Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars126
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
on 29 December 2009
A fantastic book. I bought it mainly to increase my understanding of the Scottish wars of independence, but I found myself getting caught-up in the history of the Whole British Isles. Edward's reign was a turning point in British history and Marc Morris clearly describes how Edward first stamped his authority on an England that was running out of control and then turned his attention to neighbouring countries, culminating in the wars with Scotland. I particularly liked the sections on his subjugation of Wales, and his description of the break-down on cordial relations between Scotland and England. The book is informative as well as being very well written, and I recommend it to anyone interested in understanding the complex relationship between the different countries of the UK.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
on 6 February 2012
This must be one of the best history books that I have ever read. It is a real page-turner and a definite "one more chapter before lights out". I can open the book at any page and become engrossed in the story that is being told. It is written in a clear manner and one learns some very interesting facts. The preface explains the reasoning behind why the man is called Edward I and the confusion over who he was and this gets one into the mood for entering the main text. The first paragraph (in the preface) actually reads a bit like a Winnie-the-Pooh book, which I found amusing but then once you are settled down with a cup of tea and begin the story it is fairly hard to stop reading. And when you have finally finished the book you will want to turn to the first page and start it all over again. Superb.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
140 of 150 people found the following review helpful
on 18 November 2008
As a lover and student of late medieval and renaissance history, I was hoping that this book would give me a solid knowledge of the events and issues that were to become the foundation of 'Britain'.... and that's exactly what I found!

This is a great book for anyone that is interested in the history of Britain. I have read many 'history' books that assume the reader has an in-depth knowledge of the subject before they begin, but happily this is not the case. All of the events are explained in a full, interesting and (on the whole) entertaining way. As the book is written in a very personal style you really get the feeling of riding alongside Edward for all of his 68 years, however this is no way undermines the tremendous amount of work that has obviously gone into writing it.

Most of us know of Robert Bruce, William Wallace, Simon de Montfort and have heard about the 'confiscation' of the Stone of Scone, and the origins of the Prince of Wales title, but this book explains the 'whys', 'hows' and 'whens' that makes history real.

If I had one complaint, (and it's so small that the book still gets Five stars), it's that you get the feeling that Marc Morris is sometimes over-justifying Edwards decisions. Yes, the things he did were not always 'PC' but, and as Mr Morris does quantify at the end of the book, he was a bigotted king in a bigotted time.

That aside, this is a great book for the serious student, the history lover and anyone else that enjoys expanding their knowledge of such an important time in history.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 25 March 2013
If you're only knowledge of Edward I is based on Mel Gibson's bowel movement known as Braveheart, then Marc Morris's book will truly open your eyes to a man and period in history that has truly shaped the country we live in today. Far from Gibson's pantomime character, the real Longshanks was battle proven by his early twenties and would become known as a great negotiator and intermediary between European leaders. Morris's exploration of the Welsh campaigns and how these came about were of particular interest to me, being Welsh myself, so discovering the in-fighting between Llewellyn Ap Gryfedd and his brother Dafydd and the lasting impact that this has had on Welsh history was brilliant. Not only this but the polictical and social views of the time relating to all nations of Britain and how they viewed each other is put accross amazingly well. This is one of those books you really can't put down, which i don't say often, but Edward's legacy is still felt today and also visibly seen in the Welsh landscape. You don't need fiction when you've got this kind of material !! And lets hope Gibson stops making films soon.......
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
The perfect companion for all history enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKER Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

Morris successfully combines an historical academic approach with a more popular style that will hold the interest of most readers. There are over 50 pages of notes, which the actual text wears lightly and does not hinder the flow of the storytelling. Morris is retelling the story of Edward I using mostly secondary sources, but is somewhat successful in getting a feel for the character of the king and his medieval world. There are some novelish like touches particularly at the end of a chapter to whet the appetite of the reader, however there are not so many occasions where Morris resorts to phrases like: "he would have been", or "he may have thought". He keeps his text close to the historical sources.

The final chapter sums up the reign of Edward putting it into perspective and challenging some of the views of previous historians and biographers

I would certainly recommend this to anyone interested in medieval Britain and to the more casual reader as there is a good story in this very good biography
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 11 March 2014
It’s all too easy for biographers to overlook some kings in favour of others who are likely to sell more – Henry VIII or Elizabeth I are examples that jump to mind. That certainly seems to be the case for Edward I as this is the first traditional biography of him for a generation. However, Marc Morris proves that Edward’s story is just as interesting and engrossing – wars against the Welsh, Scots, on the continent and civil war within in his own country; the expulsion of the Jews; the sweeping reform of administration within the country. Morris’ biography is extremely readable and doesn’t get bogged down in the minutiae of small details. It keeps the pace constant, always with an analytical eye on Edward and the success of his reign. A great and terrible king? That sums him up quite well, in my opinion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 4 December 2009
This book is a fairly easy read given both the breadth and depth that it provides; in fact its quite hard to put down, which is not the most common feature of factual history. Given the biographical elements, as well as the consideration of relationships with Wales, France and Scotland, its an impressive overview of Edward's reign. The complexity of Edward's personality, from wild child to ruthless (distinctly Machiavellian) politician to pious pilgrim, all built on the foundation of a monumental ego, comes through clearly. My only qualification might be that the author is clearly an admirer of Edward I's, although he does admit as much and I can see how its hard not to be drawn in by such a character in the context of such events.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 25 April 2011
I picked this book up as a layman with a budding interest in medieval history, hoping for a reasonably comprehensive account of Edward I's life, and from my point of view this book duly delivers and I found it gripping and difficult to put down.

Lucidly written and with the occasional humorous anecdote, this book seems to Draw from many contemporary sources and you get a clear picture of the character of the man, his family and court, his motivations for his actions, and generally what it was like to be the king of England at that time.
There are also several maps and pictures which I found very useful, but all too often missing from books like this, highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Edward I does not enjoy a good reputation in the minds of many historians and most of those who enjoyed the movie, “Braveheart”. It would appear that, unlike many other English kings, he doesn’t enjoy the benefit of a contextual view of his life and times. This might be encouraged by the patriotic and hugely selective view that has made William Wallace become a virtual saint in Scotland. Without putting too blunt an end on the matter, Edward was a winner in imperialistic times and those he beat were his next door neighbours, the Scots, the Welsh and the French. His victory meant oppression and subjection of his neighbours delivered in a way that befitted a conquering king of his time. That does not rest well with the sympathies of a modern English culture that champions temperance, freedom and peaceful negotiation. However, for his time, Edward was considered a great king by his English subjects and yet it was a reputation hard-earned.
Marc Morris’s biography of Edward I was the first written in a long time. He explains in his introduction that he was aware that few mainstream English historians held Edward in high regard from a moral point of view. Edward’s reputation as a tyrant and invader come from actions that are no worse than two of England’s most lionized medieval monarchs, Richard I, who Edward sought emulate on his own crusades, and Henry V, who hero-worshipped Edward’s iron-fist example. Both Richard and Henry have their detractors. Richard goes through rapid periods of reappraisal, from the epitome of courage in the name of the Christian faith that won him the title “The Lionheart” to a treasury-squandering, neglectful King who spent hardly any time in his home country and didn’t even speak its language and then back to a more balanced view. Henry, whose main achievement in his short-reign, was to take half of France, has enjoyed centuries of high praise. However, Ian Mortimer’s excellently researched and reasoned argument in “1415: Henry V’s Year of Glory” casts the king as a merciless, religious zealot even for his own time. It would appear that Edward I has simply been neglected, left to be relegated to the role of arch-nemesis to Scotland’s 1990s tourist attraction, and England is quite content to leave him there whilst mainstream historians fend off Richard III supporters.

Nevertheless, Morris’s book not only aims to re-set the balance of Edward’s moral position in context, but also argues the huge relevance of his rule. This is shown in his subtitle, “The Forging of Britain”. The fact that there have been seven reigning Edwards in England since Edward I and he became an exemplar of a strong rule to many medieval monarchs to follow must count something towards the English ideals. Edward’s name is a significant point addressed by Morris. He was actually the fourth King Edward of England, but the first since the Norman Conquest of 1066. The time between Edward I’s reign and that of Edward the Confessor was so long that it made sense to those who simply wished to distinguish between Edward II, Edward I’s son, and his father. However, the name is still significant. It was idiosyncratic for its time, being Anglo-Saxon in origin, unlike the anglicized French/Norman names of William, Henry, Richard and John that preceded him. Morris explains that this is due to Edward’s father, Henry III’s veneration of Edward the Confessor.
As we all know, Edward would not come to emulate his peaceful namesake. He was also a very different man from his father and the two even briefly opposed one another before Edward supported his father and earned a fearsome reputation in his merciless final battle against the rebellious Simon de Montefort. If there was any forging going on, much of it was of Edward’s own doing. Morris demonstrates, with one symbolic act taken by Edward in his second and decisive quashing of the Welsh rebellion, the King wished to imply a lineal connection with the great Arthur. Whilst addressing the interment and transportation of the fictitious grave of King Arthur under Edward’s orders, Morris takes his own decisive action. He compels all serious historians to admit what many have remained ambiguous about in their discussions of pre-Anglo-Saxon Britain that there never was a King Arthur. It’s a bold step, but given the sheer lack of reliable contemporary evidence there is of Arthur – even his actual historical placement is a matter of contention – I think Morris has a valid point and, at the very least, the burden of proof needs to be shifted in mainstream history.

Morris’s discussions on Arthur do not take up a lot of room, but provide an interesting insight into Anglo/Welsh ideologies from Edward’s rule onwards. In the first instance, Edward supplants a Christ-like figure from Celtic mythology. Arthur is described as the “once and future king” by many. The prophesy being that he will return from Avalon to save Britain in direst hour. By transferring the bones to England’s seat of power was an act of absorbing the spirit of Arthur into Edward’s persona. Secondly, the main campaigns that defined Edward’s reign saw a brief period where England’s king ruled all of Britain. This “unification” is comparable to one of the distinguishing features of King Arthur’s legend. It is telling that the Arthurian legends became a part of Britain’s national identity and were celebrated as much in England as they were in Wales after Edward’s symbolic action.
Context is a vital tool for the modern historian. It is easy to lose sight of the medieval world by looking at it through modern eyes and assuming a universal set of moral standards. It is easy to look back on England’s continued attacks on the French as a greedy lust of conquest and power during the middle ages. However, one mustn’t forget the strong attachment the Norman kings had to their homeland. Morris’s book reminds us of the odd dual roles a king like Edward had to play in international politics. As far as his own country was concerned, he was the absolute monarch and equal to any other king in the world. However, when it came to governing his troubled homeland in Normandy he was a duke under the King of France. Furthermore, as a Christian king, he was subjugated to the Catholic Church in Rome. All of this had a huge bearing on the way Edward operated. Edward’s reclamation of Normandy seems to be far more about defending England than it was to re-secure the homeland of his forefathers or as part of the aggressive expansionist policy that we associate with his reign. It is important to note that English shores were attacked by the French after they had taken Normandy and such unprovoked actions were a clear indication of what France intended to do after driving the English out of their own country.

The Crusades, which seem like such a total waste of scarce English resources and by far the least successful aspects of Edward’s time on the throne, were a product of their time. The Catholic Church demanded the Holy Land be won back to Christendom and this was a real pressure to any sovereign in Western Europe. To the medieval thinker, fighting in the Crusades was perhaps one of the most important things God’s appointed monarch could do for his country and mankind. On a spiritual level, the threat of actual damnation and the events of Judgement Day were a strong reality. On a political level, no European country wanted to be on the wrong side of the Church. Edward I died some 62 years before the birth of Jan Hus, which gives us an indication of how much he and his subjects would be influenced by the idea of the Pope’s absolute power over their souls.
However, although Morris’s conclusion is that Edward was one of the better medieval monarchs in history and a “great” king by the standards of his people and many generations afterwards, he does not mitigate the other sides of his personality. He was an unruly youth and before he became king had switched political persuasions between the various nobles several times. His good reputation was not built upon a spotless record when he came to power. During his reign he worked hard to remove his “Leopard” title, which implied a sneaky and even treacherous reputation, and came from him leaving ahead of his troops early in his career. In an act that his own father compared to the rebellion of Henry II’s sons, Edward once sided with Simon de Montford.

Nevertheless, Edward did not stay on de Montfort’s side for long and we can see the first signs of the merciless domination that would earn him his fearsome reputation in his final battle with the usurper. It is a battle where Edward instructed his troops to disregard all codes of chivalry and results in a wholesale slaughter, concluding with the savage and humiliating mutilation of Montfort’s corpse. It is often argued throughout the book that all natives of England’s neighbouring countries were regarded by the English to be different grades of barbarian. Edward regarded the Scottish crown to be subordinate to the English one despite this not officially being the case and the Scottish people to have not come on much since the days of Emperor Hadrian’s occupation of Britain. The Welsh were considered beneath them, only being granted a principality status and then even losing that following Edward’s second crushing of their rebellion. The Irish, who Edward never visited, are viewed as even lower with their people less subjected than being corralled away from the occupying English. However, the example he showed in the ultimate putting down of Montford’s men foreshadows his attitude settling matters.
“The Hammer of the Scots” earned his title following Edward I’s political manoeuvrings when Scotland’s line of ascension was threatened by several rival claimants. Originally brought in to play an arbitrational role, Edward took full advantage of the desperate situation and sought to install his own puppet ruler. Matters are not so completely clear-cut that we can cast Edwards as a straightforward villainous expansionist, as this sort of politicking was rife throughout the world at the time, however, it would result in a relentless dispute with the Scots that would long outlast Edward’s lifetime. He may have inflicted massive defeats upon Scotland, but he would never get the same type of result he got with the Welsh and the legacy he left his woefully inept son would see one of Scotland’s greatest victories against the English.

I read the book at a time when Scotland was voting on whether or not it wished to be independent of Westminster. A tight result showed that it did wish to continue to be part of the existing union. I wrote this review some time later just prior to the 2015 General Election, where an overwhelming dominance in Scotland by the Scottish National Party showed that the fight was far from over. We live in age where travel and the internet has presented us with a far larger world than what Edward I knew existed and yet we often get the impression that we all have been brought closer together. However, many recent incidents show just how tribal and divisive human beings continue to be in their inter-dependent activity. Edward I's attempted absorption into the icon of King Arthur was rather apt. Arthur famously united Britain, which was the driving policy behind alot of Edward's ambitions. Today we can see the reality of this over-simplified view of society.
Morris’s work never feels like a fawning apologist argument for Edward. Just as he goes to pains in explaining why Edward was and should be considered a great king of his day, he does not spare us the atrocities committed on Edward’s orders. One of these was his persecution of Jewish people, leading to a virtual genocide. The clear objective for what Morris tells us was the single largest mass execution of Jews in Britain was completely money orientated.

“A Great and Terrible King: Edward I and the Forging of Britain” is the best historical book I have read since Ian Mortimer’s “1415: Henry V’s Year of Glory”. It sets a balance dictated by facts and reason, and ranks as one of the clearest examples of understanding contextual history.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 2 April 2014
A hugely informative and entertaining read on one of the more controversial English kings, I can't recommend this enough. As someone who normally opts for historical fiction I was a bit wary that this might be a dry, historical account but that fear was thankfully dispelled after the first page. The book is very accessible and provides excellent background to the atmosphere of England (and Europe) that Edward walked into after inheriting the throne. I've always had an interest in great historical figures and this book drives home how much one person's ambitions can shape and change countries futures that has implications into the present day. A fantastic read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

The Norman Conquest
The Norman Conquest by Marc Morris

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.