Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, as games compendiums go.
This was bought to consolidate the ever-expanding toy collections of our children. Replace a load of boxes with pieces missing, with one single box kept under parental control.

The result is family happiness. As with every compendium going, the claim of 100+ games is a bit of a fib. Ok, there is a pack of cards, so you can pretty much have an unlimited variety,...
Published on 26 April 2011 by Macintyre's Speculum

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Games compendium
I feel I was taken in by the term "classic". I think it led me to think of "normal" or traditional. I was disappointed with the size of game pieces. I expected chess pieces to be usual size. They were on the small side. Quality not as good as I had hoped. But I can live with it. Wouldn't recommend it to a friend.
Ed
Published 10 months ago by Mr E Lyon


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, as games compendiums go., 26 April 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Classic Games Compendium (Toy)
This was bought to consolidate the ever-expanding toy collections of our children. Replace a load of boxes with pieces missing, with one single box kept under parental control.

The result is family happiness. As with every compendium going, the claim of 100+ games is a bit of a fib. Ok, there is a pack of cards, so you can pretty much have an unlimited variety, but if you were being one hundred per cent honest you would only count, for instance, chess once. This compendium includes a fair few varients, which, useful to know about, shouldn't really add to the game count.

That being said, you do get a large selection of games, and they are not too flimsy. We have played ludo pretty much to death (its surprisingly good fun if you actually bother to read all the rules!) and the snakes and ladders board is also popular. Chess looms on the horizon, and I am not looking forward to teaching that to our six year old.

In short, as compendiums go, this is of sufficient quality to warrant a purchase without feeling like you have bought a turkey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compendium of games, 18 Oct. 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Classic Games Compendium (Toy)
Bought to play with our Grandchildren. Great fun and such a great choice of games. Our grandchildren are 4 and 7 and are able to play some of these games now. Such a pleasure to sit round a table and play games, rather than watch T.V. and not talk. Great for family get-to-gethers too. Great for a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected..., 20 July 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Games Compendium (Toy)
I am VERY impressed at the quality of the contents of this item. Even these days, I was not expecting much for my 20 sovs, but each and every item is well made and should last for ages. Even the games boards are well made and have a nice weight to them. The games instructions are also very clear.

Nice one Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educational, quality games compendium, 9 Jan. 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Classic Games Compendium (Toy)
Excellent value for money with very good quality pieces. Each of the boards are also of good, solid workmanship.

Purchased for my nephew (who is nearly 5 and into computer games on a big scale) and he loves this old fashioned games compendium!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Games for everyone, 19 Feb. 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Classic Games Compendium (Toy)
Looked everywhere for a compendium of games that included Snakes and Ladders and Ludo as well as others. This set has it all including Nine Mens Morris(!), chess, backgammon, draughts, dominoes as well as card games, dice and many others. All the boards are clearly labelled and the instruction booklet is well printed in good english with loads of variations for many of the games. Many sets costing over twice as much do not come close to this one. A real bargain at the price and delivered safely and quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 3 Dec. 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Classic Games Compendium (Toy)
Got it as a gift for my brother, as well as the family. Really good all rounder. Its a bit flimsy, but it wont be used that much. Its well organised and fun :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fun, 16 May 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Games Compendium (Toy)
I purchased this compendium of games as my grandchildren, 1 of 8 years,the other 12 years old were going to be visiting for the weekend. I knew it was going to be one of those wet weekends. We spent hours playing the games. We had lots of fun, and lots of laughs. Not once did i hear 'I am bored' they just wanted to play. Great quality, great enjoyment value, great price. Would thoroughly recommend if you want to keep those kids amused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great box of games, 14 July 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Classic Games Compendium (Toy)
We still haven't got through any where near all the games but the ones we have played have proved very entertaining. Definitely well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Games, 27 Jan. 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Games Compendium (Toy)
Kid's are over the moon a great relief to the family that they have put their computers down, don't get me wrong it is not the be end of the computer, but it is a blessing in disguise, they all have a favourite game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal Classic Games Compendium, 10 Sept. 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Games Compendium (Toy)
I was most impressed with the quality of this product considering the price, my 5 year old Granddaughter who it has been bought for loves it, and I am enjoying teaching her the board games I loved as a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Games Compendium
£7.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews