Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still effectively creepy as ever
Now, I've read the reviews here on Amazon and other film websites such as Rotten Tomatoes and IMDB. I fully understand the criticisms that have been said; it's not scary, nothing happens, it's too repetitive, it's boring etc etc etc. But I have to voice my own opinion on this one.

Having already watched the first Paranormal Activity and thinking that it was...
Published on 21 Feb 2011 by D. Diep

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN THE FIRST ONE
I am one on those who hate the hand held camera gimmick as much as the staged "reality" TV. The first film I literally gave away to a complete stranger. In this film we discover why the demon comes to the house-maybe. There is no shocking final scene as far as I can tell. The goofy stuff starts shortly after Hunter is born. The house is ransacked, except for his room. So...
Published 15 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN THE FIRST ONE, 28 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I am one on those who hate the hand held camera gimmick as much as the staged "reality" TV. The first film I literally gave away to a complete stranger. In this film we discover why the demon comes to the house-maybe. There is no shocking final scene as far as I can tell. The goofy stuff starts shortly after Hunter is born. The house is ransacked, except for his room. So the family installs cameras in all the rooms, as well as walk around with a hand held camera all the time, plus a few camera shots that didn't fill either description, such as the OUIJA board scene.

The house keeper suspects an evil spirit is in the house. The daughter thinks it is a demon from mom's side of the family that is after Hunter, and mom thinks it has something to do with the fact her and her sister Cleavage used to hold seances. Dad is a skeptic and doesn't believe much of anything and the dog just barks. This is dad's second wife who seems only slightly older than his bikini daughter.

The plot behind the movie isn't half bad but instead of having a sound track, a decent camera crew, and a token shower scene, we end up with another hand held yawner that bored me to tears as I spent half the time watching a pool crawler. OH LOOK! It got out of the pool! I suggest you read the reviews and fast forward to day 12 or so, to avoid rigor mortis.

No sex, no nudity, a few F-bombs, no terror, no horror, no blood, no gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still effectively creepy as ever, 21 Feb 2011
By 
D. Diep - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Now, I've read the reviews here on Amazon and other film websites such as Rotten Tomatoes and IMDB. I fully understand the criticisms that have been said; it's not scary, nothing happens, it's too repetitive, it's boring etc etc etc. But I have to voice my own opinion on this one.

Having already watched the first Paranormal Activity and thinking that it was unique and creepy in its own way, I anticipated the sequel and was curious to how it would work out. You can tell that the film looks more professional than the first (I think the cameras used have been better) and on the whole it looks more polished, but you still feel the sense of it being recorded from an amateur style/point of view so it doesn't look totally Hollywoodified (if that's even a word). The film acts as a backstory to the main events that happened in the first film, but if you haven't seen that one the film does a pretty good job of explaining what is happening, and you don't really need to know much in hindsight anyway to understand it.

With a new film comes new cameras and surroundings. Since the film is taken place in a different house, the cameras record the outside pool, the hallways, the stairs, the living room and kitchen. In many cases you can see other parts of the house when one of the characters hold their cameras. What makes the film still creepy as the first is the eerie blue footage recorded by the cameras, combined with the film's skillful ability to create an abundance of tension. I like to watch horror films, and I've seen many before. You can't say that the film doesn't cause tension. I felt unnerved throughout the whole film, because like in the previous one, anything could happen. It uses dead silence and stillness so, so effectively, it feels like your holding your breath. As the film progresses though, it does feel as though you're just waiting for something, anything to happen. But that's really what the viewers of this franchise want. Nevertheless, they don't feel wholly like cheap scares, because the execution of the scares fit perfectly with the slow revealing of the plot and forthcoming build-up as the days and odd events progress.

Like the first film, the climax is definitely the highlight of the film. Obviously more things happen but it's a chilling and shocking end after the slow, momentous build-up created throughout the film. I think in this sense the film is still as effective as the first, and doesn't even show any blood, gore and other cliches in horror films to achieve this. It's said that the best horror films are psychological ones, and to a great extent it is true. In this case, the reason why the film is so undeniably creepy is that you never, ever see fully what or who is causing the paranormal events to happen. It puts more people on edge when people don't understand and see what is confusing them. Have you ever tried to scare someone? It's always the sound that creeps people out first, not the presence.

Granted, I wouldn't want to see this again since there is little incentive to after knowing the scares and having to anxiously wait for the build up. I think that this is not a film that everyone will enjoy or understand what to expect. It's not a typical horror film, like the first, but if you took the time and effort to watch this fully (due it its slow and fleshed out plot), it does manage to encapture the emotions and feelings you should get when watching a good horror film - it has to actually affect you, and it has to make you feel disturbed/anxious. Paranormal Activity 2 does that very well, albeit in an usual and slightly exhausting way.

I would hate to watch this film on my own, alone and in the dark!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An experience best shared, 10 Mar 2011
These films are definitely best viewed at the cinema, the reaction of the audience throughout make this movie a real event, a shared experience of terror and relief. As it turns form day to night the theatre turned silent and the mood became tense, some women screamed deafeningly; and some men stifled yells of terror too. When it became day it wasn't annoying that the whole cinema broke out into simultaneous commentary on the nights 'events' it was a shared relief and the whole cinema felt it.
I watched the 1st movie at home with a flatmate, it was good but definitely 100% go see the next one at the cinema, best cinematic experience I have had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but it feels rather drawn out and doesn't offer much new, 22 Sep 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After watching the first film (which I felt was quite good though wasn't entirely sure it worked as well as it might)in this second instalment (which is linked to a few weeks prior to the first movie) we have the Rey family home apparently burgled, but few items are taken it's more a case of damaging the house than a robbery. This prompts the family to install a series of security cameras, which conveniently provide us with the "fly on the wall/documentary style footage that makes up the film's scenes.

Regarding the storyline, over time there is a feeling the house is "possessed" and that there are "demons" present. This is further exploited when the family dog senses a "presence". During the film more strange events happen including a scene where Kristi (the wife of Dan) is dragged into the basement trying to protect the baby from a demon. When she comes out later on it's clear she has been taken over by some kind of other force. This eventually leads to the events where Dan the husband has to try to get the demon's out of his wife and protect his family, and as expected with fairly dire consequences.

In terms of cast they do fairly well with the material they have (I struggle to use the word acting as this isn't really a performance as such) Sprague Grayden and Brian Boland head up the husband/wife side whilst Molly Ephraim and Katie Featherston do fine for their roles too (as Dan's daughter and Katie playing the sister of Kristi) I think the problem is one of structure ultimately the "slow creepy moments" are well rather drawn out one could argue the main events are merely a few minutes in length and a full feature film (just over 90 minutes is stretching things a little)

Honestly, the concept isn't a bad one but the periods of not much going on do tend to take away from the story. Something like this might work as a shortly film, as a full length one it left me with a feeling of disappointment. Yes there is some tension and build up, and the creepy aspect can work at times. Films of this genre grab their inspiration from the well known Indie "The Blair Witch Project" and whilst you might find this more interesting than the first one, for me it's not nearly as effective as that film.

Might be worth a watch if you like this kind of thing (if you don't you really won't like it at all), it doesn't really bring anything new to the table v the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars joke, 10 July 2014
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
according to wikipedia, this film is considered one of the scariest films of all time and have mixed to positive approval from the critics. now, I was unsure as to at least sometimes or never take the critics seriously but this helped me make up my mind. you can tell whether the former or the latter is my opinion, depending on whether you liked this film or not. as a fan of films of this genre, not planning to watch other paranormal activity films in this series anytime soon, if ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great horror title, 25 Oct 2012
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film after seeing the newly released Paranormal Acitivy 4 at the cinema last week. If you have seen any of the other films or a horror fan this film will not disapoint- it's super scary, has lots of suspense and had me on the edge of my seat! A horror film not to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely creepy!, 25 Oct 2012
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I was genuinely scared watching this - it builds up and holds the tension really well, and the suburban setting is a good contrast to the creepy goings on in and around the house. It also stays with you long after you've switched off! I would highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sequel Is Just As Good, 13 Jun 2012
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This second offering of the Paranormal Activity series really does a good job of continuing the story whilst also tying the two films together. Set just before the events of the first movie, but then crosses over and runs together from the first. A real shocker at the end and it's good how the film makers arrived at that shock ending.

The story starts off just the same as the first but the focus is on Katies Sister Kirsti and her family as they are slowly terrorized by a Demonic entity in their house.

This is how sequels should be! This equals and surpasses the original but also compliments it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Sure, 24 Feb 2011
By 
D. Laidlaw "nrg jockey" (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
It was pretty much a dead cert that we'd get a Paranormal Activity 2. The first was creepy and a bit unsettling but this one,well I'm not too sure,Idon't scream or lose sleep over horror films nowadays but this did disappoint a bit! The cast were all good apart from pactically wrapping the little toddler Hunter in cotton wool with all the simpering that went on-however thats probably what happens in America! I didn't jump once.Don't get me wrong its not that bad certainly a cut above a lot of other "horror" films but its certainly not terrifying-Although I did like the interaction with the Latino house keeper and the dog-see it but don't expect too much. Ihave heard there will be another one on its way-a good scary one I hope!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For little girls.., 13 July 2014
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Thought this was boring and not scary at all, it's a film for teenage girl's who scream at anything and everything, obviously the actor's are unknown's and it's done on a low budget but so was the Blair Witch Project and that was ten times better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD]
Paranormal Activity 2 [DVD] by Tod Williams (DVD - 2011)
£2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews