Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Snakes on an Astral Plane"
Sorry about the title, but I couldn't resist. 2 unusual stories from innovative writer Christopher Bailey. For me Kinda has the edge.
The Tardis crew land on paradise planet Deva Loka where an Earth survey team study childlike inhabitants the Kinda. Tegan is attacked in her dreams by malign intelligence the Mara, seeking to cross over into the real world...
Published on 28 April 2011 by Bob Marlowe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Value
Kinda is one of the most 'adult' and 'interesting' Doctor Who stories of the 1980s. Snakedance, meanwhile, isn't as good -- even though it involves the same enemy. Still, both are well worth watching together like this.
Published on 25 April 2013 by R. C. Irwin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gems, but minor ones..., 1 April 2011
By 
John (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Mara Tales (Kinda/Snakedance) [DVD] (DVD)
These are two interesting stories. I actually prefer Snakedance to Kinda, because the story seems better organised. Christopher Bailey, who wrote both stories, believed that the `action hero' was the lowest sort of hero, and the greatest hero was the `wise old man', who was mostly a contemplative observer. This resulted in Kinda, which was originally written for Tom Baker, an actor who could more convincingly fill the role of possessor of wise omniscience than Peter Davison, who ended up playing the Doctor in it. Producer John Nathan-Turner disliked the tendency in Tom Baker's later stories for the Doctor to be the cause of things happening. This was the premise of Kinda, where the companion the Doctor brings, Tegan, revives the destructive energies of the Mara, but the production attempted to play that aspect of the story down, I think to the detriment of the story, as it meant the Doctor became even more marginal to the narrative. JNT's rule that Doctor and companions must bicker was always perverse and in both stories is pointless and mildly irritating.
I don't think the design helps the script, and Bailey in an interview on the disk says he was disappointed by the B&Q garden-centre look of the forest, and with the clichéd South Sea Island look of the Kinda natives. The forest is so unthreatening (compare it with the legendarily well-designed alien jungle of Planet of Evil) that it undercuts and renders confusing the fears of the colonists to leave the survival dome unless they're inside the total protection suit thing (another unsuccessful effect, tho they tried their best): it simply isn't alien enough. Nor are the Kinda.
It does have atmosphere, nonetheless, and some good performances, and some intriguing ideas. The original giant snake was lame. The new cgi one is, while being done in a similar style, very effective - tho I had the same problem with the roaming signal appearing on-screen throughout the sequence.
Snakedance seems to me a better story. I'm afraid I have to agree with Janet Fielding's critique of her own performance: `I can see myself acting too much, instead of just being the thing.' But she is gutsy, and it's nice seeing her having more to do. Not having Adric in the story is also an improvement. Some odd editorial choices were made in the last episode - a concluding sequence (included as an extra on the dvd) being chopped for length, while long boring sequences featuring a Punch & Judy show and a panto snake (I mean, intentionally panto) play out at considerable length. The story is made by a louche performance by Martin Clunes, and again has atmosphere and interesting ideas in the script.
Seeing these stories again I was struck by how small-scale they are; almost plays for television using modest painted backdrops (the trees cast shadows on the sky in Kinda) and panto costume props. In the end I think they're very much minor stories. Yet they have a certain charm & magic & I enjoyed watching them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stories, 1 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Mara Tales (Kinda/Snakedance) [DVD] (DVD)
Kinda:
Fantastic story, brilliantly original
the story itself is good and it's also good that you don't have to hear Tegan moaning constantly throughout.
But, the story itself has a good supporting cast and the brilliantly portrayed Fifth Doctor by Peter Davison is on top form

Snakedance:
A good sequel,especially since it's another moan-less story on tegans part!
The Fifth Doctor and Nyssa, Perfect Doctor/Companion pairing, Sarah Sutton portrays Nyssa fantasically and the banter between Nyssa and the Doctor is fab in this story.
We get a odd looking Martin Clunes possession but apart from the odd snake at the end of both stories its fine!

Two of the best fifth doctor stories by far, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dvd, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Mara Tales (Kinda/Snakedance) [DVD] (DVD)
Good price packaged well.thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great Peter Davison, 29 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - Mara Tales (Kinda/Snakedance) [DVD] (DVD)
a good Peter Davison box set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tail of Two Serpents, 28 Jan. 2011
By 
Brutus Wolf (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Mara Tales (Kinda/Snakedance) [DVD] (DVD)
Sensibly boxed together, two of the best respected serials from the 5th Doctor's era. Eery ideas and layers of psychological intrigue lifted these low-budget video teleplays into the arena of serious science-fiction television.

Firstly there is the Season 19 serial "KINDA", from 1982. The story concerns a planet where the natives live in Eden-like tranquility, yet share their world with an incorrigibly nightmarish serpent, the Mara.

A year later the Mara returned for a sequel, entitled "SNAKE-DANCE". This time the serpent manages to corrupt, bully and bewilder the entire population of an indolent, bourgeois society into bringing about their own apocalypse.

Both stories also made the most of Australian character Tegan Jovanka, the Doctor's emotionally turbulent travelling companion, most vulnerable to the Mara's assault on her confidence and dreams. Actress Janet Fielding at her best, really sinking her teeth into the part, releasing Tegan's most mischievous inner child and her adult furies, even taking on the role of (a surprisingly formidable) vilain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Mara Tales (Kinda/Snakedance) [DVD] (DVD)
I love Dr Who
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hisssterical., 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Mara Tales (Kinda/Snakedance) [DVD] (DVD)
Had to get these to replace video copies, but ohhh that bloomin snake. As with oh so many Who stories, they are let down by pantomime monsters with so little realism. I know that computer graphics make today's sci-fi so much more realistic, but why did the beeb have to go so down market (budget I guess) with their monster adversaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Release, 16 Jun. 2012
By 
James Bland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Mara Tales (Kinda/Snakedance) [DVD] (DVD)
Hunt down the Easter egg on "Snakedance", it's well worth the effort! It runs to around 14 minutes, but it is a little tricky to find. If in doubt, google is your friend (other web searches are available)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who, 5 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Mara Tales (Kinda/Snakedance) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought the Mara Tales box set as i did the Re-visitation one,there are excellent value for money and would recommend anybody buying them from Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Mara Tales (Kinda/Snakedance) [DVD] (DVD)
A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Mara Tales (Kinda/Snakedance) [DVD]
£12.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews