Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good
Very funny even after all this time. Comedy like this does not exist any more and you should make the most of this one.
Published on 12 April 2011 by Super Sy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Seventies Comedy at its best
Funny a bit dated though but it was popular at the time some classic events .Michael Craward and Michele Doltrice brilliant then
Published 8 months ago by Gordon Alexander


‹ Previous | 18 9 1013 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've Had a bit of Trouble!, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em - Series 1-3 + Christmas Specials [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
But not with this Box Set!
I remember sitting in my grandmother's house as a child, watching Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em and laughing at all the calamities Frank Spencer got himself into. Now twenty-odd years later,I showed a couple of episodes to my Egyptian wife and she thought it was hilarious, so I bought her this set for Christmas.
I recently read somewhere that Norman Wisdom was offered the role of Frank put turned it down because he thought it was too rude. "Rude?" I thought. I have no memories of rudeness when I watched it as a child! Watching it now as an adult however, the innuendos and euphemisms come thick and fast; however, the writing is done so well that it does not lower the tone of the program and can still be watched by the whole family.
This set contains the complete three series, running into a total of 19 episodes plus the three Christmas specials. As a child I loved the episode 'George's House' in series one,in which Frank manages to destroy his brother-in-law's high-tech house, but now this episode seems a bit flat and dated, however, 'Have a break, take a husband' in the same series is timeless and an example of British comedy at its best. Other noteworthy episodes are 'The Public Relations Course' and 'Frank and Marvin' in series two. Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Crawford, 19 Nov 2014
By 
E. Lindsay (berwickshire scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em - Series 1-3 + Christmas Specials [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Bought for a Christmas present but it was well packed and had a speedy delivery and I am sure it will enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cuts, WHY ??, 11 Feb 2011
This review is from: Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em - Series 1-3 + Christmas Specials [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Barbar Bhatti who played the neigbour Mr Singh, when Frank Spencer falls in the Tar in series 3 - Moving House has been removed - Why, I just don't get why the BBC are being racist in removing him because of the colour of his skin, unless anyone else has a resonable reason for his removal ?? :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em - Series 1-3 + Christmas Specials [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Watched the originals and age doesn't stop them being funny. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some Mothers Do 'Ave' Em., 22 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em - Series 1-3 + Christmas Specials [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Great programmes on tv and on dvd.So happy I could get it on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and innocent., 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em - Series 1-3 + Christmas Specials [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
A great trip down memory lane! He is still just so funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em - Series 1-3 + Christmas Specials [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
My Daughter loves this old TV series, and so do I really
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em - Series 1-3 + Christmas Specials [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Truly quality comedy gives you last and lots of laughs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 26 May 2013
This review is from: Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em - Series 1-3 + Christmas Specials [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
I bought this for my mum and dad as it was a big family favourite when I was young. The set contains all the famous episodes and many others that they remember seeing first time round but haven't been over repeated on TV. Long story short, they love it. My mum also likes the design of the box with Frank's raincoat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for nostalgia, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em - Series 1-3 + Christmas Specials [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Even though I was born after these were originally made in the mid seventies, I remember watching the repeats on TV as a child and always laughing out loud at Frank Spencer. These are fond memories and this set is worth having for that reason.

However my memories are possibly a little rose tinted, the comedy here is basic and predictable, there are some innuendos here and there which are amusing. Overall though in our current day and age this doesn't really entertain like it did "back then". It's not particularly witty or clever, though hats off to Michael Crawford for performing all of his own stunts!

This will always be a 'classic' and can be appreciated by those who see it for what it is, just don't buy this if you have never seen it expecting to be entertained for hours splitting your sides with laughter. It's good for reliving fond memories of childhood or the 70's if you we're there, but that's about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 1013 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em - Series 1-3 + Christmas Specials [DVD] [1973]
£10.70
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews