Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing new voice but rubbish CD production
Heard this playing in a local store, asked who it was, listened to some clips, and bought the CD.

This is the best new female vocalist I've heard for a long time. Clare's voice is stunningly smooth and powerful. Like other reviewers, I like all the tracks on this CD though there are some stand outs, like Shield and Sword. And it's nice that the tracks are new...
Published on 4 Mar 2011 by Happy Ears

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great voice but . . .
This is a really frustrating album. I want to love it because Clare Maguire has a great voice. In fact she has more than one voice - one low, one high (listen to Bullet and then Happiest Pretenders - you won't believe it's the same singer). And she has soul.
But - and sadly it's a big but - just about everything else could be better. The songs themselves are OK, the...
Published on 20 April 2011 by UKiddingMeBoy


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Light After Dark Fantastic, 7 Mar 2011
This review is from: Light After Dark (MP3 Download)
Its already been said but a real change. Vocals are fab and the music itself is faced pace but heartfelt. My fav songs being electric, shield and sword and last dance. Very quirky as the artist can mean different vocals to different people. Has become my favourite female artist (male being david gray) really hope she keeps on going. Simply fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic New Artist, 3 Mar 2011
By 
M. A. Lewis (Bimingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light After Dark (Audio CD)
This artist sounds quite similar to Annie Lennox or Heather Small to me, but she has her own unique style at the same time. Her debut album is simply brilliant. Good vocal range and she can hold a note for a long time.

All of the songs on this record are powerful, with a really good use of strings, one of my favourite elements of music. Tracks that stand out to me are 'Bullet', 'Light after Dark' and 'Shield and Sword', but every track is strong in it's own way - there's not a weak track on this record.

I hope to hear more of her in the future. I've seen her live too, and she has one hell of a powerful voice. Another great british talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What should have been!, 1 Mar 2011
This review is from: Light After Dark (MP3 Download)
Fantastic voice that glory beckons! 'Ain't Nobody', a single par excellance, untouchable. Album? A bit of a disappointment. By Maguire's previous efforts, this album is plainly mediocre. Compromises seem to have been made. If it wasn't for her voice, this album would have been a catastrophe. I personally expected much better from Ms. Maguire. The good news is that I believe she will make a superb album (maybe the next one?).

There are glimpses of an artist willing to push the boundaries of commercial pop music - with most songs flirting with a tiny degree of experimentation - but never quite breaking free of the those constraints; constraints perhaps placed upon her by her producer or her label. Whatever the reasons, the promise of Maguire's raw talent has been somewhat stifled. The album remains a worthy purchase simply because of her strong voice and those muscular melodies, but it's not quite the marvel Maguire fans were hoping for.

I'll keep listening to 'Ain't Nobody' (it is by far the best track on here) until she betters it. And, I'm sure she will. Sorry Clare, I wish I could have been more positive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars music for the soul, 28 Feb 2011
By 
Cenn (West Coast, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Light After Dark (Audio CD)
If you are unsure about buying this album then all I can say to you is, if you are a fan of music that you not only hear in your head, but in your heart as well then this is for you.
Clare Maguire has a vocal strength that would put Cher to shame and the raw talent of Kate Bush, some liken her to Annie Lennox or Stevie Nicks , but i would say that dose her no justice.
Listening to her album for the first time was mind blowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as expected, 18 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light After Dark (MP3 Download)
Bought this on the strength of Last Dance but was disappointed that most of the tracks are a bit screechy and samey. Excellent voice but think the material is wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Mar 2011
By 
K. H. Harrison "Kathy" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light After Dark (Audio CD)
I bought this after hearing a snippet on Breakfast TV. Not disappointed. She has an amazing voice and track 13 'This is not the end' brings a tear to my eye every time. It's the kind of album that gets better every time you listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 7 Mar 2011
By 
A. Hobbs (LONDON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light After Dark (MP3 Download)
This girl has come from virtually nowhere. What an astonishingly brilliant album. Melancholic, yet hypnotising in the same vein as 'Bat for Lashes'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Influential...????, 13 Mar 2011
This review is from: Light After Dark (MP3 Download)
Can't seem to make out just who this vocalist reminds me of, as when listening to certain tracks they conjure up images of...Annie Lennox...Kate Bush...Sophie Ellis Bextor and even Hazel O'Conner, however I did enjoy her near perfect rendition of Heather Small on Track 9...Break these Chains !!!!
It put me in mind of Jane Horrocks in the film...Little Voice.
Perhaps I'll wait and see how she develops !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "The voice of 2011" ? What a disappoinment. Don't believe the hype, 5 Mar 2011
By 
Daniel Billinton "daniel" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light After Dark (MP3 Download)
Q magazine claim that Clare maguire is "the voice of 2011". I think they need their ears testing if this is their opinion of a good female voice.

I like most people had seen the video for "Ain't nobody" and thought that it sounded interesting in a slightly dark left of field style not dissimlar to Madonna's comeback video for "Frozen".

Having bought the album, I was deeply disappointed as all of the songs were very mediocre and half baked. Songs would often start with an interesting intro and melody and then just fall flat with a boring uninspired chorus. After an hour of listening, I was just left completely cold and there were no stand out tracks and frankly her voice just grates - badly.

The problem is her voice. She has a very flat, almost manly tone which is very unmelodic and lacks the fluidity of most female singers. In comparison Ellie Goulding, Amy Macdonald, Lisa Miskovsky, Alison Goldfrapp, Sarah Mclachlan, Jewel and numerous other female artists are like treacle in comparison and frankly in a different league.

The CD production quality is also very poor by modern standards.

And to add insult to injury, the one track that i did like "Ain't nobody" was a silly remix version of the video version which was infinitely better.

If you are going to try and push a commercial video, at least put that version on the CD that people are going to buy. What an earth were the producers and record company thinking ?

I was deeply unimpressed and immediatly put the CD up for sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Light After Dark
Light After Dark by Clare Maguire (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews