Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HIGHS AND LOWS
The first season carried all before it. So much there appealed - the concept of a club created to bolster the self-esteem of the High School's victims of ridicule and bullying; the continued existence of that club depending on success in competitions.

Season 2 (this first part at any rate) simply has not the same drive - at times seemingly coasting along,...
Published on 24 April 2011 by Mr. D. L. Rees

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I haven't bought it either!
Why?

Well it's only been out for five days and I've just got myself a Blu-Ray player so buying anything on DVD seems to be a bit pointless and it won't be coming out on Blu-Ray until the Season is over.

I am sure though that anyone ordering this, unless it's for a gift, will have seen all the episodes and know what they're getting. I do agree that...
Published on 9 April 2011 by M. J. Britt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HIGHS AND LOWS, 24 April 2011
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glee - Season 2, Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The first season carried all before it. So much there appealed - the concept of a club created to bolster the self-esteem of the High School's victims of ridicule and bullying; the continued existence of that club depending on success in competitions.

Season 2 (this first part at any rate) simply has not the same drive - at times seemingly coasting along, eked out with songs that do not always merit inclusion. The standard soars when storylines become more meaningful, they this time round usually featuring Kurt (homophobia rife, his father desperately ill). Treats abound: the Rocky Horror sequences; in Ep.4 that excellent rendering of "Sing" from "A Chorus Line"; Gwyneth Paltrow's guest appearance - she a surprise and a delight. (Yet that episode ends with one of the series' lows. Was that "Singing in the Rain" number choreographed? It seemed like an improvised self-indulgence - absolutely dreadful.

Jane Lynch's Sue remains a joy - politically incorrect everytime she opens her mouth. Note too her mother, temporarily giving up her hunt for Nazis so she can attend Sue's wedding. Sue's wedding?! Another reason to watch.

Despite the misses, there is much to enjoy (including talented new recruit Sam and that initially fearsome female football coach). Yes, there are absurdities - including two of the male "teenagers" clearly aged about thirty. These do not matter if writing is strong and there is throughout a firm sense of direction. When the standard wobbles, such weaknesses become increasingly evident. Hopefully GLEE once more will be the show that thoroughly entertains and uplifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loving the deeper storylines, 30 Mar 2011
This review is from: Glee - Season 2, Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I have become more of a fan with the second season. It's still brilliantly funny and dramatic with bizarre and fabulous storylines - jane lynch is wonderful as psychotic Sue and chris colfer delivers a wonderful performance as love struck Kurt.
The romance with Kurt and Blaine is truly captivating. Sue Sylvester stops everything becoming too sickly sweet with her aggressive and odd behaviour.
The songs are very well polished and mostly enjoyable. It was a good idea to add another Glee club in the shape of the Warblers to widen the scope of the Glee club.
I've really enjoyed this season. A real pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glee Season 2, 1 Feb 2011
By 
DavidDoubleyoo (Paisley, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Glee - Season 2, Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I personally love Glee and I think Season 2 is so much better than the first one: better songs, characters are potrayed differently and it isn't focused on just Rachel and Fin. Rather than releasing Glee Season 2, Volume 1 they should release the whole box set because at the end of the day it's cheaper! If you're a Glee fanatic then pre-ordering this item is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gleeks Alert- Entertaining gleeks all around the world., 2 Jun 2011
This review is from: Glee - Season 2, Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
If like me you have been glued to your tv everytime glee is on look no further as the first part of season 2 glee is here and if you are addicted to glee then there is only one word for me to say to you: BUY! This ia a product that gleeks can watch time and time again and not to mention all the extras you get. If you bought the glee season 1 boxset then you might want to wait till they bring out the complete season 2 boxset for both volumes of glee. If you just can't wait for the full glee season 2 then this is just for you. I think that glee season 2 has been more exciting and entertaining than glee season 1. If you agree with me that glee is one of the best programmes on tv then you should definately buy this and when it comes to the big summer holidays or every Monday night after glee is over you can still enjoy glee and all the happy songs for summer that will get you singing and dancing! Hope that you found my review helpful xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 14 year olds review, 30 May 2011
By 
N. R. Slater - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glee - Season 2, Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was determained not to buy this why ? well its half ofn a boxset and i was going to buy the complete but that failed and i brought the first half. So enough about that let me get on about the series.

Glee season 2 not as good as season 1 especaially the first half the second half gets loads better.So you may ask why 5 stars if its not as good? Well because it has some of my all time fave epiosdes in here thats why :)

The Episodes :
1. Audition 7/10 okay not amazing but introdues new charecters and sets the pace

2.Brittany/Britney 9/10 really good foucuses on the charecter Brittany. As you know Britney Spears centric ep with her songs featured

3.Grilled Cheesus 6/10 Tricky one its about religion which can upset some people but i though they handled it good just drags a bit.

4.Duets 10/10 finally getting back to the old format great episode and and amazing performance of River Deep Mountian High from Naya Riveara and Amber Riley

5. Rocky Horror Glee Show 10/10 great epsiode again loved it good to see the cast dressed up as the charecters from the show.

6.Never Been Kissed 9/10 another standout ep and the Kurt and Blaine romance stars here.

7.The Substitue 8/10 featuring Gwenyeth Paltrow an okay episode watch out for the rendition of Forget You class

8.Furt 6/10 a tad boring really nothing much happens aprat from the wedding at the end although Lea Michele wears a nice dress lol :)

9.Speacial Education 7/10 okay ep it mostly revoles around sectinalos. Great songs and the Kurt and Rachel freindship is blossming which provides excellent performances from Lea Michele and Chris Colfer

10.A Very Glee Christmas 10/10 a really good ep enjoyed it more than i thought i would as we had it mid march lol but it was okay. Lea Michele puts in another excellent performance.

So thats the review. I thought it was all okay could have been better but the second half gets stronger but please buy you won't be dissapointed :) Lea Michele who plays Rachel is simply fantastic so good will go far standout performer :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shout with glee...again!, 21 April 2011
This review is from: Glee - Season 2, Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Once again the second season brings with it more laughs, tears, songs and glee!
I'm loving season 2 much better than season 1 if i'm being honest as I prefer the deeper story lines
which adds a sense of realism to the show. The humor is at its best here in series 2 and I cant help but feel
gleeful, happy and overjoyed when I sit down every monday night to watch glee on E4.

Just as great as season 1.
Hilarious dialogue.
Awesome songs (much better than last season).
'GLEE' AT ITS BEST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: Glee - Season 2, Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Glee is probably the best Tv show currently on, I really REALLY don't want it to end!! Lea Michele is amazing in it, and series 2 is just even better than season 1 -purely because the newer ones have better themes and actually mean something theyre not just random episodes however i absolutly love season 1!!! all of it is just brillant! can't decide my favourite episode!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect As Described, 13 July 2014
This review is from: Glee - Season 2, Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Daughters keep watching it over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent product, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glee - Season 2, Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
FAB present for christmas - delightfully accepted by friend of family, would shop here again, thank you very much for such an excellent selection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the show!, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Valentina Marangoni (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glee - Season 2, Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I just love this show because of the characters (especially Sue), the amazing songs they sing and the way in which they address serious issues with humour and sensibility. Plus they're all incredibly talented and have amazing voices!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glee - Season 2, Volume 1 [DVD]
Glee - Season 2, Volume 1 [DVD] by John Scott (DVD - 2011)
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews