Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a way to end a legacy of an amazing band (Chuck R.I.P), 15 May 2002
This review is from: Sound of Perseverance (Audio CD)
This album is simply amazing - buy it without a second thought. It is death metal at its most technical and melodic. Chucks voice sounds less gutteral, that the lyrics are much easier understood - not to say that hes actually singing on this album, god forbid!! :-) His vocals are still raw and spat forth with venom as always. The first track 'Scavenger of human sorrow' starts of the album with a nice powerful drum pattern, followed by a piece of guitar mastery by the late Schuldiner to make even the most hardened guitar gurus hang up there axes and give up, followed by a crushing riff which makes u remember why you got into metal in the first place - yes, its that good. There are no weak tracks on this album at all, and a nice variation in sounds - the track 'voice of the soul' is purely acoustic/electric guitar only, overdubbed several times to give a lushious wall of harmonised sound. BUY BUY BUY BUY BUY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal at its very best!, 12 Feb 2005
This review is from: Sound of Perseverance (Audio CD)
With the "Sound of Perseverance" Death have penned the ultimate metal album, and when i say metal i mean it...i do not mean the best death metal or black metal or...I mean quite simply the ultimate METAL album. From the crushing heaviness and density of opener "Scavenger of Human Sorrow" it only gets better. The best tracks being the monumentally vicious The Flesh And The Power It Holds, the instrumental number Voice of the Soul (which proves once and for all that all the idiots who say metal bands can't play their instruments, are in fact, well, idiots) and the Judas Priest cover Painkiller. Death are as tight as any band and play with a precision and aggression that quite simply no other band can match. Everything from Chuck Schuldiner's visceral vocals to the perfectly crafted riffs to the drumming...oh the drumming: just listen to the drum solo which opens Painkiller and there can be no doubt you are in the presence of a master! Every metal fan should, neh MUST have this album. This is a heavy album through and through even the instrumental number is intense and requires your full attention and with most of the songs clocking in around the 7 min mark, there is plenty to get your teeth into here. Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the sound of pure, classic metal, thanks Chuck R.I.P, 9 Jan 2002
This review is from: Sound of Perseverance (Audio CD)
If you are not a great lover of ' death metal ' but like your metal heavy, buy this or at least listen to it. The guitar work is amazing, the instrumental ' voice of the soul ' is superb and the second track ' bite the pain ' has a touch of EVH about it. The final track pleased me no end as I have been a Priest fan for over 20 years.
Chuck's voice on this album has a greater sense of clarity about it and what I think is a good piece of production is the fact that all the instruments are given equal status. All of the DEATH albums have their own character, this one is no different and I was happy to pay the extra for an import. Still aggressive with fantastic harmonies. Chuck may have passed on but the music that he passed on to people like me will be his epitaph, hopefully there will be some sort of tribute album. the track 'to forgive is to suffer ' is a metal masterpeice. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death - Educate yourself, 5 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. A. P. T. Day "apday101" (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sound of Perseverance (Audio CD)
Chuck maybe gone but his legacy lives on. Death has always been at the more epic end of the death metal scale but what an EPIC! You cannot call yourselves a metaller without finding some brilliance from Chucks guitar work and traditional double bass & crushing riffs. This album is no exception. It has acoustic guitar which fits perfectly with the electric and shows the sheer inventivness of the album to broaden the scope of Death metal to more than just singing about horrors. Truly worth every penny..as with all Deaths albums..Educate youself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Listening to it again while I write!, 1 Jun 2014
By 
Ed (Cirencester (near), UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Of Perseverance (Audio CD)
Amazing album, top notch music. The guitar and drum work is amazing and has great chemistry with the vocals. The vocals themselves, higher pitched than on many albums, even more so than on Symbolic, work very well with the progressive-style guitar riffs. The drumming style allows experimental use of the guitar, while it keeps the beat of the song, this is seen in songs such as: Scavenger of Human Sorrow, in the second part of the faster section. I won't go into anymore detail, other than recommending this album one hundred percent! Also, Amazon and the seller did a brilliant job with packaging an delivery, so no worries there. This album is a monumental must-have for the big Death fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning album!, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Of Perseverance (Audio CD)
This is the last album that Death recorded and it is also one of the best. From the amazing riffs of Scavenger of Human Sorrow to the truly stunning Judas Priest cover, this is an album that doesn't disappoint. Every song, though quite long, will keep you headbanging until the last second.
The second disc includes the old demos of the songs that make the album seem warm and almost friendly. The cover art has also been updated and adds to the savage sound of the wonderful songs on it. I would definitely recommend buying this album if you are a fan of Death or if you have just got into them and it is, in my opinion, one of the best death metal albums ever released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A technical marvel, 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Sound Of Perseverance (Audio CD)
Words alone don't do this album justice. It really is one of those you have to hear to truly get a sense of how good it is.

This really is death metal at its finest: completely encapsulating everything the band had worked towards throughout the 1990s; starting with the ground-breaking Human in 1991, the band gradually grew more and more technical and more progressive with each release.

The sheer level of technical precision amongst the musicians here is unlike few things heard in music. The guitar duo of Chuck Schuldiner and Shannon Hamm shine through each song, churning out an endless parade of riffs and ear-splitting solos - notably on tracks such as 'Spirit Crusher', 'Story to Tell' and the epic 'The Flesh and the Power it Holds'. The latter of which features one of Schuldiner's finest solos, whilst the rhythm section of Richard Christy and Scott Clendenin are also worthy of equal praise. Christy's drumming thunders through each track with a level of precision and skill that only the most veteran drummers could hope to reach, whilst Clendenin's bass provides a vital backbone to the overpowering guitars with the occasional stand out moments.

If there could be any criticism of this album, it would be that it is possibly the most difficult of Death's discography to digest due to the progressive nature of it and the fact that it is considerably longer than previous releases. However, this is extremely minor criticism. If you're a Death fan, you'll love it. If you're a death metal fan, you'll love it. If you're a fan of metal in general, you'll probably love it too.

I would recommend this album to anyone.

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what metal is all about., 4 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sound of Perseverance (Audio CD)
It is good to see that while metallica have sold their souls to capitalism some bands remain loyal to their music and their fans. Death have surpassed themselves with this albumn. being a huge fan of the Preist I never thought these words would pass my lips. Death's cover of painkiller surpasses the original in ferocity and pace and left me dumbfounded.
A brilliant albumn by an exceptional band, if you thought they were going to sell out you were wrong. BUY THIS NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christ this is brilliant., 1 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Sound of Perseverance (Audio CD)
Let me start off by saying that i'm not really familiar with the band Death, I only heard this album recently. The thing that usually puts me off of the death metal genre are those annoying vocals which just basically ruin the amazing musicianship that goes behind every death metal band. This album however is brilliant, the first listen didnt' do anything for me as the vocals just got on my nerves, but I gave it a second listen and I started to notice Chuck's guitars playing man he's one awesome guitarist the drumming is also awesome on this album too.

The musicianship on this album is amazing, crushingly heavy and melodic. My favourites here are Scavengers of Human Sorrow, Flesh and The Power it Holds, Voice Of The Soul, To Forgive Is To Suffer & A Moment Of Clarity. The Judas Priest cover "Painkiller" is good but compared to the original it's nothing sorry just is.

No doubt this is an awesome album, I will be getting more from this band, this is well recommended to fans of this band and genre as the musicianship is amazing(vocals are a matter of opinion). New to this band? give this album a shot well worth checking out my first album of this band so check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sound Of Perseverance
The Sound Of Perseverance by Death (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews