Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful film for all ages
This film is a delight and can be watched by children and adults alike as everyone will get a great deal from it. There is no speech, just visual images of 4 very different cultures with very different child rearing practises. Funny and moving; this is a DVD that will never age.
Published on 20 July 2011 by Granny

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars babies
i am a childminder and culture is a big part of learning for the children when watching the dvd the children were very intrested and asked lots of questions about the dvd and will ask to watch it again yes highly recommend it
Published 19 months ago by lynda hutchinson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful film for all ages, 20 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babies [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a delight and can be watched by children and adults alike as everyone will get a great deal from it. There is no speech, just visual images of 4 very different cultures with very different child rearing practises. Funny and moving; this is a DVD that will never age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 4 Mar 2012
By 
Teacher Veronica (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Babies [DVD] (DVD)
carefully selected footage of four babies in their first year. It's great that it has been left as simply the footage without any commentary which would have detracted from it. Am using it in school with a Child Development GCSE course, the students love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Babies" DVD, 16 July 2011
This review is from: Babies [DVD] (DVD)
This is a DVD that will be sure to interest men and women alike - although parents will get most from it.
It is funny, informative, interesting and very heartwarming. The different cultures portrayed are fascinating and for parents of young babies it can be very encouraging to realise that there is no "right" way to do things.
I am a grandmother, and was so entertained by this DVD that I now own a copy myself - if I ever feel sad or bored, watching this makes me laugh again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars babies, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babies [DVD] (DVD)
i am a childminder and culture is a big part of learning for the children when watching the dvd the children were very intrested and asked lots of questions about the dvd and will ask to watch it again yes highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Documentary, 12 Dec 2012
By 
A. Tremolada (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babies [DVD] (DVD)
I had watched it in French ( I do NOT speak french) but since there are no lines in the film there's no need to understand the language.
i liked it so much that I decided to buy to show it to other people and watch the interviews. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully filmed insight into different cultures, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babies [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this dcoumentary film on Lovefilm and found it a very refreshing perspective into how different cultures bring up their infants. There is no narration or voiceover, it's purely focussed on the babies directly and their immediate surroundings and how they learn about themselves and environment, really lovely, highly recommended. I bought this for xmas for a couiple of friends who are expecting or just had babies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 24 Nov 2012
By 
K. Henderson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babies [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched this film many times. It is a favourite of my children from when they were babies and fascinated with watching other babies. It's also a wonderful gift for first time expecting parents, it gives a little insight and much perspective on parenting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babies [DVD] (DVD)
Got this DVD while I was pregnant. Its an eye opening film...shows culture differences. Light and funny. My daughter often watches it with me instead of cartoons:D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and fun, 17 April 2012
By 
Katherine Wildman "Persephone" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Babies [DVD] (DVD)
The whole family was gripped by this film and we watched it twice in a row before buying it as a Mother's Day gift. Such a simple idea do beautifully executed. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Babies film, 12 Oct 2011
This review is from: Babies [DVD] (DVD)
Love this film. A fly on the wall documentry without commentary. Can be enjoyed by anyone, but if you have had a baby, it is a must. Made me laugh and cry. Great to see how babies are the same everywhere, even with totally different cultures and parenting. Interesting extras too - the 4 families watched the films later and give comments on the others. See it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Babies [DVD]
Babies [DVD] by Thomas Balmes (DVD - 2011)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews