Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sutter Does it Again
Sons of Anarchy is one of those shows that for some reason seems to have been largely ignored in the U.K., only being aired on Bravo and now on Sky, the Bravo channel being now defunct.

Those who have watched the first two seasons and were left hanging after the big cliffhanger of Season Two (Jax's baby Abel being kidnapped by the IRA), be prepared for a...
Published on 31 Mar 2011 by Asphodelia

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bump in the road...
The third instalment of Sons of Anarchy lacks the narrative pace and punch of the first two seasons.

It's undoubtedly a brave move to relocate the action from small town Charming to N Ireland but what probably seemed like a great idea in the writer's room simply hasn't translated well onto screen, and makes for less-than-gripping viewing.

The main...
Published on 24 May 2012 by aMusings


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sutter Does it Again, 31 Mar 2011
By 
Asphodelia (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Sons of Anarchy is one of those shows that for some reason seems to have been largely ignored in the U.K., only being aired on Bravo and now on Sky, the Bravo channel being now defunct.

Those who have watched the first two seasons and were left hanging after the big cliffhanger of Season Two (Jax's baby Abel being kidnapped by the IRA), be prepared for a drastic change of pace. Season Three is fast, very fast. The action never stops, there are constant obstacles and mess-ups sending the characters to different, unforeseen directions. You will be glued to the edge of your seat right until the very last minute of the last episode. Be prepared for constant surprises - nothing will go the way you expect it.

In Season Three, most of the action moves from Charming to Belfast - and at this point you will need to humour some of the cast's attempt at Northern Irish accents and let your disbelief be suspended. The writing is so good that you can easily ignore them.

Three seasons into 'Sons', writer Kurt Sutter has really developed the characters so well that they are really real and not the usual cardboard cutouts seen in a lot of TV shows these days. Jax, played by British actor Charlie Hunman (whose American accent is, by all accounts, superb), emerges as a real tortured soul, torn apart by the abduction of his child and the toxicity of the Club's lifestyle. He loves his girlfriend Tara but he doesn't want to ruin her life and her career as a doctor. The Club is his life but then again, he also sees how his father's ideals, around which SAMCRO was built, have been gradually corrupted since his death.

The other character that for me, makes the show, is Katey Seagal's Gemma - Jax's mother. I started off hating her in Season One, then I felt her pain through her ordeal in Season Two, and by now she is my favourite female TV character ever. She also gets some of the best and funniest lines.

As usual with Sons, Season Three is accompanied by a cracking soundtrack, with cover versions of famous songs reinterpreted for the show, some of them sung by Katey Seagal herself. I could go talk extensively about the soundtrack but...that's for a separate review.

I could not recommend this show enough and watching the DVD is absolutely the best way to enjoy it: episode after episode, back to back, without interruption and without the frustration of having to wait a week to know what will happen next. I will leave you with a health warning: this show will turn you into a nervous wreck and you might need a large bourbon to steady your nerves while you follow Jax along the streets of Belfast, in search of his son. It will be a very emotional journey indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps getting better and better, 8 Dec 2010
By 
Amy Connolly "book addict" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Yet again another season goes by and the MC have their ups and downs.
What an amazing season. Gripping right from the start as we follow the gang to Ireland, right through the the explosive season finale (one of the best i've ever seen).

I really loved it and think each season gets better and better. Action packed, suspenseful, thrilling. I'd recommend it to anyone with a strong stomach, but recommend starting with season one.
Warning: strong language, scenes of a sexual nature, substance abuse, alcohol abuse, strong violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uh oh, Jax has got his angry face on again, 21 Aug 2011
Went off SoA midway through Series 2 but this was recommended and delivers in spades.

There is still an element of playground invincibility to all the principle characters but the change of location does some good with a very satisfying conclusion.

Breaking Bad is still the best program on TV but SoA is back on track.

Opens plenty of material for Series 4, will be very interesting to see how some of those plot lines develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive watchiing, 23 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband persuaded me to start watching the 'son's' with him from season 1. I admit I was dubious at first as even though I have always ridden motorcycles I was not sure about watching a programme about bikers and judged it before watching (for the worst!). I have to say that Gemma is really my favourite character and she really makes the series what it is, I disliked her at first but by series 3 she had me hooked. She is the rock and keeps all of the family together, sacrificing her own happiness for others (as most mothers do). I did find that some parts especially with the cara cara porno girls a bit droll, boring and predictable and was glad when that was over and done with. Setting that aside the story line got me hooked and I loved the way that humour was entwined into what was some really moving scened that moved me to tears. I was even known to watch 3 in a row and had to hold back so I could go to work, ha ha . I am now a Sons convert and am waiting for series 4 with baited breath. Roll on October.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Dec 2011
Great season with a fantastic ending. Waited for the DVD as I wanted to watch it all in one hit and it did not disappoint. Make sure to get the soundtrack as well as the final number "Hey hey, my my" is so fitting and haunting.

The only downside being the Irish accents, they range from unbelievable to horrendous. Any viewer from the UK or Ireland will just have to curl their toes and try to suspend disbelief.

All in all thoroughly worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bump in the road..., 24 May 2012
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy - Season 3 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The third instalment of Sons of Anarchy lacks the narrative pace and punch of the first two seasons.

It's undoubtedly a brave move to relocate the action from small town Charming to N Ireland but what probably seemed like a great idea in the writer's room simply hasn't translated well onto screen, and makes for less-than-gripping viewing.

The main problem is the very slow story development, particularly when compared with the electric pace of the second season. There is only one main story arc (resolving the kidnapping) which really limits the opportunity to develop the main characters. The setting is contrived. It all feels a bit awkward and forced and the show struggles to reach any momentum. It's only for the final few episodes of the season (when the Sons return home to Charming) that the action again starts to flow naturally and thankfully the pace picks up.

At its heart, Sons of Anarchy is driven by a fun cops and robbers dynamic. The skillfully-drawn characters and their development (Clay, Jaks, Gemma, Tara) add depth. We get involved and the line between good and evil gets blurred. It's compelling stuff but ultimately Season 3 suffers because it changes this template.

Here's hoping Season 4 will return the Sons (and especially the writers) to more familiar ground!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starting to become silly, 1 Mar 2012
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy - Season 3 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great series... Seasons 1 and 2 i could not stop watching however once the Sons arrive in Ireland it starts becomong to ridiculous. They just fly in to Scotland , ferry it down with bikes and no passport checks. Then start shooting uniformed police. .... They should have stayed in Charming. Ruined agood series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent show survives Irish sojourn - just, 14 Oct 2011
By 
Kentspur (Er...Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Sons of Anarchy is one of those few superb American shows that you have to hunt around the cable channels for, but is well worth the search.

Series 1 and 2 were excellent. Any show about outlaw motorcycle gangs, based on Hamlet with Ron Perlman and Katey Sagal (Leela from Futurama) in it is likely to be superb. SoA delivers a cliff-hanger every week, even if the 'heroes' escapes tend to verge on the absurd. Personally I love its amoral attitude to law enforcement - the cops are as bad - often worse - than the villains.

Series 3 has some great bits in it - Old Lady uber-mensch Sagal on the run from an ATF frame and hanging out with her senile Dad; a brilliant cameo from Stephen King (yes, that Stephen King) as a 'body cleaner' a la Harvey Keitel in 'Pulp Fiction'; the world's silliest feud between two tough bikers over a dog - however a lot of the action and plot revolves around 'Oirland,' which is toe-curling for people this side of the pond. It's not just the accents (hang your heads in shame Titus Welliver and Paula Woodhouse - two Deadwood stalwarts), but the utter lack of understanding of how Ireland - or the UK - works; how law enforcement is different. When they changed the theme music to an Irish dirge, I feared for this wonderful series.

Happily the show survives and delivers a barnstormer of a series finale with Ally Walker - as a demented ATF agent - giving the kind of twitchy, bug-eyed villain performance that makes you wish she could get her own show. (This is unlikely.)

Sons of Anarchy is great and comes in second to the peerless Justified in contemporary American crime shows. So much better than that CSI franchaise pap. Only 4 stars, though. The Irish thing cannot be wholly forgiven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly amazing!, 8 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy - Season 3 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Well Mr. Sutter you have done it again! The plot was fantastic, the characters epic and each episode left me wanting more. This is the best show I have ever seen. I hope that you carry on Mr. Sutter for years to come and that we see more seasons in the pipeline. If you haven't seen the first two then get them end of. The blu-ray set is also fantastic and really does the program justice, looking forward to pre-ordering season 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must buy, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really good series plenty of action and good plot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sons of Anarchy - Season 3 [Blu-ray]
Sons of Anarchy - Season 3 [Blu-ray] by Charlie Hunnam (Blu-ray - 2011)
18.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews