Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MOVIE, NOT MUCH ACTION,
This movie is about religious philosophy. If you are not into religious philosophy or seeing the raw sexuality of Milla Jovovich then go elsewhere.
The movie asks questions about the seemingly contradiction of free will vs. God's will. If God has a master plan, then aren't our wrong doings part of it? If so, should we regret our sins?

In what appears to be...
Published 18 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacked any sort of meaningful resolve
There was a lot to like about this film to begin with, and throughout there was a sense that there was something profound around the corner for all involved. Sadly as the film progressed that something failed to materialise.

The film was a slow burner and a haunting score added to the tension and feeling something big was instore for the characters. The...
Published on 17 April 2011 by The Truth


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacked any sort of meaningful resolve, 17 April 2011
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stone [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
There was a lot to like about this film to begin with, and throughout there was a sense that there was something profound around the corner for all involved. Sadly as the film progressed that something failed to materialise.

The film was a slow burner and a haunting score added to the tension and feeling something big was instore for the characters. The performances were good I thought, and testament to this is the fact that De Niro was outperformed by his co stars, Norton and Jovovich.

I found myself ingrossed to begin with as the story played out - and with an underlying theme of religion and sprirituality - I was truly expecting something of biblical proportions to wrap things up. Sadly though, the film just kind of fizzled out.

For me, the film started well and looked promising, but in the end failed to deliver anything spectacular and although enjoyable in places but lacked any sort of meaningful resolution and failed to deliver the final bang we were lead to believe was instore.

The Blu ray wa good quality but the extars were rubbish - just a making of documentary and a couple of very short, rubbish interviews. I would say there is very little reason for the extra outlay on Blu Ray so save some money and get it on DVD if you decide to buy it. But think twice about as I only give it a score of 3 out of 5. In fact, I don't even think this film was released at the cinemas; says a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lethargic psychological prison saga, 18 Jan. 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stone [DVD] (DVD)
Stone features Edward Norton (Fight Club) as Gerald 'Stone' Creeson, a convicted arsonist who is becoming eligible for parole having served "8 out of 10 to 15" years. His Parole Officer is Jack Mabry (Robert De Niro), a man who is seemingly emotionally detached from the rest of the world and most significantly his marriage. Stone is not as stupid as his pseudo-street mannerisms would suggest as he tries to manipulates Mabry into helping his parole recommendation with mind games and his wife on the outside; Lucetta (Mila Jovovich - Resident Evil: Afterlife).

The majority of the film is shot in Jack Mabry's office as Stone and Mabry discuss Stone's eligibility to rejoin society. However Stone manages to slyly turn the conversation into a matter of the differences between the two men; insistent that there is little to differentiate them from one another except for the fact Stone has got caught. Days away from retirement and with the spotlight on himself, Mabry struggles to counter this argument and faces difficult moral decisions in how to handle Stone's wife Lucetta who is lasciviously pursuing him. Will he give in to temptation or stay on the moral high ground?

This film was a box-office bomb and honestly I'm not surprised. It's an interesting concept that the film wrestles with for it's duration, but ultimately it feels very drawn out as the laconic conversations really start to become monotonous. Jack's relationship with Lucetta is stilted and predictable and Norton's street accent really grates after a while. It's not to say that anyone's acting is substandard, more that the material is extremely dry and the little drama there is just feels hackneyed and unbelievable. When this is wrapped in an extremely sterile cinematic experience (the entire thing is set in an office, the prison visiting rooms or Jack's dilapidated rural house) it makes for a very boring watch - weighing in at 1hr 45 mins.

Extra content: All you get is a featurette called "The Making of Stone" and the theatrical trailer. The 'making of' is fairly boring as there wasn't a single scene where I was interested to see how they filmed it. I mean, a camera in an office? Hardly ground-breaking cinematography.

All in all, a solid script with a brilliant cast, but lacking any action and the right pace to keep you interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Norton must have been stoned - a wasted opportunity, 8 April 2011
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stone [DVD] (DVD)
This film received scathing reviews, and was released on DVD only, and I can see why - the 'Stone' character is laughable. A shame, as 2 great actors and a good idea is lost here.

DeNiro and the sometimes brilliant Edward Norton star in this average psychologist drama film, which accidentally veers onto black comedy. They pair up again after the excellent 'The Score' in 2001, with DeNiro's films having been not so good since then.

It starts off very well, being serious and powerful in the unsaid. Then psychologist DeNiro meets 'Stone', a white man with braids - a street talking criminal. Stone is detestable, comical and odd - and that is what the film becomes (Ali-G anyone?). However, I still think DeNiro puts in a rateable role, and this should please a some DeNiro fans.

Mila Jovovich (Resident Evil) also stars, with her perfect teeth, as Stone's dirty girlfriend. The racy elements aren't sexy and add to the film's awkwardness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MOVIE, NOT MUCH ACTION,, 22 Sept. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stone [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is about religious philosophy. If you are not into religious philosophy or seeing the raw sexuality of Milla Jovovich then go elsewhere.
The movie asks questions about the seemingly contradiction of free will vs. God's will. If God has a master plan, then aren't our wrong doings part of it? If so, should we regret our sins?

In what appears to be a role reversal De Niro places a parole officer and Edward Norton a prisoner. Early on we find out that De Niro has some anger management problems. As a child he hit his brother in the head with a hammer and threatened to kill his daughter if his wife left him. He is the parole officer who judges people.

Norton plays a convict who started a fire to cover up a crime committed by his cousin. His nickname is "Stone." Stone, according to the new religion of Norton is the beginning phase of a soul. We all start out as stones and work our way up to humans as part of the eternal process. His simple questions and answers cause De Niro to think and examine his own life and religious belief.

Milla's religious views come out late in the movie, and they too have an effect on De Niro. Much of the movie consists of various conversations with very little action. The background radio chatter of a religion station sets the mood. If you know how to listen, God will talk to you. Sex, nudity, f-bomb and a few other expletives that surprised me.

Milla is extremely sensual in this film: Her eyes, raised eyebrow, lips, smile, mannerisms, nudity, and especially her whispers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!, 4 April 2011
By 
Bobby (Button Moon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stone [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Being the huge Bobby DeNiro and Ed Norton fan that I am, it pains me to say that this is one of the most depressing, boring and just plain rubbish films i've ever seen - and i've seen a hell of a lot of films!

It's not that any of the actors are particularly bad, it just doesn't go anywhere. It's start with DeNiro and Norton sitting across the table talking to each other and continues this for virtually the entire film - except for the parts where Deniro inexplicably shoots off to bang Milla Jovovich?!

And by talking I don't mean Tarantino-style scriptwriting that keeps you gripped throughout, I mean just very boring talking.

There have only been about 20 films in my lifetime that I have turned off halfway through having given up all interest of ever seeing what happens at the end and sadly this is one of them. I did fast-forward about another 20 mins just to see if anything livened up but it just showed more scenes of these (in my opinion) legends sitting across a table talking to each other - and after an hour of this already I could cope no more, so off it went!

It's a sad reflection that two of the other films on my 'abandoned mid-way through watching' list are 'Righteous Kill' and 'Meet The Fockers' - both starring my idol DeNiro!

Such a sad, sad shame.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lethargic psychological prison saga, 14 Feb. 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Stone features Edward Norton (Fight Club) as Gerald 'Stone' Creeson, a convicted arsonist who is becoming eligible for parole having served "8 out of 10 to 15" years. His Parole Officer is Jack Mabry (Robert De Niro), a man who is seemingly emotionally detached from the rest of the world and most significantly his marriage. Stone is not as stupid as his pseudo-street mannerisms would suggest as he tries to manipulates Mabry into helping his parole recommendation with mind games and his wife on the outside; Lucetta (Mila Jovovich - Resident Evil: Afterlife).

The majority of the film is shot in Jack Mabry's office as Stone and Mabry discuss Stone's eligibility to rejoin society. However Stone manages to slyly turn the conversation into a matter of the differences between the two men; insistent that there is little to differentiate them from one another except for the fact Stone has got caught. Days away from retirement and with the spotlight on himself, Mabry struggles to counter this argument and faces difficult moral decisions in how to handle Stone's wife Lucetta who is lasciviously pursuing him. Will he give in to temptation or stay on the moral high ground?

This film was a box-office bomb and honestly I'm not surprised. It's an interesting concept that the film wrestles with for it's duration, but ultimately it feels very drawn out as the laconic conversations really start to become monotonous. Jack's relationship with Lucetta is stilted and predictable and Norton's street accent really grates after a while. It's not to say that anyone's acting is substandard, more that the material is extremely dry and the little drama there is just feels hackneyed and unbelievable. When this is wrapped in an extremely sterile cinematic experience (the entire thing is set in an office, the prison visiting rooms or Jack's dilapidated rural house) it makes for a very boring watch - weighing in at 1hr 45 mins.

Extra content: All you get is a featurette called "The Making of Stone" and the theatrical trailer. The 'making of' is fairly boring as there wasn't a single scene where I was interested to see how they filmed it. I mean, a camera in an office? Hardly ground-breaking cinematography.

All in all, a solid script with a brilliant cast, but lacking any action and the right pace to keep you interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'A GAME OF MANIPULATION' (GREAT LEAD-CAST) WORTH A SPIN', 10 Oct. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stone [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A powerful drama that see's a prisoner and his wife manipulate a soon to be retired correction officer to present a recommendation for the prisoners release.
Jack Mabry ( Robert De Niro ) has done his job for over 40 years and has allays played by the rules, his world is about to be turned upside down when he commences an assessment of 'Gerald' known as 'Stone' ( Edward Norton )
'Stone's' wife 'Lucetta' played by 'Mila Jovovich' wears 'Jack's' resolve to play by the rules down by her persistent and inappropriate contact with him.
There appears to be no limit to what she'll do to influence 'Jack'
This is not the fastest moving film you'll see, however it's worth at least watching.(Better than critics suggest)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray review, 26 Feb. 2011
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stone [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
You will either love this film or hate it. With two world class actors and Milla Jovovic you can expect excellent performances and indeed they don't fail to deliver. The cinematography is first class, the settings beautifully realised and authentic but for me it was let down by the story. De Niro plays a parole officer on the verge of retirement and Norton is a prisoner seeking parole who uses his wife to try to seduce De Niro to compromise him into supporting him. In the meantime intrigued by De Niro's religous views he seeks and finds enlightenment of his own which forces De Niro to confront his own dark side. The story appears to be a slow burning thriller heading towards an explosive climax but then just fizzles out like a damp squib. The blu-ray transfer is first class and the DTS Master soundtrack is also excellent but don't go into this film with high expectations or a short attention span, you may be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I did not enjoy this film, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone [DVD] (DVD)
I did not enjoy this film. I bought it because of the two main star characters who I always enjoy watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Awful movie, 30 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Stone [DVD] (DVD)
thought both actors must have need a pay day. Terrible movie, even their acting was off , together with the awful syory line , well worth not watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stone [Blu-ray]
Stone [Blu-ray] by John Curran (Blu-ray - 2011)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews