Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.90

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2010
Oh joy!
This is a supreme work of fusion of a brilliantly played traditional instument (Liam O'Flynn - Ullean pipes) alongside a competent orchestra.
It is the obligatory musical accompaniment whilst reading Tim Severin's publication of the same title. The music precisely follows Tim's articulate narrative.
It is a moody, occasionally-frightening, spiritual, uplifting and, eventually, utterly trimphant suite that you never want to end.
Why has no one other than Celts heard of the composer, Shaun Davey?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2009
I first heard Shaun Davey's music when I saw the RSC's Fair Maid of the West in the 80's and have aquired all his albums since - The Brendan Voyage is a beautiful symphony for Irish pipes played by one of the greatest pipers ever Planxty's Liam O'Flynn - brilliant and unforgettable.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
This is a taste of "Light Classical" Music that is utterly breathtaking.
A well-constructed piece with beautiful melodies and very "feeling" interludes for the Story it tells.
It weaves the Light Classical feel with Irish Traditional in an extraordinary way - and is a Winner in both categories.
Written with the power of the Uilleann Pipes in mind, what better exponent to employ than Liam Og O'Flynn.
The most pristine Piper of the modern era (in my opinion) and although there are other Pipers with almost similar abilities in other styles, the recording would be somewhat lacking without Liam at the helm (to speak nautically)

It's the kind of music that will awaken images in your imaginings, and make you feel the pain and delight that the journey created. It is, in my opinion, a Masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2010
The synthesis between the orchestra and the uilleann pipes is beautiful. Pipe music by itself in magical but the orchestra does act as a melodious counterpoint to the pipe music.

This is a real secret gem. Get it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
I suddenly remembered this music and just had to have it. I love the mix of Uillean pipes with a classical orchestra. The suite creates evocative sound pictures of the voyage of St Brendan, who is said to have discovered North America long before the sadistic plunderer Columbus. I've bought the companion Kindle book by Tim Severin, too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
you can empty your mind and think only of the voyage. the music tells the story with highs lows and calm. A wonderful composition and I never tire of listening to it even thought I only have it on LP.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
great cd, the music carries you along as though you're actually on the craft.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
Very interesting. Well worth a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
I also had a signed lp from Liam
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)