Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Reboot
I'll start by saying the only Pokemon games I have completed, are Red, Blue and Yellow, and I played those on a Gameboy Pocket. That was a good decade or so ago, so I can't, and won't, compare these new instalments to anything more recent than Crystal (which I never finished). With that said, let's get rolling...

In short, I'm dead impressed with Black. The...
Published on 5 Mar 2011 by Jenesis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fake copies suck..
I loved the game, but sadly i was sold a fake which i didn't realise until much later. 1/5
Published 1 month ago by Leah


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Reboot, 5 Mar 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokmon Black Version (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I'll start by saying the only Pokemon games I have completed, are Red, Blue and Yellow, and I played those on a Gameboy Pocket. That was a good decade or so ago, so I can't, and won't, compare these new instalments to anything more recent than Crystal (which I never finished). With that said, let's get rolling...

In short, I'm dead impressed with Black. The idea seems to have been a reboot of the games and an attempt to bring back fans of the old games who have now grown up. If that was indeed the case then it worked on me! The basic mechanics of the game haven't changed, you still get your Grass/Fire/Water starter choice, you still slowly trudge between towns battling Gym leaders and you still fight a lot of eager trainers along the way who apparently spend their lives in one spot just waiting for you to pass so you can battle them.

However, there are a number of upgrades from the original game, like Pokemon being able to hold items - I understand this was an addition in one of the later generations for GBA - which is useful (i.e. Pokemon can heal themselves, cure Sleep themselves etc), and also things like multi-Pokemon battles, where the other team may have two or even three Pokemon, and the first two or three of your team come out all at once. This is a nice nod to the traditional JRPG with turn-based combat for multiple party members and makes for interesting fights. Another nice touch is that you only see the new Pokemon until you finish the main story. This means that rather than panicking "What's this Pidove thing, can I find a Pidgey instead?!" you're left with no choice but to read the Pokedex entries, look at the move descriptions and basically learn how to play the game all over again. Speaking as someone who's coming back to the series after 10 years, that's a fantastic idea.

When starting the game, you pick a Male or Female character - again, I understand this was a choice added in the later games, but it's nice to see here - and are introduced to your childhood friends. In an interesting twist to the usual "this other kid is your rival and he picked the Pokemon strong against yours" rigmarole, the other kids are your friends (although you still have to battle them). The boy takes the Pokemon strong against yours, the girl takes the one that's weak, so at least you know you're going to beat ONE of them. You encounter them occasionally along your trip. Also, the Pokemon Prof isn't Oak anymore, it's a lady called Juniper. Hooray, a female Professor! The game starts off as standard from there, with you wandering around pretty linear paths catching Pokemon.

It's a great feeling to get into a battle and genuinely not know what you're going to see. The music starts, the screen slides across (the new battle graphics are great by the way; the Pokemon sprites are animated) and you come face to face with... what's that? What type is it? I must catch it! It really brings back the excitement from all those years ago. Not a Rattata in sight.

I've seen some other reviews that criticise how "simple" the game is. It hasn't got a Pokegear, there's no Pokemon breeding, etc etc. What I will say is: That's PERFECT. This game is to bring people back to the series who got sick of all the breeding and move tutoring and phone calls from Mum all the time, and just goes back to the basics: You and your Pokemon against the world.

Speaking as a fan of the original, vanilla games: it can't get much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back To The Good Old Days ! ***Slight Spoilers***, 6 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokmon Black Version (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Pokemon Black and White are typical of their predecessors. You begin your journey within the quiet tranquillity of Nuvema Town and soon enough in Pokemon style you and your protagonist disturb the peace by having your first battles with your two friends Cheren and Bianca. The pair soon become your rivals throughout the rest of the game, which is a slightly different approach as previous iterations of Pokemon games feature only one rival. But before the battle you must choose a Pokemon and, as per usual, you are given the choice of three. There is the grass snake Pokemon Snivy, the fire pig Pokemon Tepig or the sea otter Pokemon Oshawott. I started with a Tepig simply because it looked cool. Bianca will choose the Pokemon that will be weakest against your chosen type; Cheren will choose the Pokemon that is strongest against your type, but despite type advantages you should have no problem beating your friends.

Pokemon Black and White Gameplay. Soon after the battle with Cheren and Bianca you're sent to the local Pokemon Professor's Lab to thank her for the Pokemon she gave you. Professor Juniper happens to be the first female Professor of the Pokemon franchise, make of that what you will. At the lab she will task you and your friends with the very important job of traversing Unova and cataloging every Pokemon. You are also advised to collect all the Gym Badges of Unova. There are 8 to collect with each Gym specialising in a specific type so it is advisable to train a variety of types for your Pokemon Party. Once all 8 badges are yours you continue on to the Elite Four and the Champion of the Pokemon League, defeat them and you can claim the title of Pokemon Master. Your travels around Unova are not unhindered however; there is always a troublesome team to make your life difficult. Team Plasma are a villainous team whose goal is to free Pokemon from the humans of Unova. Like Team Rocket of old, who I miss dearly, Team Plasma and their wicked antics will pop up throughout the main story.

There are a few differences between the two games one being two different areas. As suggested by the name, Pokemon Black plays host to Black City and features many characters and tasks that do not appear in the other game. Black City's population changes with time, leading to the alteration of its appearance. When you visit the city for the first time the population is determined by the number of days it took you to reach it. In addition to the visual changes, the city's market will sell items to the player at inflated prices, dependent on which Trainers are in the city. The items are rare, with most being either evolutionary stones or valuable items. At maximum population, Black City is a sprawling metropolis with many large buildings and skyscrapers. With a smaller population there are fewer buildings that are smaller in size. To juxtapose Black, Pokemon White houses White Forest. Unlike Black City, White Forest has a variety of wild Pokémon as well as characters and tasks that are not available in Pokemon Black. Just like Black City however, the appearance of White Forest is reliant on the number of people currently liPokemon Black and White Reviewving there. When you first enter the forest the total number of residents is, again, determined by the number of days it took you to reach it. In addition to visual changes, some wild Pokémon will only appear with a certain resident. When White Forest is full it contains large trees, several water surfaces and many patches of tall grass, all there being filled with Pokemon to aid you with your Pokedex. At times when there are few people in the forest the trees are smaller, there are fewer or no water surfaces and patches of tall grass are sparse. As to be expected with two different Pokemon games of the same generation, there are also several Pokemon that are exclusive to each version.

Probably one of the most interesting differences is the presence of two new battle types. They come in the form of Rotation Battles, my personal favourite, and Triple Battles. Triple Battles are simple, if you can imagine the Double Battles from some of the previous games and simply add two more Pokemon onto the screen you've got a Triple Battle. A Rotation Battle on the other hand is a little bit more complicated, but not too much. Essentially you have three Pokemon each on the field placed on a turn table. You may switch between those Pokemon at any time without losing a turn; some very interesting can be developed during these battles. If Triple Battles tickle your fancy you'll want Pokemon White, if you're after Rotation Battles you'll want Pokemon Black.

To summarise, Pokemon Black and White are two very solid and enjoyable games. Their graphical boost is welcomed and it is clear that Game Freak have pulled out all the stops. They provide Pokemon Black and White with some impressive, but arguable unnecessary, 3D aspects. The main example of this comes in the form of Castelia City. Game Freak included new graphics on the Pokemon themselves too. This may mean little to some but I was very impressed by the fact that the Pokemon now look asleep when they fall victim to Hypnosis, etc. They now even have their individual animations during battle. They are of a calibre to satisfy the oldest of Pokemon fans and to attract a new gamers to the pokemon franchise, all in all, very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To be brief..., 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokmon Black Version (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I've been playing since Red, Blue and Yellow, having had all three games and used them to complete the 'Dex because I could.

I did though stop at Sapphire and Ruby because it had become very similar by that point, and a change was needed to the formula for me to really get back into the games.

Black, and by extension X, have both done this for me, but the changes in Black give the games a breath of fresh air that I found myself wanting, and because of this I bought X and am now playing it so I can carry on playing, and loving it.

Thank you, Game Freak, for those changes which were wanted, and well thought-out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gotta catch them all, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokmon Black Version (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
bought for the bf who loves pokemon and it went down a treat as expected, good quality as always, recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pokemon black, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokmon Black Version (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Yet another first class ds game. The price was competitive and the delivery time excellent. It'she type of game that keeps children entertained and doesn't seem to get boring. Malb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokmon Black Version (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
It's does everything it's should do and it is a enjoyable game I would recommend it to the appropriate age group
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good gameplay, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokmon Black Version (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Works with Nintendo DS first generation. Good gameplay. It elevates the previous gameplay experience of pokemon, to the next level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my son says, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokmon Black Version (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Brought for my son who is well into Pomona. He says it is brilliant, but then again he maybe a bit bias, but has kept him out of my hair. It is Pomona so it is the same as the rest of these games. Go out catch pokmon etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its really good, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokmon Black Version (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Never got it till now, but the game is really good and I have to admit that I wish I got it sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pokmon black, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokmon Black Version (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
the pokmon black was just the present we were looking for great present for our grandson would recommend to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pokmon Black Version (Nintendo DS)
Pokmon Black Version (Nintendo DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
12.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews