Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still can't believe how good it is for the price, excellent
Choosing a new motherboard, processor and ram was one thing, but getting a new case wasn't part of the deal. However, we all look don't we, so I did, and liked what I saw on this case. Couldn't believe the price so searched various reviews out, all of which couldn't beleive the low price either. But no one had anything bad to say about it, everyone felt it was worth more...
Published on 26 Mar 2012 by M. Fairman

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'It's okay' - Your components will get covered in dust
The case, for the price, is amazing. Everything fits in there nicely and the hard drive mounting system is 'tool-less' once you have the screws in place.

The case looks good however there are some... mighty flaws.

The fans in this case are pretty loud and the designers of this case haven't taken great consideration into the way the airflow of the...
Published 5 months ago by Jack Miller


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still can't believe how good it is for the price, excellent, 26 Mar 2012
By 
M. Fairman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zalman Z9 Plus Midi Tower Case - Black (ATX, M-ATX, 7 Expansion Slots, Supports Bottom PSU Installation, Upto 7 System Fans, Tool Free HDD Installation) (Accessory)
Choosing a new motherboard, processor and ram was one thing, but getting a new case wasn't part of the deal. However, we all look don't we, so I did, and liked what I saw on this case. Couldn't believe the price so searched various reviews out, all of which couldn't beleive the low price either. But no one had anything bad to say about it, everyone felt it was worth more and was the bargain on computer cases.

Well sold the idea to the wife on the grounds that it would look cool, plus keep things running better because of the four fans. Yeah she believed me!

It arrived and yes, amazed at the quality of the produce. I mean it's not just good, it's very good. Now while I always thought the window on the side and lights inside was for people plainly in need of lives or a wife, or both, I have to say it really does look good. It sits on the floor under the table and there's this nice little blue glow....we even turned the lights off to look at it....did I say that out loud?????

My ten year old sometimes sits there watching it....well he's moved on from watching the washing machine, so there is some hope for him. If he is doing it at twentry I will ask someone.

Excellent computer case, very easy to use, very easy to install things into, and very easy to maintain. The fans are very quite. Above all it looks nice and is streets ahead of many others costing a lot more. Treat yourself, you won't be disappointed. Plus if it keeps the little ones amused, then what more can you ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Case, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zalman Z9 Plus Midi Tower Case - Black (ATX, M-ATX, 7 Expansion Slots, Supports Bottom PSU Installation, Upto 7 System Fans, Tool Free HDD Installation) (Accessory)
I bought this case for my first ever computer build. I am building a powerful gaming PC, most parts bought at amazon :)

This is a fantastic case with plenty of room in side and considering how much it cost it is great value for money. The case comes with a useful temperature panel on the front which allows you to position a small thermometer practically anywhere you like. Some people have suggested that the thermometer is hard to place however I have seen no issue at all. If you're building a high performance machine, having this panel on the front is a great way of regularly monitoring the air temperature inside your case. Of course you also want to pay close attention to the vital temps such as the CPU, GPU and Motherboard etc.

As well as the temperature panel on the front you get a scroll wheel dimmer to change the fan speeds of two case fans (these fans connect directly to your power supply meaning they are not at all controlled by your computer). Having this control (combined with the temperature panel) means you can very easily create a balance between temperature in the case and the noise created by the fans. It also means you can potentially vary between positive air pressure and negative air pressure (something worth considering) in the case; although since one side of the case has a mesh screen con trolling the air pressure in the case wont be easy unless you have very powerful fans.

This leads me on to my only criticism of this case so far. The mesh on the side of the case can accommodate two 120mm fans. This is really good to help air flow because side fans blow or draw air directly on to/ off of the motherboard and graphics card. However if you have these fans blowing in to the case (and you put them on the inside) they can be very noisy. This is because air is rushing past the mesh creating turbulent air. To combat this I had to take some wire cutters to the case and cut out two holes where the fans go. In my opinion this doesn't ruin the looks of the case, I actually got two new wire fan guards which I think look great (but that's just me). If you have these fans blowing out or blowing in but attached to to the outside then this is irrelevant to you.

The case comes with four fans as standard, three blue LED's and one direct PSU fan (all 120mm). These blue fans are fairly quiet and nicely illuminate the case to give it a glow of life. I personally couldn't find much use for the direct PSU fan since I am aiming for maximum air flow for the lowest possible noise/ power. I still have it as a backup though.

The exterior of the case in my opinion is very well designed. It looks stylish and mean at the same time. Some people don't like to over-complicate their build with a fancy looking case but since this case looks awesome as well as being the same price as a standard practical case I went for it.

OK so inside the case...
Inside you will find plenty of room for your average build. if you plan on buying some obscene graphics cards and ridiculously big heat-sinks then you will want a bigger case. For me I found there is just enough room inside for everything and to still provide a tidy interior with good air flow. There are plenty of cable-tying places and lots of room to hide cables behind your motherboard.

There are lots of bays for optical drives etc as well as enough bays to accommodate most hard drive set-ups you want. If you fancy Modding this case slightly you can always take out the hard drive bays and put your hard drives up in the optical bays (you will need brackets for this to fit the hard drives in to the optical bays). Doing this will free up space for wires and improve air flow. Also, there is a bracket already in the optical bays that will hold and SSD.

The only tricky part regarding the interior of this case is if you have a fan positioned on the bottom of the case, as most people will do. The problem is that the vast number of wires from your PSU will kind of smother the fan. It is possible to curve the wires around the fan as I have done but it takes time and effort.

Some other bits:
- front and bottom fan places have dust covers (so do the top but most people have the top as air outlets not in.
- case comes with a helpful booklet and plenty of screws
- you might want to buy some extra mini cable ties to keep it tidy in your case (I found some on amazon very cheap)
- Make sure you connect the power button to the power button wires at the front of the case. I didn't and spent about 10 minutes trying to find out why my PC wouldn't turn on.
- the screws that come with the case are delicate. Be careful and avoid unscrewing things a million times because they round off very easily. This is the same with a lot of PC parts to be fair.
- dust shows up very clearly on this case.
- The box is big, fairly obviously, so when you have it delivered keep this in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely case, practical, good looking and functional., 11 Mar 2012
By 
Thomas Coote (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zalman Z9 Plus Midi Tower Case - Black (ATX, M-ATX, 7 Expansion Slots, Supports Bottom PSU Installation, Upto 7 System Fans, Tool Free HDD Installation) (Accessory)
This case was the first one I had ever brought for a computer build, and I have brought it again in the meantime when I was doing another build as my friend and I liked it so much. I really like the blue on black theme to it, i think blue LED's can really finish a case well. This fits ATX sized motherboards as I can't find that stated anywhere on the page.

The build quality of this case is reasonably good, the metal feels a good thickness as that it isn't flimsy and also isn't too heavy. It does have a slightly weak feeling to the plastic outer but I haven't witnessed any pactualy problems. The is one gripe that when you want to remove a 5.25 inch or PCI slot cover you have to bend and break off a metal cover which cannot be replaced. That means if you were to remove your PCI device you'd have a gap in the back of your machine. The front mesh's to cover up the drive slots have been improved the second time I purchased this case - Then now clip in and out opposed to bending metal clips open to release it.

There are a lot of fan mounting spaces in the computer, seven in total including what appears to be a area where a 240mm radiator can be placed at the top. Two of these fan's can be mounted in the side panel of the case where the windows are, but you'll have to be careful removing the side panel again as wires for these will need to be disconnected.

On the front of the case these is: Four USB ports, mic and headphone 3.5mm jacks, power button, reset button, fan speed controller and the thing I think I like most, a temperature sensor. There is space for three 5.25' devices and one card reader. The temperature sensor is like a probe which you can place inside your case to show the temperature. Unfortunately it cannot show things like CPU temperature as that would probably boost the price significantly but it's still a good thing to show off to your friends.

This, I think, is a very good case to buy for this price range. Compared to others I would say this id good value for what your getting and you wont regret buying it at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value & quality, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zalman Z9 Plus Midi Tower Case - Black (ATX, M-ATX, 7 Expansion Slots, Supports Bottom PSU Installation, Upto 7 System Fans, Tool Free HDD Installation) (Accessory)
I bought this case about 5 months ago for a totally new build, but waited until now to review it to allow myself time to "use" it. I have been delighted with it in every way.

The packaging was excellent - the case was well protected & secured within its box.
The layout & space within the case made installation/assembly of all my components simple - the whole build took less than an hour.
Cable management was easy &, although the cable space behind the motherboard mount was fairly tight (not too tight to remove a star from the rating), you have plenty of routing options. The included cable ties are a nice touch, too.
The inclusion of 4 fans (with fan controller & 2 dust filters) gives excellent airflow/low temps for an average system (Phenom II X4 965 based) & the blue LEDs look great,
Build quality seems excellent, too. It feels solid &, after 5 months of use & opening/closing to tinker, everything still looks & feels new.

Definitely recommended for anyone looking for a case of this size!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Case, 31 Dec 2011
This review is from: Zalman Z9 Plus Midi Tower Case - Black (ATX, M-ATX, 7 Expansion Slots, Supports Bottom PSU Installation, Upto 7 System Fans, Tool Free HDD Installation) (Accessory)
I bought this case about 6 months ago and so far it has been Great!! Really good airflow has kept my case temps low and the blue led fans looks cool. You have a fan controller but it doesnt allow alot of control. Must work as the LED light slightly dim when turned down. Their was just about enough room to squeese my cables behind in the cable tidy section so all in all its neat inside. Build quality feels good, iv been in and out of my case non stop since i got it and everything still seems like new. Only some of the fans have dust filters so set them up right to avoid dust. Another neat feature is the Temp reading from an internal reader. You can position this anywhere in the case personally i have mine poking out to see my room temp : ) So yeah a good high quality case at a medium price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sleek, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zalman Z9 Plus Midi Tower Case - Black (ATX, M-ATX, 7 Expansion Slots, Supports Bottom PSU Installation, Upto 7 System Fans, Tool Free HDD Installation) (Accessory)
No doubt it looks incredible: the transparent panel and LED fans are a nice touch with the sleek black frame, and with 4 fans in total it seems well-ventilated. Assembly is straightforward and easy. It takes a fair bit of force to push USB plugs into the sockets at the front, which is a good thing because the connection won't fall out if yanked by accident. The temperature control is pretty much for show because good luck getting the temperature sensor in the right place, although if you want it to record the air temperature inside it's fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roomy and cool, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Nancy Kane (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zalman Z9 Plus Midi Tower Case - Black (ATX, M-ATX, 7 Expansion Slots, Supports Bottom PSU Installation, Upto 7 System Fans, Tool Free HDD Installation) (Accessory)
Case came with 4 fans pre-installed, and a temperature probe. We have the probe placed near the CPU, and it consistently reads 1 degree C lower than room temperature. Worth bearing in mind that we've no GPU installed yet, but we've run Batman Arkham City (using integrated graphics) and haven't seen the CPU itself (Intel I5 3570k) get above 30 degrees. Lights are pretty bright, but not outrageously so, and can be turned off. Roomy case made building the machine nice and easy. Very quiet case so far, with just the supplied fans fitted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ok case, but has a few problems., 14 Nov 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zalman Z9 Plus Midi Tower Case - Black (ATX, M-ATX, 7 Expansion Slots, Supports Bottom PSU Installation, Upto 7 System Fans, Tool Free HDD Installation) (Accessory)
case is good the only thing i was surprised about is it's size, it's quite big compared to my old pc tower case and now sticks out a bit on the table.
for a first time building my own pc it was a ok experience, i think this pc case helped made it a bit easier as everything was explained well in the manual included.

you get plenty of fans but the only downer is that you don't get enough connectors to connect them all, you only get two connectors for the 3 fans in total (top and front, not including the side panel fan), i had to use fans and connectors from my old case so that i could connect them to my psu so they would work, it's maybe a good idea to not throw your old pc parts away just yet, the only fan in the case that connects directly to the psu is the one at the back of the case where the usb and connectors go.

plenty of usb ports are at the front but none of them are usb 3 though, you can get additional parts to expand the slots so it's not all that bad, my motherboard didn't support front usb 3 ports thats why i chose to get this case instead.

side panel where the fan is located is open mesh so if you have any pets or have a dust problem this case might not be for you or you can put additional fans there to keep the dust out which is what i did.

hard drive bays are a bit fidgety, i pushed the hard drive bays into the designated slots but they keep on moving forward and the rubber covers that you have to put on the side screws kept on coming off, one of them got lost somewhere too, i prefer the old way of screwing the hard drives to the case instead it's much more firmer, i think you can still do that in this case i never tried it myself.

plenty of room for a big graphics card if you need to upgrade or install it, max size is 290mm, 330mm without the hard drive bays but you have to take them off and you have to compromise the hard drive bays doing that, the choice is up to you if you want to do that.

blue lights and temperature stats look cool, not sure how easy to clean this case will be in the long term.

overall i'm happy with the case but i'm bit disappointed i paid a bit too much @ £45, it could have been a bit cheaper especially as it doesn't have usb3 front ports, i've seen pc cases with usb3 for much cheaper, just saying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zalman Z9 Plus Midi Tower Case - Black (ATX, M-ATX, 7 Expansion Slots, Supports Bottom PSU Installation, Upto 7 System Fans, Tool Free HDD Installation) (Accessory)
Just finished building my pc and this case is a absolute beast!!! It has great cooling and is perfect for a mid range gaming/video editing/surfing, hell this case fits any purpose. It comes with four fans, which aren't the quietest but is rarely noticeable. I recommend this case to anyone trust me it is a must have, i'm not exaggerating. Only fault is the hdd drive they were a bit tricky to get in but other than that great case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice and cool dust collector., 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zalman Z9 Plus Midi Tower Case - Black (ATX, M-ATX, 7 Expansion Slots, Supports Bottom PSU Installation, Upto 7 System Fans, Tool Free HDD Installation) (Accessory)
So this is a case that quite frankly - is epic. I gave it 4 stars because it is a harbinger or dust. This thing just sucks in dust like nothing I have ever seen. If you want to build a great gaming rig with it you should be as well with Zero Pressure or using the dual fans on top to blow air out and all else to take air in (since heat rises). A slot of an SSD is placed "Conveniently" on the other side of the case (Good luck closing that side of the case).
THIS COMES IN A VERY BIG BOX!

You got a HDD fan on the front (intake)
Side panel fan (intake)
Back fan (Output)
Top fan (Intake)

The front of the tower has a dust collector near the fan and the bottom of the case (were another fan can be placed). A small thermometer is also included (I have it in the middle of my case to monitor the heat of the air being circulated). The cable for this is very long so keep 2 of the cable ties (twisted not zippy) so clip it to something.

It is a bottom PSU so this may make it hard for xFire or SLI. If hooked up correctly you can control all fan speed (and thus LEDs) at once.

Once the side panel is off the top and front comes off easily. All mesh grates easily come off for cleaning and case can be maintained well. Room for 2 DvD/BD drives, Card Reader or extincted 3.5 floppy drive and 5 HDDs.

4/5 would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews