Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely one of my top ten desert island books.
"The Memory of Love" is a story set in Freetown, Sierra Leone featuring two triangular relationships separated by a generation, with parallel accounts set during the political unrest in 1969 at the time of the Apollo 11 moon landing and during the period 1999 to 2001 following the brutal civil war.
The earlier era features Julius Kamara and Elias Cole who are both...
Published on 22 July 2010 by Moira C

versus
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Powerful Story and Beautiful Prose Marred by Flawed Structure
This tale of the intertwined lives of three men living through the aftermath of a terrible civil war in 1990s Sierra Leone has the potential for a moving and thought- provoking drama.

It begins with Elias Cole as he suffers a slow painful death, haunted by memories of his obsessive love for Safia, the lovely wife of a charismatic colleague. Driven by the...
Published on 16 Aug. 2011 by Antenna


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from Aminatta Forna, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory of Love (Paperback)
This is a really gritty but tender look at the impact of a brutal war on the psychological well being of a population.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory of Love (Kindle Edition)
beautifully written, savour every word and every chapter, try not to finish it too quickly, but it stays with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The memory of Love, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory of Love (Paperback)
Very good read - but harrowing at times, did not want it to finish, wanted to know more about some characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging read, 1 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory of Love (Kindle Edition)
I found this book easy and enjoyable to read. I liked the different perspective on the war in Sierra Leone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory of Love (Paperback)
Rather wordy, but an interesting mix of human relationships and experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory of Love (Kindle Edition)
Loved it and would highly recommend it to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really disappointed, 3 Oct. 2011
By 
Jordan Paterson "A book a day!" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Memory of Love (Kindle Edition)
I read this book as part of a book club, I had heard and read such good things about the book. Sorry to say I couldn't even finish it, it dragged on for too long, there is a lot of reading between the lines and trying to establish who is related to who, how they are connected and even what topic they are talking about.

Sorry but I go against everyone who loved this book as I just didn't connect with the characters and the story at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory of Love (Kindle Edition)
An insight to the lives others live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slow start but stick with it!, 11 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Memory of Love (Paperback)
I have not read a book by Amenatta Forna before this one and will now certainly look out for other novels by her. This novel - describing two love affairs, separated by a generation, is set against the backdrop of the horrific civil war in Sierra Leone. It is exquisitly written with beautiful descriptions.

However I found it very slow at the beginning and almost gave up - this is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I am pleased that I persevered. The brilliant way the characters interweave and the very clever ending, which I certainly did not predict, make it worthy of being shortlisted for the 2011 Orange Prize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory of Love (Kindle Edition)
beautifully written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Memory of Love
The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews