Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AIG IS A BIG COMPANY
The financial crisis has made a splash in the film industry, ironically capitalizing on the failure of unregulated capitalism. There is also "Margin Call" and Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps." I couldn't help think about the LIBOR scandal that is on the horizon as this film mentions the major players and Barclays.

This film goes behind the scenes to show the...
Published 14 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy it; don't waste your money & time
there's James Woods in there; I always thought he's great but this particular film is one of the lowest points of his career;
I'm not criticising James Woods' performance - the whole film feels cheap & fake, so even James Woods cannot save it;
it's from H.B.O. (HomeBoxOffice) - I guess I will never buy anything from them again;
if you hope to learn...
Published 10 months ago by Eryk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AIG IS A BIG COMPANY, 24 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Too Big to Fail [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The financial crisis has made a splash in the film industry, ironically capitalizing on the failure of unregulated capitalism. There is also "Margin Call" and Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps." I couldn't help think about the LIBOR scandal that is on the horizon as this film mentions the major players and Barclays.

This film goes behind the scenes to show the phone calls and board rooms as the drama unfolds. The all-star cast gave us a credible performance. The characters are introduced by displaying their name and company affiliation on the screen. I wish they had used some flashier fonts and maybe some grindhouse swagger music as they walked in to talk to Treasury Secretary Henry Paulson (William Hurt) who is sometimes seen having breakfast with Fed Chair Ben Bernake played by Paul Giamatti.

Michele Davis (Cynthia Nixon) has to give a press conference and asks how to explain why AIG failed. At this point the movie comes together in one scene which explains the whole crisis in layman's terms and why mommies and kitties will die if AIG goes under...okay maybe not the last part, Ben Bernake does that later.

Billy Crudup plays Timothy Geithner the head of the NY Federal Reserve. His ideas and influence were instrumental in buying time for congress to act.

In looking toward Europe, they is a newer and scarier phrase: "Too big to save." This is a great film. I would also recommend the CNBC documentary "House of Cards."

PARENTAL GUIDE: No sex, no nudity, many F-bombs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Clear Doc-Drama (Region Free Bluray), 6 Mar 2013
By 
J. K. Walters "vampyre71" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As per most things on HBO this is another very good Doc-Drama with a fine cast.

It doesnt talk down to you and is easy to follow, unlike some news reports of the subject!

Best of all the imported Bluray is Region Free and plays fine in a UK locked PS3 (despite it being shown as Region A only on the slip case) and comes with the region 1 format dvd as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Too big to fail" - The Wall Street Shuffle, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
HBO's "Too big to Fail" takes the drama of our times the virtual collapse of the banking system and dissects it with pace and real verve. The film is based around the efforts of US Treasury Secretary Hank Paulson and a team of "Government Sachs" financiers plus Tim Geithner (Billy Crudrup), who is now Obama's Treasury Secretary, to deal with the massive crash of the sub prime mortgage market, the poison of derivatives/ credit swaps and a level of greed that was always going to end in tears. Paulson and his agonies through this period are brilliantly captured by William Hurt playing the former CEO of Goldman Sachs and man appointed by the hapless President Bush to steer a course through the carnage as the failures pile up. The action revolves around the unfolding crisis and the subsequent decisions to save Bear Stearns and Fannie May/Freddie Mac, let Lehman Brothers go to the wall and then almost the same day see the US Treasury step in to save the insurance giant AIG because "it was too big to fail". The portrait of the Lehmans collapse is fascinating. It's president Dick Fuld "the Gorilla of Wall Street" is played by the excellent James Woods who captures the level of hubris that Fuld exhibited and his failure to cash in on offers to take over the bank as the price of shares relentlessly headed southward (Fuld presided over a 90% stock drop in a year). Paulson tried to secure a deal with Barclays but ruefully reflects at one point "that the British never close". The film shows a subsequent phone call to the then Chancellor Alistair Darling where to the latter's credit he turned down any deal not least with the fears that even more bad debt contagion be brought into the UK system. We also see a another great performance from Paul Giamatti as the stone faced economist and historian of the Great Depression, Ben Bernanke the chair of the Federal Reserve and a man who is able to draw lessons from the 30s Great Depression and apply stark comparisons with the events of 2008.

The film shows the development of the strategy of "cash injections" into the banks while the first approach applied by Paulson and his financial "wunderkids" of buying the toxic mortgages known as "trash for cash" collapses. It shows quite how close the whole system came to falling over and imploding. Equally how on the weekend of September 15th 2008 the giant Lehman Brothers filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection. The filing remains the largest bankruptcy filing in U.S. history, with Lehman holding over $600 billion in "assets". Whilst the initial response to the Lehman's collapse sees a positive reaction the whole thing quickly goes pear shaped as the Lehmans toxicity reverberates, infects the economy and the system freezes. The drama then moves to Congress and the political shenanigans around the the $800 billion bailout package which was eventually agreed although it may still be too early to tell whether the system has properly stabilised. "Too big to fail" is a fascinating business drama from the high quality HBO stable who seem incapable of producing bad programmes. It has a tight script, is finely paced and the stellar cast who completely inhabit the allotted roles given to them. This includes television legend Edward Asner playing the financial legend Warren Buffet the worlds richest man who had gravely warned before the crisis of the crass use of derivatives as "weapons of financial mass destruction". The film is interspersed by real footage of news report from the time and the statements of politicians like Ronald Reagan and Bill Clinton on the need for regulation to be "light touch" . Honestly you would laugh if it was not so serious. Those who vividly remember the outbreak of this crisis will also remember the rash of banker jokes that swirled around the internet for example "Bankers are people that help you with problems you would not have had without them". Yet as the time has rolled on from 2008 it is the latter who are laughing all the way back to the bank and indeed as this film showed from the outset it was the people who created the mess who were the ones that were paid most to sought it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy Ending, 28 Dec 2012
This review is from: Too Big to Fail [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I love a great business drama in book or film format. 'Barbarians at the Gate' was great fun. 'Too Big to Fail' is along the same lines with William Hurt playing, what sounds by many accounts, a very fictionalised version of US Treasury Secretary, Henry Paulson. Well, we weren't there so we will never know. But the basic premise is that in 2008 Paulson saves the banks, the US economy and the world by wheeling and dealing his way eventually to a banking bail out. Willima Hurt is great as the hero and James Woods does a fun Dick Fulds, raging as Lehman's goes down. Sparky dialogue, and probably somewhere near the truth in as much as it captures the selfishness and incompetence of bankers and financial institutes. Nobody seems to have a clue. The script surely gets that right.

One small point: the script blames the British for not blindly agreeing to Barclays buying Lehman's toxic assets first time around without some investigation into what exactly they were buying. 'We don't want to import your cancer' says some snotty-voiced Brit on the phone, as if that was somehow an unreasonable propostion!

The implication that the near collapse of the American property market and economy was somehow down to British unhelpfulness aside, this is an enjoyable story, well directed by Curtis Hanson. Happy endings all round. The banks, apart from Lehman, survive, the bankers keep getting their bonuses, the middle class and poor pay for it all! Perfect! (oops - hope I didn't give too much of the story away.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy it; don't waste your money & time, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
there's James Woods in there; I always thought he's great but this particular film is one of the lowest points of his career;
I'm not criticising James Woods' performance - the whole film feels cheap & fake, so even James Woods cannot save it;
it's from H.B.O. (HomeBoxOffice) - I guess I will never buy anything from them again;
if you hope to learn something from this film - forget about it;
I have encountered a couple of good, informative, finance-related works, which I recommend, for example:
"Inside job" - the film directed by Charles Ferguson, (2010, Sony Pictures Classics),
"An introduction to international capital markets" 2nd edition, 2009, by Andrew M. Chisholm, (Wiley Finance)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I cannot watch this DVD in Switzerland neither on TV nor on the computer, it is decoded. What can I do to solve this problem?, 19 May 2013
By 
Lanz Ursula (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Big to Fail [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
You should have told me that in certain countries it is not possible to watch this film. Can you help me, it is not the Problem that the film is not good, we cannot watch it.

Best wishes
Ursula
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Too Big to Fail [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
8.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews