Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars9
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2011
An absolute classic of a film with two great stars of their day Arthur Askey and Sid James. It was entertaining all the way through. Sid and Arthur complimented each other very well with an excellent supported role by Bernard Cribbins. A must for fans of the old Black and White Comedys, just pure entertainment all the way...
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2012
As a keen follower of Arthur Askeys output, it is fair to say I was likely to enjoy this movie. However, I think more relevent I would consider this a film that would appeal to others. The opening credits take you back to the period of 50-60s comedy films. It features many other well known comedians/actors, be it cameo roles, or minor parts. An above average Arthur Askey film.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Altogether delightful. One of comedian Arthur Askey's better performances. The rest of the cast were splendid as well. Definitely recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
Star Arthur Askey is not everyones cup of tea - in fact I despise his TV guest spots as he tried to steal the limelight from other performers (in fact I vividly recall a "Jokers Wild" episode where he was constantly butting in to all the other panelists and I got the impression that Ted Ray was not happy about this). However - Askey's film work isn't too bad as he had to follow the script. MAKE MINE A MILLION was one of a handful of films he did in the 1950s, and it's not too bad. He gets to to a drag scene featuring Kenneth Connor which is amusing, but not convincingly funny (ditto his starring role in CHARLEY'S BIG HEARTED AUNT). Sid James is very good in this, and a minor supporting role for Bernard Cribbins. The plot is about TV (thats television not transvestite) make up man Askey plugging various household products on non-commercial TV, which is never referred to as the BBC.

The transfer used is superb with a crisp clean picture, though at times the soundtrack on my DVD disappears for the odd second once or twice. Let's hope his other two comedies from the decade FRIENDS AND NEIGHBOURS and RAMSBOTTOM RIDES AGAIN may get a release. Oh yes, as a footnote the DVD is released under the "Sid James Collection" banner, and seeing as Ramsbottom Rides Again also features Sid, it's a shame they didn't release this title at the same time.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
Not the greatest storyline, but worth the money to see the two stars working together. The goods arrived on time, but the company I bought it off had stuck a sizeable sticker on the front of the cover which seems impossible to remove.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
had it on vhs - dvd copy is soo much better. A very good well priced vintage bit of comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
I willed myself to like this film but really it's just okay.Not worth over five pounds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
Liked it very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
Arthur Askey is the kind of personality which has now died out. One of those old-school music hall kind of characters who was funny by the simple expedient of um....well....being funny. Askey was very short, wore big, silly glasses and from time to time did that cute little slow-shoe shuffle. Oh tee hee. In the 40s and 50s undoubtedly this would have sent a watching audience into paroxysms of hilarity but to a modern day audience assuredly the effect is lost. I think also he wasn't really made for film work as he always appeared to be following a script as opposed to acting, if that makes any sense.

Enter Sid James. Sid James was to be inaugerated into the collective memory of the British consciousness because of the increasingly smutty roles he played in the Carry Ons. Here he shows, not for the first or indeed the last time, that he was quite a fine actor. Rather than being either "the baddie", "the crook" or "the dirty old man", here James is a trader with a genuine product which he desperately desires to makes succesful simply so he can have enough money to marry his sweetheart. He plays the part of a shrewd businessman with aplomb and although this film is definitely meant to be Askey's, Sid James steals the show all hands down.

What I most enjoyed about this film is the actual idea of hacking into National TV (always National, never BBC). It's such an incredibly wicked idea to break the strict protocol of such a hallowed organization. Amusing too is the way Natioonal and Commercial TV (heaven forbid we should say....TTV!) is portrayed. In one scene we see fusty and austere men, all dressed in black, in a National TV board meeting of grave importance. Each man is at least 50 years old and looks like they have never smiled in their lives. Cut to a board meeting for the Commercial TV and they are sat around smoking and slurping martini. One of them is even perched on the end of a desk; and what's this? Is one of them.....an American?!?!? <sharp intake of breath>

All in all this is a fun film which I am confident any fan of classic cinema will enjoy many times.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.