Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant
This music never detracted but only served to enhance the atmosphere of the film. Alexandre's gentle piona music is beautiful to listen to, and the choice of classicalmusic from Beethoven and Mozart were excellant choices which flowed in seamlessly.

It is the first time in a BAFTA ceremony that I was really paying attention to that important part of a film that...
Published on 19 Feb 2011 by dallylegs

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Expected a bit more.
Lovely piece of music; great to listen too when relaxing. The piano solos are tremendous, even though a tad repetitive. My main niggle is the edited Beethoven Piano Concerto No.5: Emperor (II), would dearly have liked to hear the piece in its entirety on the soundtrack. The use of Beethoven's 7th Symphony for the 'Speaking Unto Nations' scene is just perfection.
Published on 1 Sep 2012 by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, 19 Feb 2011
This music never detracted but only served to enhance the atmosphere of the film. Alexandre's gentle piona music is beautiful to listen to, and the choice of classicalmusic from Beethoven and Mozart were excellant choices which flowed in seamlessly.

It is the first time in a BAFTA ceremony that I was really paying attention to that important part of a film that can so easily be overlooked or spoil a film. I sat with bated breath hoping he would win, and was delighted that he did. This CD really is also wonderful relaxing and moving music to listen to even if you have not seen the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lullaby music, 19 Feb 2011
By 
K. Steele "word fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After seeing the film The Kings Speech, the beautiful strains of music that filtered throughout the film, almost subconsciously into my mind, insisted that I get the CD and listen to it completely. I was not disappointed. Often film music intrudes on the scenes themselves, but Alexandre Desplat has created music that is gentle, absorbing and intriguing. Magical almost - and the perfect lullaby to send me to sleep. If you like restful music this is the CD to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving, 7 Feb 2011
This cd has been well produced and is a fine collection of thought provoking, and moving music to allow your mind to wander - reminding you during each track what issue was being addressed in the film. A good film score that will stand the test of time in your cd collection, long after the film has been forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great composition, 22 Aug 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I heard the music on radio and bought the CD well before seeing the movie. The music is excellent on the movie but it is also a great soundtrack in its own right.
This is a fabulous score with great feeling and emotion. It is very moving and powerful with rich use of instruments and powerful passages. This has to be an all time favourite movie soundtrack. The composer has done a great job here with his original music. And the inclusion of some brief pieces by Beethoven and Mozart at the end of the disc is well placed and adds to the atmosphere.
The sound is excellent and the performance is truly great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Music of this Soundtrack is very good.I like it very much.
Many Regards from Switzerland
R.Cavallaro
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kings Speech OST, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Speech OST (MP3 Download)
Desplat is very prolific but, imho, often doesn't quite have the cohesive integrity in his music that the really top score composers do. Which is probably why I love this soundtrack - it feels complete, it feels like it also tells the story without getting in the way of it. For me, one of his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Relaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaax, 8 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Speech OST (MP3 Download)
Saw the movie and just had to have some of the content, so had to get this. A great listen when you just want to kick back and relax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Expected a bit more., 1 Sep 2012
By 
Mike (The Front Room) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely piece of music; great to listen too when relaxing. The piano solos are tremendous, even though a tad repetitive. My main niggle is the edited Beethoven Piano Concerto No.5: Emperor (II), would dearly have liked to hear the piece in its entirety on the soundtrack. The use of Beethoven's 7th Symphony for the 'Speaking Unto Nations' scene is just perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening, 13 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The CD arrived promptly and I put it on straight away to hear the main theme,(Beethovan symphony no. 7), which did not disappoint. The other pieces are light and easy to listen to, and I enjoy listening to the full CD when ironing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent music, 13 Jun 2011
An excellent sound track, although I was slightly confused with the final 3 tracks until I watched the DVD for the second time and realised where they fitted in. A most enjoyable sound track to a wonderful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The King's Speech OST
The King's Speech OST by Alexandre Desplat
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews