Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars19
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 February 2011
Much has been made about the Muscle Shoals feel to this new offering from the Truckers, and it does indeed have a pleasant loping country soul shuffle at its heart. Recorded at the same time as last year's 'Big To-Do', this is a companion piece that is markedly different in tone, although with a coherence to its sound that `Big To-Do' arguably lacked, and all the better for it. Undoubtedly a grower that repays repeated listening, it doesn't really get going until 4 or 5 tracks in, and the best songs (Used To Be A Cop, Pulaski, Mercy Buckets and The Thanksgiving Filter) are all at the end. It's an enjoyable enough listen, undemanding and only lightly flirting with new ground, but it lacks some of the solid songwriting that has distinguished earlier efforts, in particular the trilogy of albums culminating in `The Dirty South'. Jason Isbell's departure may be old news, but its impact on the punch and reach of this band is still sorely felt, and Isbell himself has yet to produce anything of the calibre he attained in the DBTs.

The Truckers remain one of the last few decent rock 'n' roll bands left, but have a frustrating tendency to leave an aftertaste of under-achievement. 'Go-Go Boots' is another sterling effort that doesn't quite live up to its full potential, leaving the sense that this band has much more to say, with a further masterpiece of `Dirty South' stature still to come. Let's hope so; they are indeed a rare and precious artefact.
1515 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 February 2011
As other reviewers have said this was recorded alongside last year's "The Big To Do" and as they have also said this is the better of the two. I have read it described as the DBT's "Exile on Main Street" and there is a country soul feel about the album. Go-Go Boots is less raucous and has more of a groove than most other DBT records and there are far more acoustic instruments here than is normal for a Truckers album. As always the songs, at least the originals, are stories from small town America about the post traumatic stress and nightmares of a Vietnam veteran (Ray's Automatic Weapon), a hypocritical, adulterous, murdering preacher (Fireplace Poker and Go-go Boots), a burnt out police officer (I Used To Be A Cop) or a country girl moving to sunny California (Pulaski). There are two covers of Eddie Hinton songs in Everybody Needs Love and Where's Eddie, the latter sung by bassist Shonna Tucker is a highlight.

This is their best album since the great trilogy of Southern Rock Opera, Decoration Day and The Dirty South. It doesn't quite reach the stellar standards of those albums and is a lot less varied in feel. I would certainly have no hesitation in recommending people to purchase this and also to go and see the Drive-By Truckers live, they are a superb live band and they are playing in the UK this Spring. Go Truckers!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
This really is a strange album you have the sublime tracks "Go Go boots" and "Used to be a cop" and the rest in my opinion just doesn't work its like two different bands fighting for an identity, either the band is split or in denial as to where the real talent lies in the band.
After the aforementioned tracks its like they allowed their uncle to sing at the wedding reception its awful like Tom Waits meets Daniel oDonnell
I will admit i am no Drive By Truckers expert and maybe all of their albums have this type of confusion but for me it was not a pleasant listen and i love a good mix but not with good and really bad.
if you want a good listen then just get the two tracks and don't waste your cash.
55 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 February 2011
Patterson Hood advertised DBT's previous release, The Big To-Do, as their hardest rocking. In contrast, Go-Go Boots heads in the opposite direction, being much quieter and combining a return to the more country-flavoured tunes of Brighter Than Creation's Dark with a taste of the soul music they were making with Bettye LaVette.

As ever it's Cooley who has the best lines, as in Cartoon Gold: "I'm not good with numbers/ I just count on knowing when I'm high enough." Cooley's tunes overall give the impression he's tugging in the country direction, and the themes also tend that way: Pulaski, about a Tennessee country girl drawn to the bright lights of California and finding reality doesn't measure up to what she's seen on TV, and The Weakest Man, about not wanting to be victim to a femme fatale.

But if Cooley gets the songs, Hood gets the best tunes, especially Used To Be A Cop, with its amazing musical links between verses and its vague echo of Neil Young's Crime In The City, and the highly affective The Thanksgiving Filter, where the music perfectly complements the account of a dysfunctional family, and is the only place where Brad Morgan gets to release those stinging cymbals of his. In the title track and The Fireplace Poker Patterson returns to the Dirty Vicars theme of The Wig He Made Her Wear, except this time the holy men get their retaliation in first, hiring thugs to do their wives in and, in one case, brutally finishing the job the hired help couldn't complete themselves. On that occasion the comeuppance is swift, with the cops accepting natural justice. And the song which the car's music player at one point demurely called "Track 7" seems to be Hood venting about record company execs, band managers or similar. He could sell it to The Clash.

Not to be completely outdone lyrically, Shonna Tucker manages the only rock'n'roll reference I know of to diabetes on Dancin' Ricky, and also makes a good job of one of the two Eddie Hinton covers on the record, Where's Eddie?, re-establishing her soul credentials first applied for on The Big To-Do. Fortunately, on the record she's properly mic'd up so you can hear what she's singing, unlike when she sang this at the Shepherd's Bush Empire last October!

Hood too covers a Hinton song, Everybody Needs Love, with feeling, but probably the most soulful song, Mercy Buckets, is reserved for the end. If they'd asked me, this would have been the Valentine's Day download, not the Hinton song.

The overwhelming feeling from the album is of a band going from strength to strength, broadening and deepening its repertoire and capabilities with class and panache. As ever, the atmosphere is enhanced by the country-infused slide and dobro of John Neff, and Jay Gonzalez really has tapped the Muscle Shoals spirit. And whilst missing his stinging cymbals, Morgan lays down a solid beat, giving the vital finishing touches to some songs, not least Pulaski.

Finally, the sleeve. Wes Freed. Priceless.
66 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 February 2011
Once again the Drive by Truckers deliver an excellent album. This is a lot closer to the Muscle Shoals roots of Patterson Hood than some of the previous albums. Hood's father David played bass on many sessions, as did Eddie Hinton, who is surely one of the great hidden gems of American white country soul-check out the Testifying/country soul compilations of a few years back to get more of this kind of music. One of the two Hinton tracks, Where's Eddie? covered here (sung by Shonna Tucker)is present in a great version on Vol 1 by Bonnie Bramlet. If you are taken with the fantastic "Everybody needs love" then you have to check out the original in Eddie's magic: "Letters from Mississippi" album-see separate review.
Back to DBT-I have nearly all the albums now and continue to be stunned by their songwriting skills. The standout originals here have to be "Used to be a cop"-a brooding moody guitar track over yet another engaging narrative- Ray's automatic weapon-more PTSD fall out-with Vietnam vets instead of cops.I think Cooley's numbers are a little behind Patterson's on this one, but its all relative and there isn't a bad track in sight-better still I know from experience it will continue to grow on me as all the other have.
Incidentally if you were lucky enough to catch the free gig in London last week and get the extra disc you'll know they are equally adept at playing acoustic guitars to a tiny audience as they are at lifting the roof off to a large one. Thanks lads.
Revisiting this in anticipation of Tuesday's gig-I'd give it more stars if I could. Up there with the best of DBT. I was also struck by the lyrics of one of the tracks with a title that will be sure to activate's Amazon's censor-rhymes with pass-wholes-
"You buy me dinner when I'm in town,talk about the records you know, lay the friendship card upon me,and out the door......
But when you say that you're the reason for the things we've achieved I want to kick down your door."
Is Patterson having a go at recently departed band member? Just a thought.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
This band keep on going from strength to strength,This cd was recorded at the same time as the last offering "The Big To Do" But that is where the similarities end.Whereas "The Big To Do" is a real storming rock cd,This offering is a total different sound.Go Go Boots is more influenced by the muscle shoals sound,To the point where this cd is almost country in sound,But don't let that put you off,this is another release from The Truckers without a weak track on it.Go Go Boots also includes 2 cover versions of Eddie Hinton songs,A singer this band have long praised.My own favourite tracks are the singles "Used To Be A Cop,The Thanksgiving Filter and I Do Believe" Whatever you do buy this cd a give it a listen,You could also try the truckers cd-"The Dirty South", One of the best cds of the last few years(Released in 2004)
44 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
Having discovered the DBT with their 'Blessing and a curse' record, the band keeps surprising me with the high level of their records. Praised for "Brighter then creation's dark" the band got a lot of compliment for the rocking "The Big to-do". Words got around that Go-go-boots would be the more back to the roots record.

And it is. Storytelling songs, Rootsrock mixed with some shuffledrums, touch of soul and countryroots, with a laid-back touch. The DBT have delivered another high quality record. To me, the best part of Go-GO Boots is rather in the beginning: the combination of the beautiful slow-country-shuffle-beat "Cartoon Gold", the laid-back-groove-with-storytelling "Ray's Automatic Weapon" and the it-makes-you-wander-and-starts-you-thinking "Everybody needs love" is perfect. Maybe I could describe it as their most laid-back record. Go-Go Boots doesn't have the powerful or furious rocking songs. But it definitely has some stories to tell. When listening to the song, it's like the story is there in front of your eyes.

More then enough bands have their own style, but all to often make the mistake to make records that sounds the same. It's a quality of DBT that they are most capable of making records in their own musicstyle, without copying themself each time. Go-Go Boots is another example.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
Drive by Truckers have extended the fantastic music reputation from Mussel Shoals with their brilliant new Album Go Go Boots and the sublime track written by Eddie Hinton called Everybody Needs Love. Its gonna be great to see Drive By Truckers on Tour in the UK next week
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2011
I have so much love for this band,they keep it so very real,each album has a slight
change in direction!Its hard to think of another band "working" today who has released so many CLASSIC! albums,especially in todays market when most band are shot!! after album 2 and 3.DBT albums are not just of 10 tracks but 15,19,20,14,Also the time in which there thrown out at,its frighting speed.
Hats off to DBT and long they may run!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
I love this band and so I may be a bit biased but this is a cracker. Plenty of new sounds and variety. A treat.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.89
£11.65

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)