Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, enjoyable, perfect!
The team of Cecil Parker and John Mills go together again, for this classic. Rich and vibrant colours, beautiful settings and scenery, innocence, music and a cheerful ending! I'm sighing as I write this!

When Mr Frome (Cecil Parker) takes over as headmaster of an up-market school, he is determined to stamp his mark on it and ensure discipline prevails. However,...
Published on 9 Mar 2011 by Filmbuff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia doesn't make for reliable reviews!
I appreciate that many people miss their schooldays (I'm not one of them) but there have to be better reasons for persuading people to buy this film. Personally, I wouldn't have it in my top 200 British films. It has a silly plot about a school orchestra threatened by a tyrannical headmaster (excellently played by Cecil Parker). The music teacher is John Mills (who's...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by Thomas Holt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, enjoyable, perfect!, 9 Mar 2011
By 
Filmbuff "filmbuff1382" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: It's Great To Be Young [DVD] (DVD)
The team of Cecil Parker and John Mills go together again, for this classic. Rich and vibrant colours, beautiful settings and scenery, innocence, music and a cheerful ending! I'm sighing as I write this!

When Mr Frome (Cecil Parker) takes over as headmaster of an up-market school, he is determined to stamp his mark on it and ensure discipline prevails. However, in his "bah humbug" and brusque manner, he forgets that the children are human and that school isn't just about work; it is also a time of enjoyment and learning new skills.

Mr Dingle (John Mills) is the carefree history teacher, with a passion for music as well as teaching. He appears somewhat absentminded when it comes to musical things and his pupils know it. That said, he isn't averse to giving "lines" to those unruly enough to try to take advantage of his good nature. His passion for music is shared by the pupils and they have the beginnings of a fine orchestra.

However, Mr Frome can see only History, English, Maths and "core" subjects; music is fun and fun is not what school is all about. Naturally, they clash and, in particular, when the orchestra tries "busking" to make some money to fund the purchase of new instruments, the local newspaper's article is less than flattering. Mr Frome is, of course, extremely angry and challenges his "star" teacher.

Dingle, despite it all, buys new instruments out of his own pocket (which he doesn't tell the headmaster about) and, in order to help pay for them, takes up playing the piano at a local public house. Naturally, when one of his more steadfast colleagues finds out, Mr Dingle is told (like one of his pupils) to report to Mr Frome immediately! Unfortunately, he is forced to resign and it is this that prompts "civil disobedience" from his loyal pupils.

Will Mr Dingle win the day? Will music triumph over humbugs? Will Mr Frome possibly see sense? Why not pay a visit to the school and find out!!

A collection of musical numbers (both jazz and classical), the pure innocence of youth and the good old British spirit, combine to make this an absolute must see, even if just to take one into a by-gone age, when children were children and teachers weren't prosecuted for taking their "Brandy Balls" (sweets) away from them, in class!

John Mills' piano playing is a masterpiece (I wonder whether it was actually he who played or whether it was his name-sake "Mrs Mills"?)

From the first time I saw this gem, I had to have it in my collection and am both delighted and proud to say that I have it and watch it with a soppy grin on my face, throughout!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Great to be Young DVD, 23 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Great To Be Young [DVD] (DVD)
I remember seeing this film quite a long time ago now and it has certainly lived up to expectations seeing it again. There is some very good music in it and it is well worth purchasing. I am very happy I decided to buy it.
I was glad to purchase it via Amazon because I couldn't find it in any of the places I looked for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grammar school beckons, 15 Jun 2012
By 
David Blake (Basingstoke, Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Great To Be Young [DVD] (DVD)
I have always loved this movie. I saw it in the cinema in the summer holiday before starting at grammar school, and I looked on it as advance notice of what life would be like in a few weeks time.

Nothing like the reality, of course. But it's still good fun, with engaging performances from all the cast.

I don't think it ignored rock'n'roll because jazz was considered safer (as someone else suggests). I just think the decision-makers didn't see rock'n'roll coming when they were setting the production up. The same thing seems to have happened to "It's a Wonderful World" - made at the same time - and full of kids finger-popping to Ted Heath and Dennis Lotis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Great To Be Young [DVD] (DVD)
it was brilliant to be able to get this film I remember watching it years ago & loved it, it's a good story no bad language etc a family film good fun I'm so glad that I managed to get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The old ones were the best., 5 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Great To Be Young [DVD] (DVD)
One of John Mills best and schools as they used to be.....a great classic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN excellent film. Brought back many happy, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Great To Be Young [DVD] (DVD)
AN excellent film. Brought back many happy memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Film review, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Great To Be Young [DVD] (DVD)
A good old film, why do old films cost so much, only older people buy them, we should get a reduction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lively blast from the past., 11 May 2014
By 
Charles Hall (Hadleigh, Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Great To Be Young [DVD] (DVD)
Still very enjoyable. Humphrey Littleton was at his peak in those days. It's a pity that Winifred Attwell was not mentioned in the credits dubbing piano for John Mills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good entertaining stuff., 27 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. C. L. Newcombe (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Great To Be Young [DVD] (DVD)
When their music teacher, John Mills, is forced to resign his students decide to take direct action to get him reinstated. Cecil Parker plays the head master who manages to miss every chance to put things right. Made back in the days when education was not optional this film shows school life much as I remember it, school uniforms, discipline with a good thrashing for misdemeanours. It has some well performed musical numbers and a good story to go with them. Ideal for all the family on a rainy afternoon or to entertain the kids at half term.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia doesn't make for reliable reviews!, 6 Mar 2012
This review is from: It's Great To Be Young [DVD] (DVD)
I appreciate that many people miss their schooldays (I'm not one of them) but there have to be better reasons for persuading people to buy this film. Personally, I wouldn't have it in my top 200 British films. It has a silly plot about a school orchestra threatened by a tyrannical headmaster (excellently played by Cecil Parker). The music teacher is John Mills (who's career never fulfilled the promise of the 1930's and 40's) in a typically wooden performance. Generally, the kids are excellent actors but give totally unbelievable performances as musicians - they're just too good! Rather than an orchestra, they're really a swing band occasionally playing what passed for jazz in mid-50's Britain. Actually, this film came out in 1956, and I was at school then. As I remember it, girls in the UK were chanting about Bill Haley, Elvis Presley, and Tommy Steele - Britain was starting to rock! They would have considered the music played in this movie really cheesy and old-fashioned - which just about sums up the film. I suspect the early success of this film was down to respectable parents trying to show their kids what good wholesome music was like. Just as parents tried to do when big-band and jitter-bugging was taking off in the late 30's and early '40s - with equal lack of success!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's Great To Be Young [DVD]
It's Great To Be Young [DVD] by Cyril Frankel (DVD - 2011)
11.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews