Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See it
Wow, how do you follow a review like Mr Chambers? I saw this under its original title of 'Kirot' and it was a multilingual where the characters actually spoke the languages they were meant to, ie it was in English, Russian and Hebrew so subtitles were required. Its a gritty and realistic thriller showing a side of Israeli life that you would never normally see and very...
Published on 9 Dec 2010 by PJ Rankine

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting but watchable nonetheless
I'm going to be extremely candid from the outset here and admit that the only reason I purchased this DVD was because it had the lovely Olga Kurylenko in it. As the sleeve had a picture of Olga firing a gun on the front cover I thought I was in for an action film no brainer with hopefully Olga doing her thing in lots of skimpy skin tight clothing..I know i'm incredible...
Published on 21 Sep 2011 by Mr. R. J. Everett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting but watchable nonetheless, 21 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. R. J. Everett "rob57836" (Ipswich, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Assassin Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
I'm going to be extremely candid from the outset here and admit that the only reason I purchased this DVD was because it had the lovely Olga Kurylenko in it. As the sleeve had a picture of Olga firing a gun on the front cover I thought I was in for an action film no brainer with hopefully Olga doing her thing in lots of skimpy skin tight clothing..I know i'm incredible shallow. As it turns out this is actually more a 'Thelma and Louise' type tale charting a woman's attempts to escape the horrors of domestic violence. It's not a bad film but it does rather come across as being a t.v movie and whilst Olga potrays her role admirably the same can't be said for some of her supporting cast who come across as being very 2 dimensional. I think with better casting and with perhaps tighter more claustraphobic camera work to reflect the cheif protaganists sense of entrapment, this film could have made more of a statement about its subject matter. As it is it's watchable, and not just on account of the fact Olga's in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See it, 9 Dec 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Wow, how do you follow a review like Mr Chambers? I saw this under its original title of 'Kirot' and it was a multilingual where the characters actually spoke the languages they were meant to, ie it was in English, Russian and Hebrew so subtitles were required. Its a gritty and realistic thriller showing a side of Israeli life that you would never normally see and very believable it is too. A world of white slavery run by the Russian mafia that Olga Kurilenko's character tries to escape by becoming an assassin to buy her freedom. Olga Kurilenko demonstrates once again that she is more than just a beautiful face and equal credit must also go to Israeli actress Ninette Tayeb who plays the oppressed housewife next door who befriends her. Well worth watching this is a film you will probably watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars made in Russia., 24 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Assassin Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
Great film this,more thriller/drama than action/adventure,which is good.This Russian film is directed well and has some very good acting,the leading lady (Olga)is both stunning to look at and plays the part very well.i like films where killing someone is harder than it looks,where people have morals,it makes the film more intense like La Femme Nikita or the Bourne films.shame no extras but great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST MOVIE OF THE YEAR 2009 - ONE OF THE BEST DRAMAS EVER, 17 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Assassin Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
THE MOVIE

The English title THE ASSASSIN NEXT DOOR is a bit misleading. The original title is KIROT which means "Walls".
Anyone expecting an action-packed shoot 'em up might be disappointed though. KIROT fits better in the thriller/drama section and that makes the film so compelling. It is a serious and very touching movie about forced prostitution and abuse. There are a few action scenes, the emphasis being on "a few". Don't expect something like John Woo's THE KILLER.
Well directed (Danny Lerner) and well paced, KIROT gives the main characters enough time to develop and be three dimensional "real" characters.
Both stars of this picture, Olga Kurylenko and Ninet Tayeb deliver outstanding and believable performances.
Some of the action is rather unbelievable, though, and I am not talking about Kurylenko's character being able shoot so well (Russians during the Soviet time received training in school), but more about the final shoot-out at the a bus station, where not a single cop can be seen during and after the shooting. Security is very tight in Israel, so this is unrealistic. No worries, the movie works perfectly anyway, the focus is on the two women, and at this KIROT does a fabulous job. It's a compelling story about abuse, strength and friendship.
It's a shame it took so long for THE ASSASSIN NEXT DOOR (KIROT) to be released, as it is by far the best movie of the year 2009 and one of the best dramas ever.
All in all I can only STRONGLY RECOMMEND this movie!!
5.0 OUT OF 5.0 STARS.

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2011 G2 Pictures/Koch Media UK DVD
Feature running time: 104 mins. (uncut)
Rating: Unrated (MPAA) / 15 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1 / 16:9 (anamorphic)
Audio: English 5.1 (Hebrew and Russian are also spoken, subtitled)
Subtitles: Forced English subtitles when English isn't spoken
Chapters: 12
Extras: Theatrical trailer
Region: 2

Picture: C (average DVD picture quality.
Audio: B (clear sound)
Extras: nothing but a theatrical trailer. Non-removable subtitles when English isn't spoken. No other subtitle options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling, moving, and exciting film, 9 Sep 2010
By 
Jeffrey M. Chambers (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've written a detailed review because this film seems to have had almost no publicity, and in my opinion it deserves to be much better known. At the same time, in giving examples of some of things which I think are excellent, I've tried not to give away too much of the moment-by-moment flow of the plot.

This excellent film - which is well written, directed, and acted - is the story of a woman who has to fight tenaciously to regain her freedom, and to redeem herself (in her own eyes). The central character, Galya, is charismatic and psychologically strong, but she made a terrible mistake four years previously and her subsequent life has become a nightmare - trapped by a criminal gang, forced first into prostitution, then into becoming a gangland assassin. Her fight for freedom is symbolized by her attempts to regain possession of her passport, and her quest for redemption is symbolised by her desire to return home (to the Ukraine) to a hoped-for happier life with her five-year-old daughter. While trying to save herself from the criminals, she attempts to save her friend from her friend's abusive husband.

From the opening scene, where her eyes magnetically draw the viewer into Galya's world, Olga Kurylenko plays her part intelligently and skilfully. She's very good at emotional depth and complexity, and she convincingly projects Galya's conflicting emotions. Also well done is the way she shows Galya's fight for her life and her struggle to maintain her fundamental purity of heart, while being engulfed in the gang's earthly version of hell. She's superb at conveying feelings even when she's not interacting with the other characters. For example, on one wall of her apartment Galya creates a large drawing of herself and her child (it's a symbolic doorway to her paradise) and while she draws, Olga beautifully expresses the fleeting serenity of Galya's creativity, and the way it brings her closer to her daughter (in her imagination).

Ninette Tayeb is excellent as Elinor, Galya's next-door neighbour. For example, there's a nice scene where Elinor tries to excuse her husband. Galya dismissively says "it's not your fault" but Ninette conveys in her eyes that Elinor thinks it really is her fault. Thus, by good acting she shows that Elinor is abused both externally (by her husband) and internally (by her inner critic).

Writer/director Danny Learner cleverly structures the relationships of the characters by placing Galya at the centre, with everyone else in concentric circles around her. Galya is the sun, with Elinor in close orbit. The two women have fully developed characters, with faults as well a virtues. In the cold outer reaches of the film's solar system orbit the men, none of whom have any redeeming features: they have no love, no compassion, no sense of justice. Their only interest is in power (especially power over women). The gang leaders (well portrayed by Liron Levo as the heartless Roni, and Vladimir Friedman as the lyingly manipulative Mishka) are a collection of lost souls who have adopted enslavement and murder, including deliberate murder of the innocent, as a way of life. Their system of "business" would not be complete without its routine betrayals, and of course they betray Galya - the smaller betrayals building up to a larger betrayal.

The film has lots of fine details. For example, the reality of Galya's life is nicely contrasted with idyllic dream sequences (which, nevertheless, are never quite free of anxiety) where she tries to reach her daughter. The interior physical space of her apartment is used as a metaphor for Galya's interior mental space - a place where she tries to find refuge and solace from external events which she can't control. The apartment is grim and mirrors the grimness of her life. But like her spirit, it also has the beautiful door to paradise - the picture on the wall, which symbolises Galya's hope of returning to a better life.

The scenes where the women turn animosity into friendship, and later on friendship into love, are especially good. For example, early on Elinor manages to upset Galya very much by brusquely refusing her help, and a little later Elinor changes her mind and tries to befriend Galya, but by then Galya has her emotional armour in place and her response is frosty. Elinor has to work hard to break through to Galya, and Elinor/Ninette is irresistibly charming in thawing out Galya, and Galya/Olga is delightful in the way she lets herself be thawed out. In another scene, when they're on the bed together, there's a beautiful intimacy where the two women create a little bubble of love round themselves. It's a tender moment in a pair of desperate lives. Lyrical scenes like these constitute a humane slow movement in the violent symphony which is the rest of the film.

The music is good and enhances the plot.

This film has been criticised occasionally for a certain lack of realism, and because a couple of plot contrivances are a bit stylised. This criticism misses the point in my view because the film, while having a clear social message, is an imaginative work of art and not a documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked actress, 19 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Assassin Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
I recommend this little movie about a female assassin, made in Israel, because it packs a punch, especially at the end. Mainly I recommend because it shows beautiful sexy Olga Kurylenko as so much more than a Bond sidekick.
The scenes where married, but likewise socially isolated neighbour (the also beautiful Ninet Tayeb) ventures to strike up a (platonic) bond with the other woman, even when her deadly trade is revealed, are touching. Both make a bid to escape from the shackles of their fates and the violent men that control them, but is it too late?
The original title is "Kirot", which means, I think, "Wall". Perhaps it refers not only to the one adjoining, in the apartment block, that prominently features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i would live next door to her, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Assassin Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
great fab awsome sexy ladies olga kurylenko is great as the assassin with plenty off action love it ive seen it now 16 times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Assassin Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very good item and its great value for the money and I would recommend this item to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dont be a Ass, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Assassin Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
This film is action packed with a good story, well acted and well worth buying, really enjoyed this film, eight out of ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not what you think it is, 20 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Assassin Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
This is not an action movie. There is no assassin for the mafia and a housewife struggling to get free. There are one victim from trafficking and her neighbor and they are through the film hunted, abused, beaten and treated horribly. They are trying to cope but in the end everybody loose.

This is not "Nikita" or anything like that. This film is showing the horror of trafficking. The actors are doing a great job and had the film only been presented in a more truthful way I would have given it four stars. But now I sat down and found myself watching something that I am quite aware of but did not intend to spend a nice evening with. Were they afraid that the film would not sell if they told you the truth about it?

The two ladies are doing an excellent job and the villains are also performing very well. Taken as a social realistic drama there are only two items that I find slightly disturbing. The first one is that you can actually have a gun fight going on inside Israel without any security guards that come running. The country is armed to a level that is quite unbelievable (I have been there several times) and the thought that you can have a gun fight in a bus station all alone is almost science fiction.

The other thing is that the film is in two languages. Hebrew and English. Only the Hebrew gets subtitles but not the English. Considering that the actors quite often mumble and none of them have English as their first language it would have been much better to have subtitles through the whole film. Those of us watching it could at times not hear what they were mumbling about in English.

If you want to see the horrors of trafficking see this film. If you plan for a relaxing evening with an action film, you picked the wrong one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Assassin Next Door [DVD]
The Assassin Next Door [DVD] by Olga Kurylenko (DVD - 2011)
3.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews