Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important Read
I found answers in this book which I have long been searching for. It is not a book for the reductionist or rationalist who wants easily digestable answers to go with binary thinking patterns. In stead it is a book for those who are looking beyond the veil of rational thinking; those searching for the mostly difficult to digest answers to the archetypal meaning of their...
Published on 24 Sept. 2007 by Jean Erasmus

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing but not well argued
The premise of the book is intriguing, and Hancock has certainly digged out a mountain of references. Though most of his arguments consist of hand-waving, the book does leave one with the impression that there might be something to the author's point, even if it's just a fraction of what the author seems to imply. Overall, his argument is not well closed, and he leaves...
Published on 6 Jan. 2010 by Bernardo Kastrup


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this book, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an real eye opener, it questions how and when we became conscious and offers amazing insights into where humanity could be heading. It takes you into fantastic realms and Ideas that I didn't expect it to but glad it did, all the ideas and theories are thoroughly researched and really well written, some are even from personal experience which I found really insightful and interesting. I'd recommend this book to anyone with a open mind who is prepared to go on a epic journey that takes you from the dawn of history and then blasts you off into other dimensions to try and bring back some answers to some fundamental questions about the nature of reality itself. A truly brilliant read. Once you've read this book I'd really recommend reading Graham Hancock's first fiction novel 'Entangled' as it uses some of the ideas brought up in Supernatural but expertly weaves them into a mind blowing adventure story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 15 Mar. 2015
By 
Storch Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quality was disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Jun. 2015
By 
J. Nicholson "juannic" (Isle of Wight) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thought provoking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More long, strange trips, 19 May 2006
By 
Stephen A. Haines (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Science bashing is easy, particularly if you're a bully. Research over the past century has revealed an immensity of new information. The cosmos has expanded and retracted. Our planet's "skin" proved to be a dynamic surface with continents wandering about dodging and clashing. Humanity, once considered the "peak" of Nature's many living things, has proven to be another member of the animal kingdom. While all those areas of study have resolved many questions, they've raised many more. Journalists like Hancock need only select one of those remaining questions, formulate their own answer, then castigate "mainstream science" for not answering it to his satisfaction. It's a bullying tactic that he's used before. The sniping is boring and the dismissal of good researchers is insulting.

One of the last, and latest, areas being investigated is the human mind. What happens in that gob of porridge-like material in your skull. Is it truly a gateway to another universe? Hancock thinks so, but he follows a tortuous path in arriving at his conclusion. He opens with a physical trip into the Amazon region, and a mental journey prompted by a South American drug. Ayahuasca is a "shaman's drug" which evokes visions while purging the gastrointestinal system. People returning from the trip describe all manner of shapes, colours and creatures they encountered in their heads - or somewhere. Modern shamans apply the visions to many aspects of life, but "healing" and "rites of passage" are the major features [there's probably a fee schedule worked out]. Hancock tripped on ayahuasca with predictable results - including the purging. This isn't a pioneering venture - people like Wade Davis [among others] have made the trip on local ground. Hancock's derivation, however, is rather novel.

While we don't know when hallucinagenic drugs were first used to improve bedside manners, we have some indication of what hallucinations can evoke. The evidence is painted on the walls of caves in France and Spain, rockshelters in Africa and temples in the Western Hemisphere. Hancock introduces us to David Lewis-Williams, a South African palaeoanthropologist who devised the term "neuropsychological" to explain the condition cave artists experienced to produce those beautiful, fantastic images at Lascaux, Chauvet and elsewhere. Hancock accepts Lewis-Williams' thesis the cave art was inspired by images perceived by those in an "altered state of consciousness". Fair enough, says Hancock, who wants the scientist to go further. "Trip out with me!", he says in effect, "Otherwise your conclusions aren't valid". That's like saying if cancer researchers aren't infested with tumours we should scorn their results!

The reason Hancock wants scholars to ingest all those fancy chemicals is that he thinks they're missing something. What they're missing, he argues, is the gateway to another realm. About 2% of us, he contends, can do this without either chemical or physical stimulation. It's those people we should trust to guide us into the "spiritual world" since they don't need stimulation to visit this "outside". Those people, Hancock suggests, have a surplus of a chemical called "dimethyltriptamine" [DMT] in their brains. This tricky molecule turns out to be the gateway to the supernatural. To prove that, one of Hancock's more amenable researchers injected volunteers with DMT. They came back with tales of "the other side". Hancock weaves these studies with alien abduction tales and modern shaman's accounts to declare that the commonality of reactions across humanity says there's something there. Someplace, actually, and for Hancock it's the spirit realm. We can all get there if we try!

Hancock builds his case with style, enthusiasm and scope - sprinkled with a heavy dose of self-esteem. He cites numerous interviews, defends Lewis-Williams against his detractors, and shows us how easy it all is with accounts of his own jaunts into the supernatural. The interviewees seem pretty sympathetic with Hancock's thesis - or at least they don't object to it. Lewis-Williams is quite capable of defending himself. And Hancock's chemistry experiments only show that drugs play havoc with human neuronal nets. He might have learned this prior to his fearsome mental journeys if he'd spoken with some real neurobiologists. They could have explained about "sensory deprivation" and how the brain reacts to it. The information might have opened a few new doors for Hancock, while shutting down a few of his more bizarre speculations. Good writing style doesn't make up for shoddy thinking. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Graham Hancock's supernatural, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thought provoking an immense work.Needs more than one read.Graham creates another world as he enters the caves..of our ancestors .I found the research he has done in south Africa very interesting.Not a book to be undertaken lightly...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing..., 4 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't carry on until you have read this book? What do we know about history and spirituality - nothing !! Read this to have your eyes opened and your mind expanded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm very happy with my shopping!, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm satisfied with all these stuff specially the good prices compare in Italy, so hope to continue buying some more stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and Awesome, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It arrived very fast, brand new and it's an awesome book. It wasn't expensive. and I will definitely recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 91 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nonsense designed to sell books., 19 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
I am a paleoanthropologist. It is my job to research and to attempt to explain stone age rock art and engravings from Southern Africa.
And this book is awesomely, embarrassingly bad.
There are perfectly good explanations of southern African rock art to be found in thousands of pages of documented and finely-sifted ethnology, most of which accords with ethnology from South America and Australia. Graham Hancock, I see, has decided to substitute this easily available stuff with theories about, um... aliens.
Read David Lewis-Williams' 'The Mind in the Cave' or Neil Bennun's 'The Broken String' instead of this, because this truth is both much better written and even more amazing than this nonsense. \
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting account of a man on the journey, 25 April 2006
The "concept" of shamanistic thought or more "real"istically non thought has to be learnt by the majority of folk not being given the blessing naturally. A lot of folk havn't the function for objective being, so to experience this state, nature or the "world" closest to man, has given us a short cut to realize this state (albeit for a short period) and to gain knowledge from it, to maybe realize its true understanding.

Only when those unblessed have something tangible to use as a goal can the knowledge be understood, hence graham hancocks use of his shortcuts to taste the hidden depths of mans conciousness can only inspire him to become more spiritual, and this can be seen as he descibes each journey in this book.

The cave drawings act only as a subjective trigger to his realization, probably for which they were designed. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews