Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like the old days!
I downloaded this album, sadly, because it isn't available in cd format. Unfortunately, in the UK, we have to put up with having to buy the American versions with different track listings. This review also applies to the Stones first album which I downloaded at the same time, as I think both are equally good albums showing the Stones were a great future force when they...
Published on 12 Nov 2011 by Bill

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The original UK version at last
This set of songs make up the UK edition of the Stones' second album released in 1965 under the title of The Rolling Stones No.2. As far as I know the original UK version with this listing has never been available on CD format, either in the US or UK even though all it's constituent tracks could be obtained in CD format via various albums.

So while it's still...
Published 17 months ago by Al-13


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like the old days!, 12 Nov 2011
By 
Bill (Astley, Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones No. 2 (MP3 Download)
I downloaded this album, sadly, because it isn't available in cd format. Unfortunately, in the UK, we have to put up with having to buy the American versions with different track listings. This review also applies to the Stones first album which I downloaded at the same time, as I think both are equally good albums showing the Stones were a great future force when they were still, largely, recording blues/soul covers. I have the original vinyl albums and also the means to transfer onto disc, however my copies are a bit battered and scratchy and jumped a bit so the only option was the MP3 version. Having said that,both are still great to listen to after all this time, showing the Stones latent rawness and power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The original UK version at last, 13 Feb 2013
By 
Al-13 (Newcastle,UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rolling Stones No. 2 (MP3 Download)
This set of songs make up the UK edition of the Stones' second album released in 1965 under the title of The Rolling Stones No.2. As far as I know the original UK version with this listing has never been available on CD format, either in the US or UK even though all it's constituent tracks could be obtained in CD format via various albums.

So while it's still not possible to get this album on one single CD it can now be purchased via MP3 download. Those of us who like a physical copy of our music will be able to transfer the downloaded MP3 files to a compact disc and this is perfectly legal. Problems only arise when making multiple CD's from downloaded music files as this infringes the copyright.

The actual album is in the much the same vein as the highly successful Stones debut album and it went to the top spot in the charts. A mixture of R&B standards with a few songs from Jagger/Richard who were still developing their own songwriting skills at the time.

There may come the time when all of the Stones UK early 60's albums are released on CD in their original versions but for the time being this is as near as us Brits can get to owning this particular favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Right Tracks, 9 Jun 2014
By 
K. Holmes (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rolling Stones No. 2 (MP3 Download)
So pleased that Amazon have compiled this correctly using ‘4 tracks from ’12 X 5’, 6 from ‘Now!’ & 2 from ‘More Hot Rocks’ (2002 release) including ‘Everybody needs somebody to love’ as the version on ‘Now!’ is the wrong one.
A wonderful LP as was its predecessor 'The Rolling Stones'
It's a scandal that we don't have 'proper' CD releases of these two Decca LPs.
Get 'burning'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stones, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones No. 2 (MP3 Download)
This is an excellent choice of music. As it's very expensive to buy as a cd it was good to be able to download.it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Stones, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones No. 2 (MP3 Download)
This is a classic from the Stones and a great sound from their earlier works and a must have for all Stones fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stones in '64, 18 April 2013
This review is from: The Rolling Stones No. 2 (MP3 Download)
Young,raw,fantastic! that's all you need to know. Go buy it. Only down side for me is that this album should be available on C.D. So much better than the American 12X5 version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC BRIAN JONES STONES, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones No. 2 (MP3 Download)
I LOVE THIS AND THE FIRST ALBUM.WHEN BRIAN RULLED THE ROOST AND WHEN THEY COULD REALLY ROCK THE JOINT. OH YEAH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More stones before the hype, 14 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones No. 2 (MP3 Download)
The second UK Stone album. Really it was more of the same. And my comments on the first album apply to this. It never made it to CD format, but is now available in mp3 format. The songs on it were split between the 2nd & 3rd US albums "12x5" and "The Rolling Stones Now."

Mick & Keith were beginning to flex their song writing skills.
The Stones were about to burst on the world.

Listen and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rolling Stones No. 2
The Rolling Stones No. 2 by The Rolling Stones
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews