Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more is better
This is a slick well produced production giving us the highlights of a famous cricketing moment plus analysis and interviews, but as with the baseball DVD's why is it not possible to give us the complete match? There are many ex pats around the world who would really appreciate the whole experience.
Published on 26 Oct 2011 by Thai-ger

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good behind the scenes, highlights not great.
Have split this to 2 stars for the highlights DVD and 4 star for the additional DVDs.

Highlights DVDs are literally that, I was hopeful it may have been like the excellent 2005 & 2009 Ashes DVDs with a build up to the tests and information of goings on between the matches (newspaper back pages etc.). They are just a collection of what is probably Channel Nines...
Published on 11 Mar 2011 by K. ROOME


Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!! About time for cricket to have a behind the scenes!!, 19 Jan 2011
By 
David Dares (Edgware, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ashes Series 2010/2011 Complete Collection 7DVD Box Set (DVD)
I just wanted to reply to the review that gave this 3 stars, and advised people that:

'contains no more cricket than the 3 disc Official Highlights. What you get instead are some extras, principally a 90 minute behind-the-scenes documentary, The Inside Story. This maybe worth the extra for the dedicated collector, but for most of us I doubt it very much.'

Now i am not sure if this reviewer likes his sport but i love my sport, and for 13 years have been watching and loving the behind the scenes documentaries of the British & Irish Lions rugby tours, which can make your hairs stand on end and make grown men weep. This is what you as a fan DO want to see; how the players really are, what really went on, how do they get through adversity, injury and success and all the other emotions that will inevitably happen on a 2 month sports tour. Last year the Ryder Cup had a behind the scenes and now cricket, at last, has something that we can see that is beyond the usual highlights package.

For the other reviewer to say that for most of us (is he meaning cricket/sports fans as i hope not!), the Box Set is not worth it is ridiculous (although we can all have an opinion). You can judge for yourself when it comes out, but i know for a fact all at my cricket club and the other fans i know will be buying this boxset, because they love cricket and they love sport, and sport is much more than just the highlights, it's what goes on in between the action that matters too.

I reckon this will be the ultimate package for the ultimate Test Series - 7 discs for 35 is cracking value, and to relive the series with the Doc included is the icing on the cake - I CANT WAIT!!! There are 5 discs for the highlights and 2 discs for the behind the scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy if you are an England fan!, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Ashes Series 2010/2011 Complete Collection 7DVD Box Set (DVD)
I bought this as a memento of a fantstic holiday - I wished I had not bothered and stuck with my owm photos/videos. This is the Australian view of events. At the start it is quite funny but by Sydney it is just sad! There was criticism at the time at the lack of time,effort and money given to the presentation ceremony in Sydney and whoever was responsible for this edited these DVDs! The Melborne test features what seems like hours of interviews with Ponting and no footage of the 'sprinkler' celebrations.

England fans do not buy this. Sorry I have not written this review before but watching this again a year on has just made me want to throw the whole collection in the bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ashes Series 2010/2011, 30 Mar 2011
By 
Rafael "RASK" (South America) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ashes Series 2010/2011 Complete Collection 7DVD Box Set (DVD)
The quality of this recording is outstanding.The presentation is,to say the least, breathtaking.I would not hesitate at all to recommend this product to other people.Thanks for a product of superior quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great memories all in one DVD set, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes Series 2010/2011 Complete Collection 7DVD Box Set (DVD)
As an England cricket fan it is possible that there is no better contest than the Ashes and this DVD set offers a great chance to relive every aspect of one of the best Ashes' series of recent years. The set offers great value for money with 7 DVD's and there is something for all cricket fans here. If you want to remind yourself of the great match action you can watch the highlights of the tests, if you want to remind yourself of the great sledging moments of the tour the Jimmy Anderson/Mitchell Johnson moment is included and if you would rather see behind the scenes and get thoughts from both teams players then you can watch the interviews that are included. A brilliant DVD to watch to reminisce on the English victory and prepare for next years back to back Ashes series'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Ashes All Over Again, 30 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes Series 2010/2011 Complete Collection 7DVD Box Set (DVD)
The product is attractively packaged, containing one DVD for each test and two extra DVDs covering the series as a whole. Unfortunately the enjoyment can be lessened by viewing the extra DVDs before diving into the games themselves, and there is little guidance provided in the booklet to warn you of that.

The coverage of the games is excellent, with first class camera work and good commentary, if not quite up to TMS standards. The drama and excitement of the contest is well captured, even when viewed months after the events themselves.

Bring it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashes 2010 DVD Box set, 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Ashes Series 2010/2011 Complete Collection 7DVD Box Set (DVD)
Excellent viewing being english and a cricket fan and a a bargain buy:-)Would recommend others to buy this product, with highlights of each 5-day test and behind the scenes footage and interviews which wouldn't normally have been from our home tv tv coverage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cricket fever, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes Series 2010/2011 Complete Collection 7DVD Box Set (DVD)
as cricket fan my partner really enjoy this gift, and now i can leave him in the conservatory for hours and i know where he is and what he is doing hahaha, excellent delivery and packaging right size for item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars England, my England!, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes Series 2010/2011 Complete Collection 7DVD Box Set (DVD)
My partner loves this; he watches it over & over again. Can't see the attracrtion myself but then I'm not a cricket fan! Arrived fast. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Memories, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes Series 2010/2011 Complete Collection 7DVD Box Set (DVD)
I was on this tour, so I had to have this to remind me of the high-point of this English cricket team. For those who bought the 2005 box set, it's not quite the same quality as that - but still great to have in your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific collectors item, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes Series 2010/2011 Complete Collection 7DVD Box Set (DVD)
Cricket fans, and Ashes aficionados in particular, will enjoy this collection for its attractive presentation and interesting content. The playing highlights are limited so if you're after a ball-by-ball reconstruction look elsewhere. I particularly enjoyed the background material and documentary footage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews