Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars opportunity not to be missed!
This has been a quest on my part to find a copy of "Hang Up Your Brightest Colours" , which had been banned by ITV when produced in 1973. I was so pleased to see this available through this two DVD collection, which includes this and a complementary film on the then living participants in the Easter Rising, and the Irish Civil War. The only fault is that the age of the...
Published on 27 July 2011 by Ritchie F

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, if a bit of a stiff presentation.
If you're interested in Irish history, this has a place in your collection. Presentation is a bit stiff, and the story isn't comprehensively told.
Published on 16 Mar 2011 by BP Worrall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars opportunity not to be missed!, 27 July 2011
This review is from: Michael Collins and the Easter Rising [DVD] (DVD)
This has been a quest on my part to find a copy of "Hang Up Your Brightest Colours" , which had been banned by ITV when produced in 1973. I was so pleased to see this available through this two DVD collection, which includes this and a complementary film on the then living participants in the Easter Rising, and the Irish Civil War. The only fault is that the age of the original film makes the DVD a bit grainy in picture quality. It is a tribute to the late Kenneth Griffith's style of first person documentary, acting the character as part of the story telling. Mainly for history buffs, but a real insight into the wit and story telling style of Kenneth Griffith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent product, 30 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Collins and the Easter Rising [DVD] (DVD)
The two-disc on the rise of Michael Collins was worth waiting for. The documentary presenter was so-so but the contents were first-class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, if a bit of a stiff presentation., 16 Mar 2011
By 
BP Worrall (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Collins and the Easter Rising [DVD] (DVD)
If you're interested in Irish history, this has a place in your collection. Presentation is a bit stiff, and the story isn't comprehensively told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easter Rising, 29 April 2014
By 
Dcw Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Collins and the Easter Rising [DVD] (DVD)
Michael Collins, a true Irish giant amongst men. I enjoyed this DVD very much, this is certainly one to get if you interested in Irish history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hang Up Your Brightest Colours or sometimes known as Michael Collins and the Easter Rising [DVD], 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Collins and the Easter Rising [DVD] (DVD)
Hang Up Your Brightest Colours!
Michael Collins and the Easter Rising [DVD]
Kenneth Griffith
Sold by ErinsMusic&Media on Amazon

I got this film today as a 2 disc set & the quality is great as is the film! This film shows the Irish side of their Fight For Freedom of British Rule!

Hang Up Your Brightest Colours is a 1973 film by Welsh actor and filmmaker Kenneth Griffith, about the life and death of Irish Republican leader Michael Collins. It was directed by Antony Thomas.Although usually classed as a documentary, the film more closely resembles a dramatic monologue, with Griffith frequently delivering quotes by key figures such as David Lloyd George, Winston Churchill, and Collins himself in character.The film was commissioned by media mogul Lew Grade for transmission by ATV, the ITV region covering the Midlands he controlled at the time. Grade had, in fact, offered to fund whatever subject Griffith wanted to make, but when he viewed the finished film, he refused to show it. In his memoirs, Griffith claimed that Grade was unofficially instructed not to offer the film to the IBA for network transmission, so that the Association would not have to reject it and therefore could be accused of political censorship Griffith took legal action, received an out-of-court settlement and built his home - Michael Collins House - in Islington with the proceeds.The film has been described as, "finest of all (of Griffith's) drama-docs," and, "more courageous and incendiary than the later Neil Jordan movie. It was first broadcast on BBC One in Wales only in 1993, and networked across the United Kingdom by BBC Two the following year.
One of a kind' Welshman and friend of Ireland!
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Michael Collins and the Easter Rising, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Collins and the Easter Rising [DVD] (DVD)
I understand people being passionate about their subject but Kenneth Griffiths, who I appreciate as an actor, spoilt it a bit for me by his delivery. It was at a constant high volume thereby losing the effect of dynamics. That aside I enjoyed the history and footage. Michael Collins was a charismatic figure and I am determined to read more about him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easter Rising review, 10 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Michael Collins and the Easter Rising [DVD] (DVD)
As a student of 20th Century history,with Anglo Irish parentage, I can see why Kenneth Griffith's film was considered to be controversial when it first came out, back in the 1970s. He does lay the message on with a shovel doesn't he?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Collins and the Easter Rising [DVD] (DVD)
Looks like it may be good haven't watched it brought this for a Christmas present for a colleague it was well packaged and arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Michael Collns and the Easter Rising, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Collins and the Easter Rising [DVD] (DVD)
When I purchased this DVD I was looking forward to getting some unbiased Historical facts and interesting information. What I got was a biased propagandist view of the troubles in Ireland and the 'cause' of them.
I do have many Irish friends in the Republic of Ireland and have been there several times. I love the country and the people. I have steeped myself in the Irish history, finding it both very interesting but sorrowful at the same time.
This 'documentary' did not do anything to enlighten me at all (at all)...
I was very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars briar, 10 Aug 2011
This review is from: Michael Collins and the Easter Rising [DVD] (DVD)
The Easter Rising was one of the worst of many fiascos in Irish History. It was perpetrated by liars, deceivers, and inadequates, who in turn gave free rein to Psychopaths and delinquents to wreck havoc on the south of Ireland and return her to medievalism for a century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Michael Collins and the Easter Rising [DVD]
Michael Collins and the Easter Rising [DVD] by Kenneth Griffith (DVD - 2011)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews