Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes it smells of rubber!
This is just what it says - a hot water bottle. Reviewers on similar products have complained about the rubbery smell, but duh it is made of rubber! The smell gradually wears off! This is a nice size and the ridges on one side make one side less hot so great against your body while the non ridged hotter side warms the bed. A life saver for students in cold flats or others...
Published on 25 Nov. 2012 by P. A. Fleck

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hole on bottom within a couple of weeks
Poor design, unreliable, had a hole out of nowhere within a few weeks which is dangerous and unacceptable. Very Disappointing
Published 14 months ago by Spyros Couppis


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes it smells of rubber!, 25 Nov. 2012
By 
P. A. Fleck "flying girl" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Housewares 2L Hot Water Bottle (Personal Care)
This is just what it says - a hot water bottle. Reviewers on similar products have complained about the rubbery smell, but duh it is made of rubber! The smell gradually wears off! This is a nice size and the ridges on one side make one side less hot so great against your body while the non ridged hotter side warms the bed. A life saver for students in cold flats or others needing to economise on heating bills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Housewares 2L Hot Water Bottle (Personal Care)
Sturdy hot water bottle with ridges (making it easier to hold, reducing risk of burning and making it stronger). Conforms to British Standard. Plug tightens firmly and has been in constant use over the winter with no sign of the rubber deteriorating. Just ordered another as a spare!

NB: Hot water not included. May induce drowsiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good hot water bottle, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Housewares 2L Hot Water Bottle (Personal Care)
I never thought I would ever write a review about a hot water bottle but as I always read reviews I thought I would. Anyway, this is a bottle you should have no concerns about. No problems with it and happy with the quality and the delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hole on bottom within a couple of weeks, 2 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Housewares 2L Hot Water Bottle (Personal Care)
Poor design, unreliable, had a hole out of nowhere within a few weeks which is dangerous and unacceptable. Very Disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent buy to keep you worm this winter!, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Housewares 2L Hot Water Bottle (Personal Care)
My two bottles arrived on time and we love them. My family has never had a winter without Hotwater Bottles. Knit, crochet or sew a cover - it protects the bottle as much as it helps to prevent burns etc. I love one to keep my feet warm, my daughters enjoy cuddling them at night and while watching TV. Once the slight rubberry smell is over (2-3 uses max ) they are fantastic and can be used to lower your heating costs. We only use hotwater bottles and two small fan heaters, never have I ever needed more even at -4 to 6 deg. Be wise and when winter comes please dress as if it is winter. I even know a certain gentleman, my husband, leaving for work one morning with hid hotwater bottle tucked into his jacket. These are a great buy but DO NOT put bubbly boiling water into it. Wait for the boiling to subside before filling. With water that is too hot the bottle will smeel like burning tyres! Not a good thing to do. Have a great winter and festive season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Potential for scalding, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Housewares 2L Hot Water Bottle (Personal Care)
These bottles seem to be reasonably constructed but with the following important exception:
The filling hole is dangerously small, so that when filling from a modern, wide-spouted kettle, there is a severe risk of 'blow back' due to air being trapped in the bottle by the width of the water flow coming from the kettle. An older-style kettle as suited to AGAs and the like, with a narrow,longer spout would probably be OK . Even if the water is below boiling point, the hand holding the bottle is at risk from being scalded by the 'blow back'.
It is worthwhile putting on a waterproof oven glove on the hand that is holding the neck of the bottle in order to avoid a nasty scald of the hand. Despite the attractive price of this item, I wold not recommend it to a potential purchaser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too small stopper, 19 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Housewares 2L Hot Water Bottle (Personal Care)
I am disappointed with this Hot Water bottle, it is much smaller than the ones I am using. The stopper is too small for my fingers to grip and turn, wish I hadn't bothered but then I should have expected it as the price is too cheap to be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashley Housewares 2L Hot Water Bottle, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Housewares 2L Hot Water Bottle (Personal Care)
Would recommend to anyone. I bought two of them. They appear good quality and are easy to fill. Colour is the normal reddy-pinky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless -DO NOT BUY!, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Housewares 2L Hot Water Bottle (Personal Care)
Split on 3rd use, my daughter's legs and bed were covered in hot water as the seal along the bottom edge failed. Luckily the water wasn't too hot when I filled the bottle otherwise my child's legs could have been badly scalded. It doesn't bear thinking about. Totally useless is an understatement - this bottle is downright dangerous and I am not at all convinced that it meets British Safety Standards as claimed. Avoid at all costs and buy from a trusted retailer instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Housewares 2L Hot Water Bottle (Personal Care)
Very disappointed with this item, urge you not to buy this, after only 4 uses the neck came completely away leaving me with rather hot water over my hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ashley Housewares 2L Hot Water Bottle
£2.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews