Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not widescreen, but certainly colour
In answer to Graham Rushton, he is right to think it would be ridiculous for a film made in colour to be released in black-&-white. This DVD is in colour, and it is assembled very well, with chapters. The picture and sound quality is very good and, as VistaVision is not an anamorphic process, the "standard" ratio does not affect the quality of the film. Highly...
Published on 9 Mar 2011 by Boddat

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WRONG ASPECT RATIO – DO NOT BUY!
This DVD (the Spirit Entertainment 2011 version) is in the WRONG ASPECT RATIO – DO NOT BUY IT. The movie was filmed in VistaVision, which is slightly wider than the old standard 4:3 format, but for this DVD transfer, the image has been squashed to fit a 4:3 aspect ratio. It's a brutal and ignorant way to treat our cinematic heritage and we shouldn't give these...
Published 21 months ago by Mr D W Bolt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not widescreen, but certainly colour, 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Spanish Gardener [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
In answer to Graham Rushton, he is right to think it would be ridiculous for a film made in colour to be released in black-&-white. This DVD is in colour, and it is assembled very well, with chapters. The picture and sound quality is very good and, as VistaVision is not an anamorphic process, the "standard" ratio does not affect the quality of the film. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn to become a human being., 30 Aug 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Spanish Gardener [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
The Spanish Gardener is an adaptation from A. J. Cronin's novel of the same name. It tells the story of a British diplomat called Harrington Brande {Michael Hordern excellently grumpy} who is relocated to Cataluña, Spain, after his marriage falls by the way side. Taking his young son Nicholas {Jon Whiteley tender} with him, Harrington is perturbed when Nicholas forms a loving and trusting friendship with the estate gardener Jose {Dirk Bogarde charming}. Bitten by jealousy and tortured by his own inadequacies as a father, Brande becomes nasty and spiteful, and it gets to the point where he will stop at nothing to break up the friendship. All of which is keenly observed by the shifty, and often drunk butler, whom it seems has a very vested interest in the family proceedings.

The Spanish Gardener is a lovely sweet movie that really hits the spot if one is looking for a warming humanistic fable. It has no pretensions to be ground breaking or feel the need to garner critical appraisal. It's message is simple and it relies {and succeeds in my case} on the viewers basic willingness to be engaged by its integrity and story telling worth. Yes it's far from flawless. You will need to accept Dirk Bogarde as being Spanish, what with his fluctuating tan shades throughout the picture being obvious, not really helping that train of thought. Then you will have to get over a disappointment that the budget didn't let the production utilise more of the sumptuous Cataluña {oh my that Sea} location {interiors done at Pinewood Studios}. But couple the warmth and sincerity of the story with John Veale's lovely score, and it's not with the niggles that you come away with.

It's not one I would suggest you rush out to see, but if you get the chance to watch this film, you should do so, for I'm sure you will feel all the better for it come the end. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WRONG ASPECT RATIO – DO NOT BUY!, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spanish Gardener [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
This DVD (the Spirit Entertainment 2011 version) is in the WRONG ASPECT RATIO – DO NOT BUY IT. The movie was filmed in VistaVision, which is slightly wider than the old standard 4:3 format, but for this DVD transfer, the image has been squashed to fit a 4:3 aspect ratio. It's a brutal and ignorant way to treat our cinematic heritage and we shouldn't give these companies our money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Spanish Gardener, 16 Feb 2011
By 
Graham V. Rushton (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Spanish Gardener [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
In the PRODUCT DETAILS for this film it reads FORMAT - BLACK AND WHITE. Can anyone tell me if this is true for as I recall when I saw the film way back in the 60s it was in colour. Am I wrong or right?

If people here have seen it please message here what it is in.

I have NOT ordered a copy yet but wish to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother pre-ordering this DVD, as Optimum are not releasing it after all and have informed amazon.co.uk., 8 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. David Rayner "David Rayner" (STOKE-ON-TRENT, STAFFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The reason that Optimum won't be releasing it after all is that they have discovered that they no longer have the rights to release the film on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spanish Gardener release from Strawberry Media/Spirit Entertainment, 24 Jan 2011
By 
Hargreaves (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
THE SPANISH GARDENER (1956) will indeed be released on 14th February, not by Optimum, but by Strawberry Media/Spirit Entertainment. We wish it were in the original Vistavision; yet we're delighted to see the release of this film.

May we urge the release of HUNTED (1952), an excellent earlier film with Dirk Bogarde and Jon Whiteley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Spanish Gardener, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spanish Gardener [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
It is worth reading the book to fully appreciate the psychological pressures the young boy is subjected to by his jealous, possessive father - the film condenses much of this but is nevertheless beautifully filmed. Every character (apart from the thieving butler) evokes sympathy. A film one can watch again for sheer pleaaure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Spanish gardener, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good demonstration of the common understanding between father and son-in terms of a social relationship with each
other as well as with strangers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Old Movies, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spanish Gardener [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
I have known Jon Whiteley in his Ashmolean Museum role for many years and felt I'd like to refresh my memory of his past career as a child star--so long ago that I had forgotten most of them. This is a lovely film of times gone by (which could never ever be made in its present format nowadays) and was a delightful reminder of more innocent times when most people did not have such cynical minds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice story, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spanish Gardener [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film, it was good to have a warm meaningful story set in gentle surroundings with good acting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spanish Gardener [DVD] [1956]
The Spanish Gardener [DVD] [1956] by Philip Leacock (DVD - 2011)
£5.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews