Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars26
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 March 2011
What a wonderful documentary this is. I would recommend it to anybody, young or old, man or woman, boy or girl, not only because I am a huge fan of surfing, but because it's a lovely light documentary on the power of nature and how the waves form and how the moon cycle affects us and nature and ever-powerful water in the ocean creating the most amazing Teahupo'o waves.

I watched this film in cinema in Germany (sadly, it was not released in the cinemas across the UK) and even though the film was dubbed in German I still thoroughly enjoyed it. The scenery is amazingly beautiful and the whole 45-minutes affair with one of the world's greatest nature wonders (Tahiti and surrounding area of other Polynesian islands) leaves you elated and full of positivity.

Even if you don't have 3D-player, I am more than sure that you will enjoy this film on any given day.
22 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2011
One would assume that this title features more than 10 minutes of actual surfing action, right?

Wrong.

The movie itself is nothing more than a 40 minute tribute to Tahiti, with a little bit of geography mixed into the gorgeous photography. This in itself is no bad thing, and the whole experience is quite an enjoyable one, but this is not a surf movie, not even close. The shots that you do get of Slater and Co. taking to the water are fairly mundane, albeit with some 3D technology put forward.

As a showcase for 3D technology, Ultimate Way is quite a good way to show it off. Lush countryside, gorgeous water, and impeccable aerial shots. But don't go in expecting a movie brimming with 3D surf shots, laden with manoeuvres, barrels, etc - there's a few, but they're right at the end, and last about eight minutes in total.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2011
Not that much to say about this 3D bluray except that it has one of the best 3D ever seen (I own many other 3D bluray movies to compare).

The 3D is mainly based on depth effects but is really excellent.

I strongly recommend this video to everyone who wants to fully enjoy his 3D display :)
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2011
If you are buying this because you want a surfing documentary, personally, I would look elsewhere as you may be disappointed. I, on the other hand, wanted something to watch in 3D and was definitely not disappointed!

There are moments when the content pops out of the screen which are incredible, and I often found myself wanting to wipe the lenses of my 3D glasses, thinking the water had splashed on them. Depth and clarity are where this documentary really shines though. At a few different points in the film, two men are speaking in front of the camera whilst others are behind them (vague description as do not want to ruin anything) and it looks as though they are quite literally sat right there, as if your tv is nothing more than a picture frame and they are sat the other side. (Not sure if that description is very good, but the scene is mind blowing, me and a friend were just laughing and reaching out to the screen!)

As I said at the start, this film is not an amazingly informative documentary, there are bits and pieces of information throughout, but they may be lacking if you already know your stuff. If, however, you are just looking for an incredible 3D experience, I can safely say this is the best piece of 3D film i have seen to date! I loved this, even though I am not into surfing at all!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
This is one of the Best live action 3D experience in currently available titles. In this 40 min documentary, there is a lot of Depth, and many POP-OUT scenes, and in most of the scenes, water splashes into your living room and I closed my eyes many times. But few of the scenes (which are shot from long distance)lack either pop-out or depth. But there is a great depth both in under water and above water scenes. The colors are bright and vibrant. There is not a lot of surfing (May be for 10 min), but most of the part focuses on Tahiti, formation of waves etc...The CG designed wave formation scenes are one of the best 3D experience scenes. The music is too good. This can be used as a 3D demo disc. Highly Recommended for the 3D enthusiasts. If you watch the 2D and 3D versions of this disc, you will know the difference of experiencing something in 3D. If possible, I could have given a 4.5/5 rating.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
very good quality and good way to show case your 3d tv. I prefer to buy something like this than a movie. I could watch this over and over and not have to finish. with movies, once or twice seen, I don't think I will ever want to watch again.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
I purchased this based on the reviews and wasn't disappointed.

It certainly shows the best aspects of 3D TV/film and would recommend it to others
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Enjoyed this. If one was being a little harsh it was at times a little 'Tahiti Tourist Board' and the sponsorship is fairly heavily laid on. But it is a good film to show off a beautiful part of the world and the 3D photography is at times luscious. Well worth anyone's time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
This is typical IMAX. The film looks absolutely amazing. The photography is breath-taking and really quite awesome. I found the 3D annoying: annoying because it was so stunning it made me even more annoyed at the pathetic attempts at 3D that come out of Hollywood from companies like Disney / Pixar / Marvel that haven't a clue how to do 3D. Someone should send the Disney Corporation this disc. This is filmed throughout with a focus on maximum 3D impact and it works superbly. However , what should be a terrific documentary isn't because IMAX have this knack of churning out naff and boring documentaries. This is no exception. The narration is so turgid it undermines the visuals. The narrator has as much enthusiasm and charisma as a corpse. This might be better with the sound off and just play some loud surfing music!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
One of best 3d effects I have seen. The characters certainly seem to come out of the tv. Very colourful story of life on Tahiti. A nice way to spend a cold winter evening enjoying in 3d the beauty of a wonderful tropic island .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)