Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag
Amazingly Hot Chocolate released no albums until 1974, so this collection does not represent a complete chronology of the band's releases. A string of hit singles were released between 1970 and 1973 featuring classic tracks such as `Love is life', `I believe (in love)', `You'll always be a friend', `Brother Louie' and the original recording of `You could have been a...
Published on 25 Feb. 2011 by S. C. Trump

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I actually thought I was buying a Box Set of ...
I actually thought I was buying a Box Set of 8 CD's - Wrong, It's just a 2 Disc Set with a Picture of an 8 Disc Set on the Front Cover! Haha, OK you got me !
Published 6 months ago by Mike Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag, 25 Feb. 2011
By 
S. C. Trump "stevect" (Upminster, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Chocolate: Box Selection, Their 8 RAK Albums 1974-1983 (Audio CD)
Amazingly Hot Chocolate released no albums until 1974, so this collection does not represent a complete chronology of the band's releases. A string of hit singles were released between 1970 and 1973 featuring classic tracks such as `Love is life', `I believe (in love)', `You'll always be a friend', `Brother Louie' and the original recording of `You could have been a Lady'. All of these and their associated B sides can be found on the `As, Bs and rarities' compilation. Incidentally not all later singles featured on albums either, so we sadly don't get `No doubt about it' and `I'll put you together again'.

Albums kicked off in 1974 with the release of `Cicero Park' which featured the classic Hot Chocolate sound until winding up in 1983 with the very 80s sounding `Love Shot' which was hardly recognisable as the same band save for Errol's distinctive voice. Of these original eight releases only four charted in the UK and none penetrated the top20, whereas the compilations were huge sellers. Here's my batting order of the eight albums included in this set (all released on RAK Records and all produced by the late Mickie Most).

1. Cicero Park (DNC) - The first album and for me the very best. Right from the opening notes of the opening title track we're treated to the distinctive Hot Chocolate sound of beautifully arranged strings arranged by John Cameron (throughout all subsequent tracks until replaced by synthesisers in the late 70s). The album is packed with memorable tracks including the perennial `Emma' (surely the best Hot Chocolate track ever?). `Changing World' is a wonderful ballad with great guitar licks from Harvey Hinsley. The song is mistakenly listed in the booklet as being an unreleased single - it was released, and it's edited and it's quite easy to purchase on the internet. `Disco Queen' another hit single with wicked guitar bursts and finally a big and brassy sound on `Funky Rock n' Roll'.

2. Hot Chocolate (no. 34)- The eponymous second album features a number of hits and classic album tracks. Listen again to `You sexy thing' and marvel at those strings subtlety arranged and inserted by John Cameron (and never mind the 80s remix!). `A Child's Prayer' is another wonderful single well known and again, string-laden. More obscure album tracks like the brooding `The Street' , `Dollar Sign' (about the lure of money) and `A warm smile' (a track penned by band members other than Errol Brown & Tony Wilson) where Harvey Hinsley is given room to stretch out his guitar playing in an extended instrumental break are high quality.

3. Man to Man (no 32) - The third album (you get the picture?). The title track should have been a big hit but stalled just outside the top 10. A classic lyric from Errol and some quietly spoken lines plus those long held chords. Other big hits adorn this album in the bassy ` Don't stop it now', `Heaven is in the back seat of my Cadillac' and the re-recorded version of `You could have been a lady'. Highlights less well known are the album closer `Seventeen years of age' and `Sex appeal'.

4. Every 1's a winner (no 30) - The fourth album. Wonderful riff on the extended version of the title track needs no introduction here - you've all heard it, but it does benefit from the longer cut here rather than the shorter single version. `So you win again' was the band's only chart topper and was penned by the prolific Russ Ballard. Another great sounding guitar and string arrangement that you never get tired of hearing. `Put your love in me' is five minutes of bliss with a very mysterious instrumental track. Other less known highlights are `Confetti Day' and `Sometimes it hurts to be a friend'.

5. Class (DNC) - Album number six. By now we're into the 80s and this is not as classy as the previous four by any stretch. There are however some memorable tracks; `Are you getting enough of what makes you happy' has an intro and guitar riff to die for. Fantastic sound. `Losing you' is Russ Ballard's `So you win again part 2' released as a single which amazingly failed to chart. A creditable cover of `Walking on the moon' finds the Hot Chocolate sound in tune with this sparse Police track and Errol's voice well suited. `Children of Spaceman' is quite unlike anything else; tucked away as a B side it's a great track. Finally `Love me to sleep' is a moving ballad.

6. Mystery (no 24) - We're well into the 80s at the time of this release and it's a patchy album apart from `Girl crazy' which is acceptable pop, `Chances' a nice ballad and the best two tracks on the album' It started with a kiss' and (surprisingly) another longer version of `Are you getting enough happiness'. Elsewhere `Emotion explosion' is quite awful and sounds like Earth, Wind and Fire and `You'll never be so wrong' (written by Ricky and Kim Wilde) is one of the worst single releases by the band.

7. Love Shot (DNC) - 1983 and getting worse. Few redeeming tracks are on here. `I'm sorry' co-written by label mate Adrian Gurvitz and `I gave you my heart (didn't I)'. Otherwise it's really not my cup of tea at all.

8. Going through the motions (DNC) - Errol Brown has admitted to having writers block around the time of this release (1979). The album features eight monotonous tracks. A near nine minute version of `Mindless Boogie' is just too much to bear. The title track is only partially saved by it being the last HC track with John Cameron's string arrangements. The album really is what it says though, and I won't be playing it very much!

Finally, the package itself. Excellent value for money although the eight page booklet included is very sparse and features some typos and mistakes. There are some notes included, but they amount to two sentences on the back of the CD! EMI could have given us a much more detailed booklet with full size photos of the album sleeves perhaps. The running orders from the albums have had to be slightly re-jigged in places for timing reasons e.g. `'Dollar sign' from `Hot Chocolate' is put out of sequence at the start of disc 2 before `Man to man' begins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The full (album) monty, 2 Nov. 2011
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Chocolate: Box Selection, Their 8 RAK Albums 1974-1983 (Audio CD)
Hot Chocolate's albums are not so much underrated as completely ignored. This isn't surprising given that they were on Mickie Most's RAK label where the Holy Grail was the hit single. With their foremost labelmates being Mud, Suzi Quatro, Smokie and Kenny, it's a fair bet that RAK never released anything seriously regarded as a classic. In HC's case, it's a shame as their output shows they were capable of music of some depth. From 1969, when they had a brief association with Apple, until 1974, however, they only released singles. As with many artists, this collection of their eight albums reveals a band shifting gradually from an intense, studious approach to the so-called pop sell-out.

The first three albums featured have that aforementioned depth, during a period when they augmented many of their tracks with strings which added an epic, atmospheric quality to their music. Songs with a conscience sit alongside love songs that are hot, no milk or sugar. 'Every 1's A Winner' is the album on which they made an obvious switch toward commercial appeal, and contains their no. 1 hit, 'So You Win Again', a song I've never liked. The title track, however, and 'Put Your Love In Me' show that they could combine the best of the old with chart appeal.

After this, they seemed to lose their way a little. 'Going Through The Motions' is in that much reviled musical style, disco pop. HC were actually pretty good at it; a surprising number of the tracks in this collection show a flair for melody alongside the dance grooves. 'Class' is worse and somewhat bizarre, containing horror versions of Police and Elvis Costello standards, while 'Brand New Christmas' isn't what you might think. It's a throwback to their earlier stuff, the message being that we need a new Jesus, while the track is in two distinct styles.

The last two albums are straight pop, the unfeasibly tight production dating them to the early 1980s. They probably won't appeal to longstanding fans, but I didn't take an interest in HC until I heard their 'greatest hits' album around this time and 'Mystery' was the first of their original albums I heard. For me, they're enjoyable on their own terms, but as Errol Brown commented at around that time, the soul of the band had long disappeared.

The two hit collections are still worthwhile even if you buy this. Although it contains a lot of singles, the band continued to release non-album singles during this period, in addition to their pre-'Cicero Park' output. Overall, I think this is a satisfying collection, and very good value for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 70's magic - it'll put you together again!, 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Chocolate: Box Selection, Their 8 RAK Albums 1974-1983 (Audio CD)
I think this collection is well worth the expenditure. I really liked the first four albums best; they have a distinct American feel to them and I can sense a lot of influence from the likes of Curtis Mayfield - which is alright by me. I found the last four very much of their time in terms of a lot of drum machine type sounds and some of the tracks were a bit long and slightly tiresome.Having said that lets have three cheers for Micky Most R.I.P. who did some fantastic work with these chaps and was astute enough to get them to abreviate their name from The Hot Chocolate Band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hotchocolate box set, 12 April 2011
This review is from: Hot Chocolate: Box Selection, Their 8 RAK Albums 1974-1983 (Audio CD)
first time i have ever bought albums by the group apart from there greatist hits.there are a few jems in this box set well pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest, so underrated, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Chocolate: Box Selection, Their 8 RAK Albums 1974-1983 (Audio CD)
Hot Chocolate are the most underappreciated of all UK bands....funk, guitars, strings, social comment, weepy ballads, the whole of human life is there. Errol Brown is one of our finest songwriters and singers. Better than The Beatles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I actually thought I was buying a Box Set of ..., 20 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Hot Chocolate: Box Selection, Their 8 RAK Albums 1974-1983 (Audio CD)
I actually thought I was buying a Box Set of 8 CD's - Wrong, It's just a 2 Disc Set with a Picture of an 8 Disc Set on the Front Cover! Haha, OK you got me !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All remastered these 8albums sound better than ever., 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Chocolate: Box Selection, Their 8 RAK Albums 1974-1983 (Audio CD)
Well worth the money, you get all 8 albums fully remastered and they still sound amazingly fresh after so many years. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Disappointed, 2 Feb. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Chocolate: Box Selection, Their 8 RAK Albums 1974-1983 (Audio CD)
Just received my box selection of Hot Chocolate Albums. Disappointed that the selection comes in a box showing all 8 cd seperate. Received this and find that it is a 4 disc set with 2 albums on each cd in a CD case for 4 cd's. Although I have strived to get all Hot Chocolate CD's over the years as I had all their Albums. Not as memorable as it could have been, then again I should have realised it from the price. All I can say is at least I have their albums. Maybe Amazon could update the description and photo to show exactly what you are getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A***** service would highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hotchoc, 18 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Chocolate: Box Selection, Their 8 RAK Albums 1974-1983 (Audio CD)
Not boxed like it was shown in the advert but otherwise good quality.need to send goods as advertised to get five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews