Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self Publishing does Work
This review is from: Marius' Mules II: The Belgae (Kindle Edition)
Product Description
57BC. The fearsome Belgae have gathered a great army to oppose Rome, and Fronto and the legions assemble once more to take Caesar's war against the most dangerous tribes in the northern world.

While the legions battle the Celts in the fiercest war of Caesar's...
Published on 11 Jun 2011 by Parm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Please don't think this is a bad review
I don't like giving bad ratings to authors, I know how much hard work they have put in to it. This book, unfortunately for me, was just a good old school boy romp, lots of action with several spectacularly unlikely events, I just couldn't finish. I guess I was looking for a more historically accurate novels ,so by contrast with all the excitement but fantastically well...
Published 6 months ago by Bass Man


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self Publishing does Work, 11 Jun 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marius' Mules II: The Belgae (Kindle Edition)
This review is from: Marius' Mules II: The Belgae (Kindle Edition)
Product Description
57BC. The fearsome Belgae have gathered a great army to oppose Rome, and Fronto and the legions assemble once more to take Caesar's war against the most dangerous tribes in the northern world.

While the legions battle the Celts in the fiercest war of Caesar's career, the plots and conspiracies against him, both at Rome and among his own army, become ever deeper and more dangerous.

Review

This author keeps improving with every book, you would no longer know that this is a self published title, its well edited, well written, the characters have grown since the last book which is a must for any author.
The action flows across the page and across the country, My fav part being the light in which Caesar is portrayed, not the golden haired hero but a power hungry political animal, we have no idea what he really was as he wrote his own history and destroyed everyone else.
Its about time the big publishing houses sat up and took not of this author, but if they don't im sure he will happily keep rewarding the loyal Kindle audience with many more books of this quality and better.

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gert good read, 2 Jan 2012
just as good as the first book cant wait to read the third, Bernard Cornwall take note and don't turn the Saxon books into Sharp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 19 April 2011
By 
S. Glossop "sgg" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very good, if you like Iggulden and Scarrow you will like this. Perhaps a bit too blokey and a bit loose with history but as fiction very good indeed. Second book of his I have read, and I would definitely buy more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gaul, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules II: The Belgae (Kindle Edition)
A more enjoyable tale of the conquest of Gaul than Ceasars Gallic Wars studied for 'O' Level Latin over 56 years ago!
Characters aren't quite believable but it makes for light entertainment and all the more readable for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marius' Mules 'll: The Belgae, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules II: The Belgae (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely wonderful. The second book in this series has turned out to be just as good as the first.
Please do start with the first book in this series, as you will miss an awful lot of the history and of what has gone on.
Now, where is the third in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, Great Book, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of historical fiction but only found out about the Marius Mules series recently.
Finished the first book in two days then bought and rattled through the whole series in quick time.
Basically it follows one of Julius Caesar's Legion commanders (or Legate), Marcus Fronto, during the invasion of Gaul, each book taking one year of the campaign.
Marcus is a hard drinking soldiers' solider with little time for Politics which causes many clashes with not only Caesar but also some of the other commanders. He nevertheless is a masterful commander and doesn't mind getting his hands dirty to get the job done.
Well written and full of action, but also historically very informative.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marius" Mules II, 25 Sep 2013
This review is from: Marius' Mules II: The Belgae (Kindle Edition)
Excellent exciting read full of super characters enjoyed the historical aspects of the story which was suitably accurate, looking forward to book III.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marius' mules the Belgae, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules II: The Belgae (Kindle Edition)
An absolutely brilliantly written book , fascinating can't wait to start the next instalment of this series and what awaits fronto
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules II: The Belgae (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this as much as the other two books, good characters and plenty of action. I'm looking forward to the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant touches of humour, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. G. E. Wilkinson "Grayling" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules II: The Belgae (Kindle Edition)
Amongst the battles, intrigues and adventures I found myself often chuckling. It is a great way to counter the tension so expertly created by Mr Turney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab0bbb4c)

This product

Marius' Mules II: The Belgae
1.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews