Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job!
I bought this whole unit rather than the version 'without the mounting block' and I am glad that I did because the screw threads on the NEW 'switching' part were not compatible with the screw hole threads on the OLD 'mounting block'. Neither would the two screw heads from the OLD unit fit into the two screw holes of the new 'switching unit' (the two OLD screw heads were...
Published 23 months ago by nogginnurture

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good value for money
This was cheap and does the job. I had to drill a hole in the base for the wires, but didn't need to drill any new fixing holes in the ceiling. The existing ones aligned perfectly with the new switch. The only reason for 3 stars rather than 5 was that after a few days it stopped switching on. I had to take it apart and reassemble it. It has since been fine.
Published 13 months ago by dave bee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job!, 30 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MK Ceiling Accessories 3191 WHI 6 amp 1-Way Ceiling Switch (DIY & Tools)
I bought this whole unit rather than the version 'without the mounting block' and I am glad that I did because the screw threads on the NEW 'switching' part were not compatible with the screw hole threads on the OLD 'mounting block'. Neither would the two screw heads from the OLD unit fit into the two screw holes of the new 'switching unit' (the two OLD screw heads were far too big to fit into the two countersunk receiving cups on the NEW switching unit). Both old and new were MK (though I hasten to add that the old MK unit was very old and had seen lots of service).

The following measurements are the best I could record but might help in deciding whether this product will fit neatly where your old product currently fits (if you have an old one to replace). The diameter of the mounting block where it fits to the ceiling is approx 76mm. The diameter of the mounting block then slims a little to approx 71mm where it meets the 'switching unit'. The diameter of the switching unit where it meets the mounting block is approx 68mm. The screw centres in the switching unit are approx 51mm apart.

It was simplicity itself to fit; but don't forget to turn the power off first. There were the usual two connectors in the switching unit for the wires (plus an earth in the mounting block unit). The connectors in the switching unit were mounted to receive the wires vertically and the screws to secure the wires were robust and easily accessible. It took just a few minutes to decommission the old unit and install the new one.

I don't think there is anything else I can help with except to say that it works well of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality product that does the job, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MK Ceiling Accessories 3191 WHI 6 amp 1-Way Ceiling Switch (DIY & Tools)
Good quality case where plastic is not too flimsy that means a good secure fix, nice positive switching mechanism, a good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Ceiling switch, apart from one slight thing, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MK Ceiling Accessories 3191 WHI 6 amp 1-Way Ceiling Switch (DIY & Tools)
Does the job as you would expect. Hasn't broken/jammed like a cheap homebase one would.
Only one slight problem, it doesn't have a hole at the bottom to put the cables through, however that could be easily resolved just by some simple DIY with a drill. Otherwise, great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good light switch., 14 April 2014
By 
J. Dew (Bucks UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MK Ceiling Accessories 3191 WHI 6 amp 1-Way Ceiling Switch (DIY & Tools)
This switch seems to be well made and was easy to fit. It is fairly quiet and operates smoothly. Its too early to tell whether it has durability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ceiling Switch, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. D. J. Newman (UK Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MK Ceiling Accessories 3191 WHI 6 amp 1-Way Ceiling Switch (DIY & Tools)
Very good product easy to fit, good quality and well made, would recommend this to anyone, it came well packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money., 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MK Ceiling Accessories 3191 WHI 6 amp 1-Way Ceiling Switch (DIY & Tools)
This item is just as described. Definitely worth checking internet for prices. This was the cheapest and no difference in the quality from my previous one which cost double the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As always with MK…..works as you expect, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MK Ceiling Accessories 3191 WHI 6 amp 1-Way Ceiling Switch (DIY & Tools)
I never choose any other brand for electrical components, and this is no different. Visually will be identical to any other ceiling pull switch, but what you get is knowledge that it is going to work safely for years and years. Can't say more than that really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quality switch, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Peter Moran (Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MK Ceiling Accessories 3191 WHI 6 amp 1-Way Ceiling Switch (DIY & Tools)
Good quality switch with transparent cover over internals. Cord looks very thin and not too strong but only time will tell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good product, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MK Ceiling Accessories 3191 WHI 6 amp 1-Way Ceiling Switch (DIY & Tools)
A good product, it has been used to replace a worn out switch and it does the job. what else is there to say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very good value for money, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MK Ceiling Accessories 3191 WHI 6 amp 1-Way Ceiling Switch (DIY & Tools)
This was cheap and does the job. I had to drill a hole in the base for the wires, but didn't need to drill any new fixing holes in the ceiling. The existing ones aligned perfectly with the new switch. The only reason for 3 stars rather than 5 was that after a few days it stopped switching on. I had to take it apart and reassemble it. It has since been fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews