Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing environmental crime novel, first in series
Open Season is the first of a longish series (10 or so) of books about Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett. Open Season was first published in the US in 2001 but it, and the whole of the series so far, is being published in the UK this year (2011) by Corvus - one title a month, apparently.
Because Open Season was available for £1 for a Kindle download as part of Amazon's...
Published on 27 Jan 2011 by Maxine Clarke

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quick read
I had just finished 'The Book Thief' The Book Thief and needed something light to read. 'Open Season' provided that. I've seen lots of praise for CJ Box and the Joe Pickett series and since this is the first in the series, no better place to start. There are another 10 or more to follow.

Joe Pickett is the game warden in Twelve Sleep, Wyoming. He has the...
Published 11 months ago by Noel


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing environmental crime novel, first in series, 27 Jan 2011
By 
Maxine Clarke "Maxine of Petrona" (Kingston upon Thames, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Season (Joe Pickett 1) (Joe Pickett series) (Kindle Edition)
Open Season is the first of a longish series (10 or so) of books about Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett. Open Season was first published in the US in 2001 but it, and the whole of the series so far, is being published in the UK this year (2011) by Corvus - one title a month, apparently.
Because Open Season was available for £1 for a Kindle download as part of Amazon's UK 12 books of Christmas promotion, I decided to give it a go. Although I was not particularly interested in reading about a game warden, I'd enjoyed the previous two standalones by C J Box that I'd read, Three Weeks to Say Goodbye and Blue Heaven, both also published in the UK by Corvus. And, I'm pleased to report, Open Season is very much up to standard.
The two main things going for the novel are the character and situation of Joe Pickett and his family; and the author's evident love for the countryside of Wyoming and its natural wildlife. To take the first theme first, Joe is a keen, dedicated young ranger, relatively recently qualified and with a pregnant wife and two young daughters. His first job is to look after the region around the small town of Twelve Sleep, which involves checking that hunters are not shooting animals at the wrong time of year, or too many of them, or with the wrong guns, etc. He earns only $26,000 a year, which is not enough for his family to live on, but he loves his job and spends far more than his allotted hours out in the woods and mountains. This leads on to the second theme, in which the author conveys his deep love for the area - he's sympathetic with all views, and provides a telling account of the upsides and downsides of the conservationists as well as the hunters and those who need to make a living off the land, really drawing the reader in to his passions.
The plot of the novel is kick-started when one of the local good ole boys, who has previously bested Joe in an encounter over a hunting permit, is found dead by the woodpile in the yard of Joe's house. The sheriff (whose been in post since the year dot) and his men pursue the investigation without involving Joe, much to the younger man's chagrin as he feels personally involved by the threat to his family (the incident has given one of his daughters nightmares, and indeed the girl may have seen something of what happened). Soon, the sheriff has to include Joe whether he likes it or not, because someone has to trek to a remote camp site to follow a lead. Joe and his ex-colleague Wincey, now ranger of the neighbouring area, undertake this task, which comes to a shocking end when they arrive at the camp.
The novel is fast-paced, although it is not too difficult to work out what is in Joe's woodpile, or why vested interests are trying to prevent the truth from coming out. Who is representing those interests is the "mystery" of the novel, though there aren't enough candidates or subplots to make it a surprise when the villain(s) emerge(s). The characters in Joe's family, particularly his mother-in-law from hell, lift this book well above the average, not least in the appealing nature of the upstanding Joe himself. My main reservation about the book is the same as the one I have about the other two novels I've read by this author - too much violence towards the end, this time involving a child and a pregnant woman, which I find unedifying especially when spun out beyond a necessary length.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - Will buy the series eventually, 20 July 2011
This review is from: Open Season (Joe Pickett 1) (Joe Pickett series) (Kindle Edition)
I like a couple of other reviewers picked this up during the "12 DAYS OF KINDLE" offer for £[] over the Christmas period along with "Blue Heaven" by the same auther but only got round to reading them, no idea why I left it so long as it was a cracking story and a new author for me. I will definately be looking to read the rest of the books in this series by this author. Highly recommend others read this book and this author for that matter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it, 4 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Season (Joe Pickett 1) (Joe Pickett series) (Kindle Edition)
Never read anything from this author before, but Amazon recommended this book so I gave it a whirl. I enjoyed it thoroughly, though did have to suspend belief a bit at times. But that's no bad thing. It was definitely a page turner and I look forward to spending some more time with Joe Pickett in the future. If you want an easy read give this book a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new series from Wyoming, 23 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Open Season (Hardcover)
Fine new mystery series continue to erupt out of the American West faster than even Tony Hillerman can write gushing jacket blurbs for them. C.J. Box might never have actually been a game warden like his debuting hero Joe Pickett, but as a former ranch hand, surveyor, fishing guide, newspaper reporter and coordinator of tourism he certainly knows the Wyoming territory Joe covers. "He patrolled a tract to the west of Saddlestring, a huge, nearly treeless expanse that stretched from the river to the foothills of the Bighorns," Box tells us. "It was deceptive, complicated country, and he had always liked it..." Pickett is deceptive and complicated himself, a struggling young husband and father who combines eagerness and ambition, strength and fragility into an interesting, original package. He lets a deer poacher disarm him on his first day on the job, and never quite lives down the shame -- especially when the same loudmouthed poacher winds up dead in Pickett's own backyard. Joe then agonizes over an obviously corrupt job offer from his mentor and former boss for so long that when he finally accepts it, he's the only one surprised that the old crook no longer needs him. The same softness of judgement surrounds Pickett's friendship with a flashy fellow warden, and this lapse threatens the safety of Joe's serious and touching daughter, Sheridan -- especially when she makes an amazing enviromental discovery that could very well have both George W. Bush and Steven Speilberg knocking on her door...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spine tingling and heart warming, 25 Feb 2011
This review is from: Open Season (Paperback)
The first in a series of crime novels featuring game warden, Joe Pickett, and set in the remote, forested Twelve Sleep County in Wyoming. Pickett is a character who grows on the reader: he's no slick and savvy hard man but a family guy trying to do his job well and live an honest life. He can't even handle a gun very well. When a poacher who Joe has previously caught illegally shooting deer, turns up dead in Joe's backyard, he realises that there is a something dodgy going on in the forests he patrols. He begins to uncover a secret that people will go to any lengths to keep hidden. With the viewpoint switching at times to Joe's seven-year-old daughter, Sheridan, who is closely involved in events, this is a fresh take on the detective story with a strong Western flavour and fascinating subject matter. Spine tingling and heart warming.

TW Reviewer Cath Staincliffe author of the popular Sal Kilkenny mysteries and the series creator of TV Blue Murder)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 April 2011
By 
J. R. Weston "pegasus" (plymouth u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open Season (Joe Pickett 1) (Joe Pickett series) (Kindle Edition)
Having just finished and enjoyed Blue Heaven by this author i decided to try Open Season and im really glad i did as he has produced another great story. This is the first in the Joe Picket series and i know there are a lot more which are slowly being released in this country. Hes already well known in the States. Ive downloaded Savage Run and Winterkill and im hoping that the rest of the series becomes available too. C.J.Box has quickly become one of my favourite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good first novel, 2 Oct 2011
This review is from: Open Season (Paperback)
Enjoyed this first novel by the guy from Colorado. Will be following up on his next ones very soon there is a long list gradually becoming available in UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing story, 23 Jun 2014
By 
Stephanie (Thatcham Berkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Season (Joe Pickett 1) (Joe Pickett series) (Kindle Edition)
This was my first Joe Pickett story and I was intent on starting at the beginning with him. I now want to read more but wonder where the next stories will take me. The setting of this novel is very different - and the way the hero's child is such an important part of it makes the whole thing a more tense and like-able adventure. I recommend it for good drawing of characters, for excellent scene descriptions and scene-setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quick read, 14 Dec 2013
By 
Noel (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Season (Paperback)
I had just finished 'The Book Thief' The Book Thief and needed something light to read. 'Open Season' provided that. I've seen lots of praise for CJ Box and the Joe Pickett series and since this is the first in the series, no better place to start. There are another 10 or more to follow.

Joe Pickett is the game warden in Twelve Sleep, Wyoming. He has the perfect blond wife and two cute little kids (girls) with a third on the way. He is tall, handsome, yet vulnerable and most importantly incorruptible. They all live in a his 'tied-house' with its white picket fence on the edge of the mountain forest. Yet the pay is poor and they live on the edge of poverty. They are also outsiders from the community in which they live. The game warden is there to enforce the hunting laws which does make him the most popular man in town particularly when he is incorruptible.

When a redneck hunter is found shot dead on Joe's woodpile the scene is set for Joe to come into conflict with more sinister powers. I have a vivid image of Wyoming's small town society and mountain trails after reading this book. The hunting theme is interesting and new to me, the horse trails and hunting camps etc. There is a lot of exciting action and more than enough corpses.

I felt however that the key to the plot was given away too soon. It was pretty obvious who was behind the mayhem and why from very early in the book, the only mystery left was what damage would be done before they were brought to account.

The pace of the book is good. I read it in two days and it certainly met my target of being something light, a good holiday read. I will try the next in the series Savage Runto see if he can keep the secret a bit longer to increase the mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Satire and Irony Burdened with More Than the Usual Amount of Blood in Your Face, 19 Oct 2012
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Open Season (Joe Pickett 1) (Joe Pickett series) (Kindle Edition)
"Whoever sheds man's blood,
By man his blood shall be shed;" -- Genesis 9:6 (NKJV)

There's no doubt that Open Season is an unusually strong debut novel for a mystery series. Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett and his family provide lots of interesting reading. C.J. Box has equal fun with environmentalists and those who oppose them.

His humor is more tinged in blood than Carl Hiaasen's satirical adventures with Florida's animals. If you are sensitive to the violence in books, this one might be a bit over the top for you. I don't usually mind some gratuitous violence, but my light mood was burst in several places by unusually dark moments.

See what you think! This book is well worth a close look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews