers is certainly well in the running.
It's very much of an ensemble production, where the characters are every bit as important as the cases, if not more so. In fact, the cases themselves are not that remarkable, so that it's the personal character traits that drive the series forward. I could have done without the rather ridiculous housebreaker intruding into the proceedings with his absurdly exaggerated fixed grimace, but then that's a minor quibble.
Overall, the setup feels very convincing, and the now clichéd portrayal of the gentlemanly world of barristers has been well toned down to reflect the modern world. Not a masterpiece, but a very refreshing and enjoyable offering. Hopefully there will be more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bomtastic, 23 July 2012
This review is from: Silk - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Silk - Series 1 [DVD] Real to the core. I used to work in Chambers for a few years and I can't think of one character that isn't depicted in such a vibrant and altogether exciting pot of plots and very few if any calumny of facts and experiences. A well written and acutely directed and photographed show.
Series two is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 18 Jun 2011
By 
susie (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Silk - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting barrister/courtroom drama - the interaction and back stabbing from the lawyers was believable and the cases that came to court were dramatic and intriguing. However, it only gets three stars from me because it was predictable. It doesn't take more than one guess to come up with who was going to make silk at the end of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SILK SERIES, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silk - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I brought this without having seen it first on television as I knew with the actors involved it would be good and I was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silk - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
exelllent. was brought because we never saw the 1st series but watched the 2nd so was a catch up thing to understand what was going on very pleased with the whole series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blame OR Intent, 1 Mar 2014
In any organisations there is an ethos,a loyalty, a bind...... to that extent ,as an individual, I feel that the word "Blame" should be outlawed, the word "Intention" be put in it's place. The series is wonderful I thoroughly enjoyed it and we need more :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Law Series, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silk - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This gives us a look at how Solicitor and Barrister offices work.. what a revelation! Interesting storyline too... most enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silk - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
If you like law series, you'll love Silk. I've learnt a lot about the English law system and was totally hooked not only by the cases but by the personal lives of the characters. Great show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great courtroom drama, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silk - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Decided to get box set for SILK BBC series 1 after enjoying series 2, managed to plug a few gaps of knowledge , wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silk - Series 1 [DVD]
Silk - Series 1 [DVD] by Maxine Peake (DVD - 2011)
£9.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews