Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, fun and refreshing
A vibrant film full of energy and charm. The two lead actors are fabulous and make an interesting couple to watch and to eavesdrop in on their world. The sex in the film is refreshingly honest and 'real', and I found it fantastic to be confronted with the 'bits' of both of them (usually the male body gets not nearly as much coverage, if any).
The film felt slightly...
Published on 6 Jan 2011 by A Customer

versus
26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant? Nearly...
Although I would only give this film three stars, its faults really should not put you off watching this brave and innovative piece.

First, the sex! Well, as others have mentioned, it does form the cornerstone of the story, and its gritty depiction is so refreshing compared to the airbrushed trash we're used to from bigger budget films. Personally I found it...
Published on 2 May 2011 by Mr. J. Willerton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, fun and refreshing, 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: Brilliantlove [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
A vibrant film full of energy and charm. The two lead actors are fabulous and make an interesting couple to watch and to eavesdrop in on their world. The sex in the film is refreshingly honest and 'real', and I found it fantastic to be confronted with the 'bits' of both of them (usually the male body gets not nearly as much coverage, if any).
The film felt slightly rough around the edges at times, possibly because after a wonderful beginning being led into a film that felt like a character based film, it started to lean on a plot that felt a little awkward and contrived. But this oddly didn't at all detract from the film's fun and it held my interest the whole way through because it never let its energy or charm drop for an instant. I was left with a feeling of delight and a huge grin on my face.
It's the kind of film you rarely see in the UK, so I would also recommend for that - to support some unique and brave filmmakers, refusing to make a film based on the expectations of the mainstream preconception of what a 'British' film should be (and for my part I don't believe many have the courage to do that, because they rarely get supported). Definitely one to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant? Nearly..., 2 May 2011
By 
Mr. J. Willerton (Harrogate, N Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brilliantlove [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
Although I would only give this film three stars, its faults really should not put you off watching this brave and innovative piece.

First, the sex! Well, as others have mentioned, it does form the cornerstone of the story, and its gritty depiction is so refreshing compared to the airbrushed trash we're used to from bigger budget films. Personally I found it interesting more than erotic. I wouldn't in any way describe this film as porn, although I'm sure it will sell on its notoriety. Such brave performances from the two leads, I'm amazed at how far they let themselves go.

This film has still passed the certification process, so probably represents about as far as an 18 rating can go in 2011. Mostly, "harder" moments are implied or oblique. It does make you ponder what an 18 film will show in another 20 years.

So why only three from five? For me, I couldn't fully connect with the over-reached plot, nor the self-indulgent waster art student leads. Their characters were interesting, but they are basically both in need of a wash, some counselling and a proper job. However, even though I didn't like them, I totally got that they were perfect for each other, and this is where the film somehow manages to dredge up a feeling of sweet romance.

Ironically, towards the end "Brilliantlove" tries to poke fun at the same arthouse culture that it comes from itself.. almost some attempt to say I'm Too Cool Even For Art School. Didn't really pull it off, it's not that clever, and when all's said and done the story is pretty standard fare in essence.

It is very creditable though, and as a Northern lad myself I think it's fantastic that it was produced and shot in the North, even though it did little to really break any sterotypes. It's important to show that there really is talent in the country outside of London.

So, a very fresh film that makes you think, let down by some contrivances and pretensions - but please do watch if you're reading these reviews, it is something very different and still worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 5 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliantlove [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
I love this film , yes it is explicit but never cheap titilation . Nancy Trotter Landy is wonderful , sexy real woman . She doesnt pout or flirt with the camera or pull those ridiculous sex faces so loved by lovers in french movies . A fun quirky story and great northern countryside too . Brilliant .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good movie, but of the moment, 22 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliantlove [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
I suppose like many things like it, this film is intelligent and well made - great music, well shot and convincing acting. Where it fell down for me was that it was very of the moment - cool music, young cool actors, cool settings; you get the picture. The sex scenes are intense and passionate and the couple are very attractive. With quite a number of things to recommend it I would give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a beautifully brave, poetic love story...., 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: Brilliantlove [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
One of the most accurate titles for a film I have seen this year, brilliantlove engages the mind in an evolved exploration of passion and sexuality. brilliantlove is the potent, unflinching, and poetic story about two young lovers spending the summer together in a broken and worn garage in the countryside exploring the possibilities for eroticism and passionate love-making within a contained environment. Horner and his collaborators have broken through with this unique and powerful film that is unlike anything else I have seen this year in its ability to move a viewer through an emotional and beautiful place to illuminate the nature of love.

The brave and exposed, literally, performances of Nancy Trotter Landry and Liam Browne as the hyper-charged lovers Noon and Manchester explored so much about the sexuality that can arise between couples and the trials involved with keeping those feelings alive. Noon does work as a taxidermist, keeping her projects in the freezer amongst the ice pops Manchester so enjoys (oh the ice pops, just brilliant). Manchester is working on an art project, using instamatic cameras to capture the erotic passion they share. Things are going well until Manchester is approached by an erotic art aficionado who wants to display his work at a show. The bubble existence Noon and Manchester shared is stretched to the limit as their lives are no longer completely tied together and revolving around each other. For the performances by lead actors Trotter and Browne, it was so great to see a chemistry on screen reminiscent of real life, as they, simply put, were epic in brilliantlove, drawing the audience deep into the world of the film and making them not wanting to leave it.

The filmmaking style Horner utilized often involved long, stark takes to keep the tension and emotions at a fever pitch while allowing the activity on screen to unfold more naturally. You could feel the buzz in the theater coming from people's bodies as they were viewing the raw passion and sincere vision of love on screen, very tastefully and attractively done I might add. The place was kind of unsure if they could feel comfortable, like they were almost embarrassed to, at first. That quickly faded to laughs at all the right times and impossible quietude for moments of drama that were unfolding continuously. So vision prevailed as Horner's execution of Sean Conway's tightly crafted script hopefully opens the gateway for more filmmakers to explore truth, to mine a real place inside humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lost interest..., 2 Mar 2013
By 
Fi (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliantlove [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
... after about twenty minutes - two pretty unappealing lead characters, and not much to say for itself, I'm afraid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Held the attention throughout., 20 Aug 2012
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliantlove [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
I believe the intention of the director was to portray love as not merely the usually depicted relationship between a man and a woman, with an occasional reference to sexual intimacy, but to bring us a movie that doesn't pull any punches.
It certainly does this, and I have to say the two principal actors carry off this "acted illusion" of physical love and unerring desire very convincingly.
It is not vulgar, but definately not one for the prudish or easily offended by the graphic scenes of nudity and sexual arousal. But, it was a tastefully made film, and had a good story line which I will not reveal in great detail as it will ruin a new viewers experience.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than 9 Songs!, 10 May 2011
By 
Laura (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliantlove [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
I had read a review of this film on its release and thought it sounded like another 9 Songs. Far from it, it has likeable leads and an actual storyline.
Although the leads are relavtive newcomers, they do an excellent job and you believe in their love.
Manchester takes photos of Noon when they are making love etc...the photos get into the hands of a wealthy pornographer and connoisseur of erotica. He persuades Manchester to show the photos at an art exhibition. When Noon finds out, she is upset and their relationship is put to the test.
Well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liam Browne, the next Al Pacino?, 7 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Brilliantlove [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
Brilliant Love was the most moving film I saw last year, a moving story of love in the 21st centuary. While the film in itself was surperb, the performance by Liam Browne was one of those you only come accross once in a decade.

Pacino had The Godfather, Bogart had High Sierra, McQueen had The Magnificent Seven; now Browne has Billiant Love.

Don't miss Brilliant Love if only so you can say I saw Browne before he was properly famous (or just to see him naked).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic love story, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliantlove [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
I watched this love story unfold with my fingers in my mouth as each scene came along. The writer was stunning in his perception and I just loved this wonderful love story, so different and so bold to.
Teenagers have so much fun these days
This dvd is full of passion in very kinky settings, lots of lust and desire around every corner.
The writer is so poetic in his dialogue.
This is a must see movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brilliantlove [DVD] (2010)
Brilliantlove [DVD] (2010) by Ashley Horner (DVD - 2011)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews