Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable...
Having split up with her partner Alice can no longer afford the home they once shared so puts it up for sale. While it is being shown at
an open house David hides in the basement and later that night takes Alice prisoner. He and his girlfriend Lila move into the house and set about picking off Alice's friends and neighbours one by one.
The film doesn't really...
Published on 2 Dec 2012 by Rebecca Thompson

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but could have done with a better script
I got this as a Trica Helfer fan and she is good in it. But the film is let down by the script which lacks meat. There is too much circling around and not enough getting stuck in. It ends too quickly and never gets its teeth into the central characters. I suspect if this had been done by a European director it would have been better.
Published on 20 May 2011 by katyn1940


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but could have done with a better script, 20 May 2011
This review is from: Open House [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
I got this as a Trica Helfer fan and she is good in it. But the film is let down by the script which lacks meat. There is too much circling around and not enough getting stuck in. It ends too quickly and never gets its teeth into the central characters. I suspect if this had been done by a European director it would have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IT'S PERFECT. IT'S HOME, 28 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Open House [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
Josh (Stephen Moyer) and Alice (Rachel Blanchard) are getting a divorce. They opt to sell their home on their own during a buyer's market. Alice lives in the house. David does not. Alice gets the feeling someone is in her house. This was a well shot good creepy scene with the proper music. You could sense her anxiety as she calls around for her girlfriend. Unfortunately it doesn't last and the next thing we know Alice is a prisoner in her own home...during open house. David (Brian Geraghty) is our clean cut intruder who looks like a prospective buyer. Based on early events and conversations, things are a bit strange as a mystery develops. Who are these people? What do they want? Why this house and couple?

Bad girl Tricia Helfer as Lila provides the token eye candy. Brian Geraghty has got that Anthony Perkins creep working for him.

F-bombs, no nudity, dry humping, women kissing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful!, 22 April 2014
This review is from: Open House (Amazon Instant Video)
The only reason I started to watch this film is because of Stephen Moyer and Anna Paquin, however, they only appear in the first 10 minutes and then they are gone. The rest of the movie is B rate actors with Z rate writing! Don't even bother pressing play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars open house, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open House [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
was not quite as good as i thought, although i enjoyed mothers day! you recommended this film as i had ordered mothers day from you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Open House, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open House [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
It arrived well ahead of time well packaged and I was pleased with the service I would recommend them. The film itself I found repetitive and it falls into the category you will either love or hate it. It is a good idea but in places it is unclear as to what the relationship is between the two killers. The male killer's relationship with his victim works well but the rest falls apart rather like a skeleton without joints. Any watch it for yourself my uncle found it ok but I found it lacked an interesting pyschological identity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Brian geraghty, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open House [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
And he doesn't disappoint. Also larry Sullivan is in it too and I like him. Ok so it's not great but the ending was nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly captivating, questionable ending though, 16 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Open House [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
It's rather entertaining. It starts off very down-to-earth then quickly reveals its true colours to devastating effect. The casting is very small, a good choice for the feel of the film. The violence in this is striking. The female of this murderous couple enjoys goading and seducing unlikely characters then completely going sick on them with her partner. It is quite harsh.

However, the male of the couple has just an ounce of conscience which unsettles things quite a bit between them. It's the ending that surprised me most about this. I've never seen such an unjust, unsatisfying ending to a film. But at the same time the 'rebellious of hollywood' side of me says 'good call'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable..., 2 Dec 2012
By 
Rebecca Thompson (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open House [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
Having split up with her partner Alice can no longer afford the home they once shared so puts it up for sale. While it is being shown at
an open house David hides in the basement and later that night takes Alice prisoner. He and his girlfriend Lila move into the house and set about picking off Alice's friends and neighbours one by one.
The film doesn't really have a fantastic plot and the ending leaves you with unanswered questions but despite all this I did like it.
If you are buying this because you like Stephen Moyer or Anna Paquin be warned their appearance in the film is very brief and although the coverstates it stars them it is misleading. Anna is in the film for less than two minutes.
Overall not a bad film at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open House [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
Not too bad trailer looks pretty good but it does show all the best bits so kinda showed what happens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work for me, 16 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. T. Solley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open House [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
Typical run of the mill slasher flick with few thrills.

Almost found myself falling asleep at times as you knew what was coming.

Avoid, unless like me, you managed to pick up for under £3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Open House [DVD] (2010)
Open House [DVD] (2010) by Andrew Paquin (DVD - 2011)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews