Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful book
What is there still left to measure in the world today? Precious little, one might argue, except for things of infinitisemal size. How different the world must have seemed in the early 18th century, when the principles of Enlightenment were at their peak, and large parts of the map of the world were still black. European scientist had an almost unbound belief in the...
Published on 23 May 2009 by Didier

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Plodding
An excellent idea to compare the lives of Humboldt and Gauss but, in this case, despite a reasonable translation from the German, it just doesn't come off. Both characters emerge as unsympathetic, chronology of the factual events is distorted for no apparent reason, the style is plodding and there are factual errors ; for example the Humboldt current is described as...
Published 18 months ago by Heather Tee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful book, 23 May 2009
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Measuring The World (Hardcover)
What is there still left to measure in the world today? Precious little, one might argue, except for things of infinitisemal size. How different the world must have seemed in the early 18th century, when the principles of Enlightenment were at their peak, and large parts of the map of the world were still black. European scientist had an almost unbound belief in the possibilities of scientific research, and there was plenty to research!

'Measuring the world' captures this era in a beautiful manner, by contrasting two of its giants: the explorer Alexander von Humboldt (1769 - 1859) and the mathematician Johann Carl Friedrich Gauss (1777-1855). In many ways, two people couldn't be further apart: Gauss was a child prodigy of humble birth (his father wanted him to become a mason as he himself was), Humboldt the younger of two sons in a prominent Pomeranian family (his father was a major in the Prussian army). Gauss was by all accounts a difficult man to live with: a perfectionist, having difficulties establishing relations with other people (including his own children), impatient and restless. By contrast, Humboldt was ever sociable and friendly, the epitome of the gentleman-explorer, used to moving in the highest circles. Humboldt traversed the globe, Gauss explored the world (the universe rather) sitting behind his desk...

And yet, in a bizarre way, as Kehlmann demonstrates in this splendid book, both men (or rather: his fictionalized versions of them) are as different sides of the same coin, and are ultimately 'mere men', as we all are. Ambitious and confident as they may be when young and in the prime of their lives, and there hardly seemed to be limits to what they could do and achieve, as they grow older (and more and more lonely) they are confronted with the same ruminations, doubts and regrets we probably all are: did I make a difference? Have I done right by my children? Should I have been more caring towards my wife?

You've probably guessed by now that I enjoyed this book a lot. It's insightful, full of (dry) humour and irony, and utterly charming. Splendid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous - literally!, 9 May 2007
This review is from: Measuring The World (Hardcover)
A book about marvels that is marvellous in the telling. Out of a seemingly unpromising scenario - two great scientists working in Germany in the early 19th century - Daniel Kehlmann weaves a hugely entertaining story that is also deeply thought-provoking. He writes with a witty, deadpan sort of style that reminded me a bit of Jules Verne's Around the World in Eighty Days; there is also a degree of sadness at the end - the book has a melancholic undercurrent. Humboldt and Gauss, the two heroes of the novel, are very different characters involved in very different types of scientific exploration (all of which is perfectly readable to a layman like me with little understanding of mathematics!), yet through these differences Kehlmann explores a time when scientific discoveries we take for granted today were still new, and makes us think about things that are still highly relevant today - not least the issue of fame and celebrity. The writing is wonderful, the characterisation superb, and the fusion of good story, thought-provoking ideas and human experience makes it a winner. A novel that shows you can be literary and intelligent while still being very readable and fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating story of two extraordinary men., 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Measuring the World (Kindle Edition)
I find that with many books in which their are separate plot lines running in parallel I tend to find one more interesting than the other so that I am disappointed when at chapter end the author switches back to the less engaging one and I am left impatient to get back to the first. For the majority of this novel that is the structure but the excellence of Mr.Kehlmann's work is such that I became totally involved in both character's stories and there was a pang of regret whenever he chose to switch themes. When the principals are intereacting there is an edgy, almost surreal, 'odd couple' relationship between them which is equally fascinating. Added to all this is a fair smattering of layman's level mathematics and natural history to keep you thinking and it all adds up to a totally absorbing portrait of two scientists during the Enlightenment.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Plodding, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Measuring the World (Kindle Edition)
An excellent idea to compare the lives of Humboldt and Gauss but, in this case, despite a reasonable translation from the German, it just doesn't come off. Both characters emerge as unsympathetic, chronology of the factual events is distorted for no apparent reason, the style is plodding and there are factual errors ; for example the Humboldt current is described as flowing from north to south, when it flows in the opposite direction. I've read worse books but I definitely would not recommend it, either as a story or as background 'information'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lost in translation, 9 Jan 2007
By 
Neil Holliday (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Measuring the World (Hardcover)
I found this book distinctly odd. I don't know if if was by design but the translation into English left an unusual flavour in the mouth and to be honest, it made the reading a less than fluent affair. Having been advised by the jacket that the book induced hard laughter and the dialogue totally hilarious, I would have to counter that it never raised even a smile for me and the dialogue was merely unusual. Overall, the whole thing left me with the impression that it had only been translated word for word without any real understanding of English and that the differences in tone between the two languages were unaccounted for. My interest in what were two historical characters was lost in the process. The story lept through years in a swift and sketchy manner, a number of lesser characters were abandoned to their fate and the book tailed off in a very annoying fashion. Possibly in the original language (if you speak it) this book is everything claimed but for me it simply left the impression of having just read a book in german/english without really understanding it. Lacks foth fluency and a sense of humour likely to appeal to most English speakers. Two stars for oddity value and because I'm a sucker for historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strange but compelling bio-fiction, 23 Mar 2013
This review is from: Measuring the World (Kindle Edition)
A tale of Gauss and Humboldt spun together in a fiction built on the skeleton of their actual lives. It carried me along - intrigued, curious, sometime impatient, sometime skimming a few pages - but mostly happily engaged.

You might not find the same happy engagement. I've admired Humboldt's paintings and botanical illustrations in the Berlin Humboldt archive. I've climbed Pico Humboldt in Venezuela. I know a bit about Gauss' scientific thinking. So I was immediately intrigued when I came across this book. Kindle Books offered it to me for just 99p so nothing much to lose!

The author has his two main characters laugh at the thought of someone in the future spinning stories about their lives. I think he's done it rather well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mingling fact and fiction, 4 Feb 2011
By 
Michael Gross - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Measuring The World (Hardcover)
Measuring the World is a somewhat fictionalised double biography of Carl Friedrich Gauss and Alexander von Humboldt. In their parallel lives, both did indeed measure parts of the world, one as a mathematician and surveyor on home ground, the other as an explorer and naturalist.

The book is very readable and follows in the tradition of books like "Longitude". This "mid-brow" terrain is still relatively new to German literature; until recently there was a wide canyon separating the U and the E literature, i.e. the popular and the literary fiction. Novels bridging this gap, possibly starting with Patrick Suesskind's "Perfume" have been rewarded with successful translation deals, and now Kehlmann's book as well.

While it was very entertaining to read, and useful in terms of organising a number of household names of the 19th century into a network of who knew whom (they didn't have facebook back then!), I felt slightly unsure about the fine line between biography and fiction, I mean did Gauss really make that promise to learn Russian as a favour to a Russian prostitute? I'll have to read a proper biography at some point to clarify this important point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Measuring the World, by Daniel Kehlmann, 15 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Measuring the World (Paperback)
An addictive read. Once you get into it it is difficult to put down. From an initial "heaviness" the quirky humour soon appears and that's it. Keep on reading!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book!, 27 Nov 2006
By 
Felix Bauer "Buecherwurm" (Reading, Berks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Measuring the World (Hardcover)
"Measuring the world" is a novel but could also be said to be a biography of the two famous genius, Gauss, the mathematician and Humboldt, the natural scientist. Both contemporaries being described as characters as different as two people can be. Their lives and adventures are narrated in such a sophisticated and captivating way that I started loving them from the first pages on. The book is thrilling, educating and entertaining at the same time. It took me from the first page on and I red it in one session. It is simply brilliant. If you liked Suesskind's "The perfume" you will definitively like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Novel of Ideas, 28 May 2009
By 
Quicksilver (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Measuring the World (Paperback)
Earlier reviews posted here have been mixed, and I would readily concede that 'Measuring the World' is something a "Marmite" book. Personally, I loved it.

Kehlmann's writing is understated, easy to read and tinged with subtle humour. 'MTW' details the lives of Carl Friedrich Gauss and Alexander von Humboldt, two brilliant but very different scientists. Both men are flawed, though often entirely unaware of their failings, and this lack of self-awareness generates much of the novel's humour. Gauss, depicted here as an aloof genius, and horrible to nearly everybody, hated travel and never left Germany. Most of his ground-breaking work was theoretical. Von Humboldt, spurred on by sibling rivalry, virtually circumnavigated the globe, measuring everything as he went. He was one of the world's pioneers of experimental rigour.

Kehlmann's prose has an a Teutonic efficiency to it, his tautly constructed sentences, rarely contain an unnecessary word, and the novel is devoid of embellishment. I think that it is this plain descriptive style that causes the novel to grate on some readers; everything feels very deliberate. For me though Kehlmann's prose cuts straight to the heart of his characters, stripping them bare, leaving little leeway for interpretation. Much like his character's scientific rigour, Khelmann is not one for ambiguity, which make Humboldt and Gauss seem rather icy and inhuman. This is balanced by the quality of Kehlmann's dialogue which is informative, expressive and at times very funny.

Above all 'Measuring the World' is novel about ideas, and the myriad ways in which people construct their own world view. It also meditates on the passing of time, and the melancholy of living out your the rest of your life, knowing that your best days are behind you. This book is not to everybody's taste, but if you have an interest in the history of science or like meandering in time's forgotten backwaters, then you will find much to enjoy in the pages of this mesmerising novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Measuring the World
Measuring the World by Daniel Kehlmann
£4.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews