Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2011
This music never detracted but only served to enhance the atmosphere of the film. Alexandre's gentle piona music is beautiful to listen to, and the choice of classicalmusic from Beethoven and Mozart were excellant choices which flowed in seamlessly.

It is the first time in a BAFTA ceremony that I was really paying attention to that important part of a film that can so easily be overlooked or spoil a film. I sat with bated breath hoping he would win, and was delighted that he did. This CD really is also wonderful relaxing and moving music to listen to even if you have not seen the film.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2011
After seeing the film The Kings Speech, the beautiful strains of music that filtered throughout the film, almost subconsciously into my mind, insisted that I get the CD and listen to it completely. I was not disappointed. Often film music intrudes on the scenes themselves, but Alexandre Desplat has created music that is gentle, absorbing and intriguing. Magical almost - and the perfect lullaby to send me to sleep. If you like restful music this is the CD to buy.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
This cd has been well produced and is a fine collection of thought provoking, and moving music to allow your mind to wander - reminding you during each track what issue was being addressed in the film. A good film score that will stand the test of time in your cd collection, long after the film has been forgotten.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I heard the music on radio and bought the CD well before seeing the movie. The music is excellent on the movie but it is also a great soundtrack in its own right.
This is a fabulous score with great feeling and emotion. It is very moving and powerful with rich use of instruments and powerful passages. This has to be an all time favourite movie soundtrack. The composer has done a great job here with his original music. And the inclusion of some brief pieces by Beethoven and Mozart at the end of the disc is well placed and adds to the atmosphere.
The sound is excellent and the performance is truly great.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
Lovely piece of music; great to listen too when relaxing. The piano solos are tremendous, even though a tad repetitive. My main niggle is the edited Beethoven Piano Concerto No.5: Emperor (II), would dearly have liked to hear the piece in its entirety on the soundtrack. The use of Beethoven's 7th Symphony for the 'Speaking Unto Nations' scene is just perfection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
What a wonderful album! On the melodic side of new age noodling! If you like the OST from Band of Brothers or Braveheart you will find this very appealing. Very enjoyable even if you haven't seen the film. Only a miserly running time of just over 45 minutes stops it being 5 star. Postal delivery time very impressive as well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Desplat is very prolific but, imho, often doesn't quite have the cohesive integrity in his music that the really top score composers do. Which is probably why I love this soundtrack - it feels complete, it feels like it also tells the story without getting in the way of it. For me, one of his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2011
This is an amazing C.D that captures the sentiment of the Film beautifully. An excellent portrayal of a time long gone by, but at the sametime a strong representation of the England I so love and am proud to be a daughter of. God Save The Queen!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
The CD arrived promptly and I put it on straight away to hear the main theme,(Beethovan symphony no. 7), which did not disappoint. The other pieces are light and easy to listen to, and I enjoy listening to the full CD when ironing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
An excellent sound track, although I was slightly confused with the final 3 tracks until I watched the DVD for the second time and realised where they fitted in. A most enjoyable sound track to a wonderful film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)