Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still effectively creepy as ever
Now, I've read the reviews here on Amazon and other film websites such as Rotten Tomatoes and IMDB. I fully understand the criticisms that have been said; it's not scary, nothing happens, it's too repetitive, it's boring etc etc etc. But I have to voice my own opinion on this one.

Having already watched the first Paranormal Activity and thinking that it was...
Published on 21 Feb 2011 by D. Diep

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Sure
It was pretty much a dead cert that we'd get a Paranormal Activity 2. The first was creepy and a bit unsettling but this one,well I'm not too sure,Idon't scream or lose sleep over horror films nowadays but this did disappoint a bit! The cast were all good apart from pactically wrapping the little toddler Hunter in cotton wool with all the simpering that went on-however...
Published on 24 Feb 2011 by D. Laidlaw


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still effectively creepy as ever, 21 Feb 2011
By 
D. Diep - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Now, I've read the reviews here on Amazon and other film websites such as Rotten Tomatoes and IMDB. I fully understand the criticisms that have been said; it's not scary, nothing happens, it's too repetitive, it's boring etc etc etc. But I have to voice my own opinion on this one.

Having already watched the first Paranormal Activity and thinking that it was unique and creepy in its own way, I anticipated the sequel and was curious to how it would work out. You can tell that the film looks more professional than the first (I think the cameras used have been better) and on the whole it looks more polished, but you still feel the sense of it being recorded from an amateur style/point of view so it doesn't look totally Hollywoodified (if that's even a word). The film acts as a backstory to the main events that happened in the first film, but if you haven't seen that one the film does a pretty good job of explaining what is happening, and you don't really need to know much in hindsight anyway to understand it.

With a new film comes new cameras and surroundings. Since the film is taken place in a different house, the cameras record the outside pool, the hallways, the stairs, the living room and kitchen. In many cases you can see other parts of the house when one of the characters hold their cameras. What makes the film still creepy as the first is the eerie blue footage recorded by the cameras, combined with the film's skillful ability to create an abundance of tension. I like to watch horror films, and I've seen many before. You can't say that the film doesn't cause tension. I felt unnerved throughout the whole film, because like in the previous one, anything could happen. It uses dead silence and stillness so, so effectively, it feels like your holding your breath. As the film progresses though, it does feel as though you're just waiting for something, anything to happen. But that's really what the viewers of this franchise want. Nevertheless, they don't feel wholly like cheap scares, because the execution of the scares fit perfectly with the slow revealing of the plot and forthcoming build-up as the days and odd events progress.

Like the first film, the climax is definitely the highlight of the film. Obviously more things happen but it's a chilling and shocking end after the slow, momentous build-up created throughout the film. I think in this sense the film is still as effective as the first, and doesn't even show any blood, gore and other cliches in horror films to achieve this. It's said that the best horror films are psychological ones, and to a great extent it is true. In this case, the reason why the film is so undeniably creepy is that you never, ever see fully what or who is causing the paranormal events to happen. It puts more people on edge when people don't understand and see what is confusing them. Have you ever tried to scare someone? It's always the sound that creeps people out first, not the presence.

Granted, I wouldn't want to see this again since there is little incentive to after knowing the scares and having to anxiously wait for the build up. I think that this is not a film that everyone will enjoy or understand what to expect. It's not a typical horror film, like the first, but if you took the time and effort to watch this fully (due it its slow and fleshed out plot), it does manage to encapture the emotions and feelings you should get when watching a good horror film - it has to actually affect you, and it has to make you feel disturbed/anxious. Paranormal Activity 2 does that very well, albeit in an usual and slightly exhausting way.

I would hate to watch this film on my own, alone and in the dark!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An experience best shared, 10 Mar 2011
These films are definitely best viewed at the cinema, the reaction of the audience throughout make this movie a real event, a shared experience of terror and relief. As it turns form day to night the theatre turned silent and the mood became tense, some women screamed deafeningly; and some men stifled yells of terror too. When it became day it wasn't annoying that the whole cinema broke out into simultaneous commentary on the nights 'events' it was a shared relief and the whole cinema felt it.
I watched the 1st movie at home with a flatmate, it was good but definitely 100% go see the next one at the cinema, best cinematic experience I have had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN THE FIRST ONE, 28 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I am one on those who hate the hand held camera gimmick as much as the staged "reality" TV. The first film I literally gave away to a complete stranger. In this film we discover why the demon comes to the house-maybe. There is no shocking final scene as far as I can tell. The goofy stuff starts shortly after Hunter is born. The house is ransacked, except for his room. So the family installs cameras in all the rooms, as well as walk around with a hand held camera all the time, plus a few camera shots that didn't fill either description, such as the OUIJA board scene.

The house keeper suspects an evil spirit is in the house. The daughter thinks it is a demon from mom's side of the family that is after Hunter, and mom thinks it has something to do with the fact her and her sister Cleavage used to hold seances. Dad is a skeptic and doesn't believe much of anything and the dog just barks. This is dad's second wife who seems only slightly older than his bikini daughter.

The plot behind the movie isn't half bad but instead of having a sound track, a decent camera crew, and a token shower scene, we end up with another hand held yawner that bored me to tears as I spent half the time watching a pool crawler. OH LOOK! It got out of the pool! I suggest you read the reviews and fast forward to day 12 or so, to avoid rigor mortis.

No sex, no nudity, a few F-bombs, no terror, no horror, no blood, no gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great horror title, 25 Oct 2012
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film after seeing the newly released Paranormal Acitivy 4 at the cinema last week. If you have seen any of the other films or a horror fan this film will not disapoint- it's super scary, has lots of suspense and had me on the edge of my seat! A horror film not to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely creepy!, 25 Oct 2012
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I was genuinely scared watching this - it builds up and holds the tension really well, and the suburban setting is a good contrast to the creepy goings on in and around the house. It also stays with you long after you've switched off! I would highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sequel Is Just As Good, 13 Jun 2012
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This second offering of the Paranormal Activity series really does a good job of continuing the story whilst also tying the two films together. Set just before the events of the first movie, but then crosses over and runs together from the first. A real shocker at the end and it's good how the film makers arrived at that shock ending.

The story starts off just the same as the first but the focus is on Katies Sister Kirsti and her family as they are slowly terrorized by a Demonic entity in their house.

This is how sequels should be! This equals and surpasses the original but also compliments it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Sure, 24 Feb 2011
By 
D. Laidlaw "nrg jockey" (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
It was pretty much a dead cert that we'd get a Paranormal Activity 2. The first was creepy and a bit unsettling but this one,well I'm not too sure,Idon't scream or lose sleep over horror films nowadays but this did disappoint a bit! The cast were all good apart from pactically wrapping the little toddler Hunter in cotton wool with all the simpering that went on-however thats probably what happens in America! I didn't jump once.Don't get me wrong its not that bad certainly a cut above a lot of other "horror" films but its certainly not terrifying-Although I did like the interaction with the Latino house keeper and the dog-see it but don't expect too much. Ihave heard there will be another one on its way-a good scary one I hope!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Exploding Kitchen Cabinets!, 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
When the film opens with our friend Micah chewing-the-fat with his brother-in-law during a family gathering at the brother-in-law's house, you could be forgiven for thinking that this movie is a prequel to the original. However, when the plot begins to suggest that the demonic intrusion into Katie's residence is also related to her sister, followed by a title card informing us it is '60 Days before the death of Micah', it becomes apparent that narratively speaking this movie is both a prequel and a sequel. Some footage of this new paranormal event in Kristi's house is set before the original movie, some during and some after.

I was very critical of the first picture after being somewhat underwhelmed when it abruptly concluded, having been promised a terrifying rollercoaster ride by the marketing materials. This time, prepared for what I was likely to witness, I was more impressed. The original movie cleared over $150 million from an initial investment of $15,000, so a follow-up was inevitable. The low-fi digital camera hand-held shooting style is repeated, along with the use of stationary time-lapse photography inside the house. Less spooky than before but still very effective; especially during a scene set in the nursery that sees Kristi's German Shepherd shifting uncomfortably during the night.

What impresses me most is the film-maker's ability to create an unsettling environment discussing issues of demon infestations and Ouija Boards shot solely on only one set! Quite an achievement. They should be highly credited for their work. The acting is very realistic as well and one can speculate that most of it may be improvised. It's good to see Katie Featherston back as well. She is kind of a cutie! I won't give away the plot so as not to spoil it for you. But suffice it to say, the events in this second picture shed more light on the motivation for the events in the first movie and leads one to appreciate both movies more. Paranormal Activity 2 ties the two pictures together very closely, and suggests that there is still a story to tell in a future movie. This film opened to a worldwide box office take of $60 million. I wouldn't be surprised if the film-makers were already beginning to consider a `Paranormal Activity 3D'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Largely normal inactivity, 10 Jun 2011
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the original movie as like the first Blair Witch it was a novel idea that has seemingly been done to death by every nutter with a hand held camera.
The writer/director of the first movie, Oren Peli, made clever use of both shadows and noise with a small cast which carried the film far beyond its amateur roots.
I had very high expectations for this movie which were largely unfulfilled, sure there's a few moments that may make you jump first time, one scene in the kitchen in particular but the incident is over way too fast. There is only one genuinely semi-scary scene which is a copy of a scene in the first movie, no spoilers but it involves the stairs. Sadly once you've seen the few "jump" scenes here a couple of times you'll know what to expect and it will not bear repeated viewings.
For some reason this time director Tod Williams decided not to make use of one of the aspects, the use of shadows, that made the first movie so effective.
Briefly this takes place a few months before the events of the original film. There is a larger cast Katie (Katie Featherston), the star of the original and her boyfriend Micah, Katie's sister Kristi (Sprague Grayden) who lives in a Los Angeles suburb with her husband Daniel. Kristi's new baby son, Hunter; as well as Kristi's teenage stepdaughter, Ali (Molly Ephraim) not forgetting the dog and the maid.
When their house appears to have been burgled they install CCTV, cue an endless series of cuts between camera's as the "being" makes itself known.
Ali begins looking into the family history and suspects a demon presence caused by a first born male child and an ancestor's meddling with dark forces.
It's sad that Williams could not make a better attempt at this movie. There are 2 versions on this disc the theatrical 87 minutes and uncuit extended 94 minutes, the differences include a small fire but not one of those cut scenes added much to the tale. The scene near the end in tne cellar reminded me of an attempt to copy Rec, but again it failed to capitalise.
If this creature was supposed to be a demon then it's a pretty ineffective one, let's hope that the next movie returns to the aspects of Oren Peli's original movie that made it so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing sequel, 14 Mar 2011
By 
Bentley (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of the first movie, which actually had me so terrified in places I was crying, I was looking forward to this for ages, having heard mostly positive reviews.

What a let-down. Whereas the first film is genuinely creepy and moves at quite a pace, with many creepy incidents building the tension, this movie builds the tension by having absolutely sod-all happen for about the first hour.

Furthermore, the best bits of the film are pictured on the back of the box, including the ending! This RUINED the film for me as I sat there waiting for these things to happen. THe back of the box should have a massive declaration stating "THESE PICTURES ARE SPOILERS" as they are pretty much the only interesting moments of the film.

Most of the time you will be watching an image of a pushchair next to the front door, switching to a view of the pool, then the kitchen, with nothing happening in any of these places, for about an hour.

When things DO actually happen, they are just cheap "jumpy" scares rather than the creepy horrors of the original.

Although there are a few decent moments in this film that make it worth a watch, it's 90% watching CCTV pictures with NOTHING happening, and 9% "jumpy" moments and 1% story. Massive let-down. Perhaps the "theatrical" version is tighter paced than the "extended" version but I'm not going to bother sitting through that as, for the most part, I was bored by PA2 and don't fancy seeing any of it again.

I don't know what people are thinking who say it is "scarier than the first". It's nowhere near as good, in any area, and definitely is not scarier.

In summary: boring film with a few good bits that don't make it worthwhile. Not a patch on the first one, in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD]
Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] by Tod Williams (DVD - 2011)
£2.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews