Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50's delight
It says clearly on the cover that this is a tribute to Les Paul, so obviously the content would be 50's style. Why some people gave it a bad review because they were expecting jazz/rock is beyond me. This is an exhuberant and brash celebration of 50's music with great guests.
Published on 18 April 2011 by Mr. Leslie Creighton

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good
People are charged money for this!. Jeff Beck wants to look at himself in the mirror.
Published 2 months ago by doc


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Album In Years, 13 Aug. 2012
By 
B. Griffiths (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock 'N' Roll Party (Honoring Les Paul) (Audio CD)
Playing this album with so many fantastic artists who perform
with Jeff Beck it is a pleasure to the ears to hear once again
such wonderful music from these great artists on this album.
To all of you who liked rock n roll and blues in the 50s will
just adore to listen to the profesional standard given by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One Happy Daddy!, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock 'N' Roll Party (Honoring Les Paul) (Audio CD)
I bought this for my Dad for Father's Day and he was overjoyed. It really didn't matter that I'd spent less than £10 as he was so thrilled and couldn't wait to listen to two guitar legends working together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Tribute Jeff, 9 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Rock 'N' Roll Party (Honoring Les Paul) (Audio CD)
Les Paul was a pioneer in the development of the solid-body electric guitar laying the foundation that the sound of rock and roll was built on; he perfected the first muli-track recording machine which is so crucial to the genre. It is true that much of Les Paul's music was popular, radio/jukebox friendly jazz and country tinged music but to split hairs over how much of a Rock 'n' Roll album this is just seems a bit petty. A key pointer, if you still need one, is that Jeff Beck is leading this tribute because he cites Les Paul as a key influence in his career; that makes it a rock and roll album for me.

I have never been overly concerned with genres and take pleasure in all kinds of music if it is good for what it is. I was a bit wary of Jeff becks last outing Emotion & Commotion with it's string ensemble and instrumental Nessum Dorma, but it is actually rather brilliant. This album is another example of Jeff's real quality and commitment to the music; it doesn't matter what the style so long as it is played and sung with passion and integrity; these are present on this album in abundance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great tracks great artists all at the top of their ..., 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock 'N' Roll Party (Honoring Les Paul) (Audio CD)
Well .... great tracks great artists all at the top of their game ... The Peter Gunn track is ........ no words
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Success !, 17 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock 'N' Roll Party (Honoring Les Paul) (Audio CD)
Jeff Beck joined by Imelda May with Darren Higham and their band, what's not to like? Listen to this and you are definitely at a 50's party. Never one to be pigeon holed, Beck scores again with an excellent tribute to Les Paul that also salutes other classics of the 50's. With impressive guests like Gary US Bonds, Brian Setzer and Trombone Shorty - you are in for a treat. 27 tracks of pure genius: Cruisin', Vaya Con Dios, Mockin' Bird Hill, Peter Gunn, Rockin' is Our Business, Apache to name just a few. Loved this so much, I purchased the DVD as well. Took delivery of both CD and DVD in time stated and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the survivors, 14 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Rock 'N' Roll Party (Honoring Les Paul) (Audio CD)
Always interesting to note how many 60s survivors carried on making music.In the Yardbirds for instance Jeff Beck was just a member and had 2 hit singles Hi Ho Silver Lining and Love Is Blue.
After which I just thought of Jeff Beck as just another rock star who did sessions for other people.
I heard this playing in HMV and it grabbed me straight away as the usual music played in store is todays boring rock.What I heard was a heap of cover versions which got my attention and checking the CD I noted Gary U S Bonds was on it so there was a plus factor straight away.
The whole project was as a tribute to Les Paul and Mary Ford with the latter's song done by new Irish singer Imelda May.Its very well done and Jeff Beck is the only one who could have done it.
Must be better than coming on as yet another singer songwriter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, 5 April 2011
This review is from: Rock 'N' Roll Party (Honoring Les Paul) (Audio CD)
great album, not what i expected but not let down. There is nothing more to add from the other reviews. Buy and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beck very versatile and original, 17 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock 'N' Roll Party (Honoring Les Paul) (Audio CD)
I like this CD, especially the Les Paul style playing, the period style vocals and the new looks at Apache and Sleepwalk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Sept. 2014
By 
Golfer T (Northern England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock 'N' Roll Party (Honoring Les Paul) (Audio CD)
Legendary musician and great collaborations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music to make your feet tap, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw it on the Telly. Great artists and sound. Jeff Beck is a great guitar player and Imelda May a great singer..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock 'N' Roll Party (Honoring Les Paul)
Rock 'N' Roll Party (Honoring Les Paul) by Jeff Beck (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews