Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Watching
This three part series is good in parts. Firstly the photography is amazing. If you turned off the soundtrack, the filming is so outstanding that it would stand up in its own right. If you know India and love the country you are really are going to enjoy Caroline Quentin's amazing 4,000 mile journey. If you have not been there, but have a lively interest it will...
Published on 8 Mar 2011 by Brett H

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I wasn't able to view it on my DVD player ...
I wasn't able to view it on my DVD player, have to find somewhere that can sort it out for me
Published 2 days ago by Betty Hutchison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Watching, 8 Mar 2011
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Caroline Quentin - A Passage Through India [DVD] (DVD)
This three part series is good in parts. Firstly the photography is amazing. If you turned off the soundtrack, the filming is so outstanding that it would stand up in its own right. If you know India and love the country you are really are going to enjoy Caroline Quentin's amazing 4,000 mile journey. If you have not been there, but have a lively interest it will pique your interest and make you want to visit.

Interestingly the route is not totally predictable. Starting in the North, the tour completely bypasses Delhi and Jaipur the pink city, which is arguably a mistake as there is plenty of interest there. There is a brief, tourist orientated stop at the Taj Mahal, but then we move on to Jodphur which is perhaps not the most predictable staging post.

Caroline Quentin's commentary varies. Sometimes it can be described as excellent, particularly when giving an overview of places she is about to visit in classic travelogue fashion. At other time it does not work so well. The references to her craving for her hubby making bacon and eggs in Devon and the WI in Tiverton are doubtless intended to be down to earth, or possibly humorous, but really grate and are completely out of tune with the wonderful surroundings she is travelling through - happily these comments are confined to the earlier part of the series. However, she does seem to have a real empathy with the many interesting locals she meets and the people do add lot to this series and to a large extent are what makes India. In general the commentary seems to improve as the tour progresses.

This is not a totally candy covered appraisal of India. We see the pilgrims bathing in the Ganges and get a nitty gritty description of what is floating around in the water. Although we see the tourist sites, like the Taj Mahal and the Golden Fort in Jaisalmer, we also visit the surrogate mothers' clinic where rich westerners pay poor Indian women to carry their babies and we see the slum families living under sheets of plastic who, despite extreme poverty, care for the local stray dogs.

So to summarise, this is a series which I would highly recommend. Whilst you may criticise the delivery, India is a wonderful country and to a large extent this captures the essence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing, energetic jaunt!, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caroline Quentin - A Passage Through India [DVD] (DVD)
We really enjoyed this. Caroline Quentin's fresh view, her enthusiasm for joining in, and her obvious enjoyment of all she saw and experienced made this a very enjoyable jaunt through India. She asks questions, explores, and gives us a slightly different angle than other travelogues I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caroline Quentin - A Passage Through India [DVD] (DVD)
Amazing series, tells you about the real india... A must before visiting any part of India to learn of its true colours (incl its lovely people).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great viewing!, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caroline Quentin - A Passage Through India [DVD] (DVD)
Caroline's enthusiastic take on India. Well worth watching. Stunning scenery and great people all combine to make this a must see video!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must watch DVD, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caroline Quentin - A Passage Through India [DVD] (DVD)
A must watch DVD for those who have never been to India. Caroline explains her experiences in a humourous but authentic way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caroline Quentin, 14 Feb 2013
By 
Kirky (Scotland, u.k.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caroline Quentin - A Passage Through India [DVD] (DVD)
This is an absolute brilliant dvd & well worth buying. We did see some of this on tv but sat & watched the dvd in total silence - you could hear a pin drop we were so captured. An excellent purchase & worth every penny & more. Hope she does another "Passage".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars India from a different perspective, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caroline Quentin - A Passage Through India [DVD] (DVD)
This shows India from a personal perspective. Caroline Quentin is bubbly, enthusiastic, and funny and gives her experience a typical British (and female) slant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars India today, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Alexander Andrejko "Tanzanite" (Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caroline Quentin - A Passage Through India [DVD] (DVD)
being myself on business in India an excellent presentation of India today. Recommended to all who are planing to see India. .
Congratulations to Mrs Quentin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant travel dvd, Caroline is very amusing and extremely natural to watch!, 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: Caroline Quentin - A Passage Through India [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great DVD about Caroline's journey around india, Caroline is amusing, very natural and fun! Very informative and colourful, can't wait to go to india now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I wasn't able to view it on my DVD player ..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caroline Quentin - A Passage Through India [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't able to view it on my DVD player, have to find somewhere that can sort it out for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caroline Quentin - A Passage Through India [DVD]
Caroline Quentin - A Passage Through India [DVD] by Caroline Quentin (DVD - 2011)
7.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews