Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, enjoyable and engaging read
This is such an easy book to read that I finished it in just a couple of days. I enjoyed it very much and would highly recommend it. It mixes singing, food and business, with the personal lives of three 50 something women, all of whom have their problems, but who become friends after joining a choir.

This is easily my favourite Prue Leith novel to date,...
Published on 22 Feb 2009 by Nicola

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for choral singers!
If you don't know anything about choral societies and enjoy fluffy escapist stuff you might enjoy this. But for enthusiastic classical or gospel singers, this book is to be avoided. No doubt the writing about food and food writing is spot on, but Ms Leith clearly knows nothing about music, let alone the world of amateur choirs: her research consisted of attending just one...
Published on 28 Jan 2011 by Josquine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, enjoyable and engaging read, 22 Feb 2009
By 
Nicola "nicola_in_southyorks" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Choral Society (Hardcover)
This is such an easy book to read that I finished it in just a couple of days. I enjoyed it very much and would highly recommend it. It mixes singing, food and business, with the personal lives of three 50 something women, all of whom have their problems, but who become friends after joining a choir.

This is easily my favourite Prue Leith novel to date, proving that the author is growing as a writer with each book she produces. It's a very engaging read, which draws the reader in to the story and the lives of the characters.

I enjoyed how the author brought her own experiences of food and food writing into the book. All in all, an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for choral singers!, 28 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choral Society (Paperback)
If you don't know anything about choral societies and enjoy fluffy escapist stuff you might enjoy this. But for enthusiastic classical or gospel singers, this book is to be avoided. No doubt the writing about food and food writing is spot on, but Ms Leith clearly knows nothing about music, let alone the world of amateur choirs: her research consisted of attending just one rehearsal! And sadly her characters and their adventures are as unbelievable as the musical details.
Three (predictable) happy endings in one though - that's got to be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing, 20 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. Audrey Williams (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choral Society (Paperback)
A very easy and relaxing read based on three totally different characters who become close friends-accepting each others foibles and all with talents which compliment each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find of the Year, 7 Jun 2010
This review is from: Choral Society (Paperback)
I am a big Maeve Binchey fan and I would place this book right up there with hers.

About 4 months ago I heard an interview with Prue Leith on the radio and then found her books here in Amazon.

I enjoyed this book so much that I ordered copies for friends and family.

Since music doesn't have much interest for me I was a bit leary about the title but there is very little music involved.

It is a lovely story about 3 ladies over the late 40's. Prue weaves a smooth tale combining now and then, her knowledge of food with the story lines. It is a book that makes you look forward to bedtime if that is where you read.

Now I am looking forward to reading everything she has written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prue Leith's best novel, 7 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Choral Society (Hardcover)
This is a terrific read for women of all ages, but it will resonate in particular for over-40s tired of being pigeonholed. The three main protagonists, all over 50, who meet when joining a singing group are each very clearly drawn, very different women and great characters in their own right, with problems, urges, triumphs that we can all empathasise with. It's pacey and funny - definitely Prue Leith's best to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Choral Society, 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: Choral Society (Paperback)
Never written a review before but I don't want others to waste time and money on this.
The characters have no depth and the so called "choral society" has been used as an extremely clumsy device to pull them together.
Prue Leith should stick to catering!Choral Society
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, this is a clanker, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choral Society (Kindle Edition)
It's not often I start a book but can't bring myself to finish it. This was one of those sad occasions. I'm afraid the book is unmitigated, turgid rubbish. Full of cliches and tired storylines, which were, frankly, naff. Very disappointing, and I'm glad I paid such a small price for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than singing!, 20 July 2012
This review is from: Choral Society (Kindle Edition)
I raced through The Choral Society as it was a real page-turner. Laundry remained unwashed, the cat reminded me that it was way past his dinner time on more than one occasion! A compelling story of three very different ladies bought together through joining a singing group for three very different reasons and enduring friendships. That is not to say that this is a sedate and fluffy novel - Prue's novel is engaging, racy (leaves 50 Shades standing in the starting blocks in some places!) and full of vibrancy and life. I am now re-reading this at a more sedate pace to make sure I don't miss any of the story! Brilliant novel, thank you Prue. Looking forward to your next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Choral society, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choral Society (Kindle Edition)
Prue Leith should stick to cookery writing. This is average and uninspiring 'chick lit'? I wasn't particularly interested by the end of the first chapter, but I persevered, having read some of the glowing reviews. By Chapter 6, I decide to abandon it as I was bored beyond belief by the uninteresting characters and mediocre writing style. Sorry Prue. I love your cookery books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 14 July 2011
By 
Liz F (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Choral Society (Paperback)
Having recently read and enjoyed Prue Leith's "The Gardener" and "A Serving of Scandal" I came to this with high expectations and was sadly disappointed. I didn't really warm to the characters, the storyline was unconvincing and it just didn't ring true. There were also some irritating errors for example Joanna invites Stewart to a simple dinner she spends most of Friday afternoon preparing. They spend Friday night together and next morning he goes out for the Sunday papers!!
The (only?) plus side is that the heroines are in their 50s, an age group often marginalised in fiction and Leith does do beautiful descriptions of food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Choral Society
Choral Society by Prue Leith
4.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews