Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Kindle Edition of a Classic Novel
Everybody knows that Leo Tolstoy is one of the world's greatest novelists and War and Peace is his magnum opus. So there is not much point in me adding to the reviews, as all that can be said about it has already been said.

However, if you have a Kindle I can recommend this edition (Cambridge World Classics) as an absolutely brilliant ebook - well formatted...
Published on 25 July 2011 by GC

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, disappointing format
Very strange layout and formatting, very few 'annotations' (a few not very accurate translations from the French). Wonderful book but I recommend finding a better edition for Kindle, tho' the Maude translation is to recommended.
Published on 23 April 2012 by Alemap Erram


Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Kindle Edition of a Classic Novel, 25 July 2011
This review is from: War and Peace (Cambridge World Classics) Critical Edition (Annotated) (Complete Works of Leo Tolstoy / Complete Works of Leo Tolstoi Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Everybody knows that Leo Tolstoy is one of the world's greatest novelists and War and Peace is his magnum opus. So there is not much point in me adding to the reviews, as all that can be said about it has already been said.

However, if you have a Kindle I can recommend this edition (Cambridge World Classics) as an absolutely brilliant ebook - well formatted with additional information. A lot of people seem to be put off by the book's length, but as it is so well written (and translated) and the chapters are relatively short that excuse doesn't really hold up; the pages just flow by and before you know it you've just finished the world's greatest novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, disappointing format, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace (Cambridge World Classics) Critical Edition (Annotated) (Complete Works of Leo Tolstoy / Complete Works of Leo Tolstoi Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Very strange layout and formatting, very few 'annotations' (a few not very accurate translations from the French). Wonderful book but I recommend finding a better edition for Kindle, tho' the Maude translation is to recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I always ment to read this book, 10 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace (Cambridge World Classics) Critical Edition (Annotated) (Complete Works of Leo Tolstoy / Complete Works of Leo Tolstoi Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Well I'm so glad I eventually got round to reading this huge book.It is amazing. There are some passages that you have to read again and again they are so well written and capture thoughts so well. It does challenge the brain somewhat with all the Russian names but go with the flow and it becomes second nature. Brilliant !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace (Cambridge World Classics) Critical Edition (Annotated) (Complete Works of Leo Tolstoy / Complete Works of Leo Tolstoi Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Must read for all. Worth the time spent on reading and finally getting to the end of this tremendous piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SURPRISING, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace (Cambridge World Classics) Critical Edition (Annotated) (Complete Works of Leo Tolstoy / Complete Works of Leo Tolstoi Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Never dreamt of reading this book as so many have said stuff like....it's too long etc: The storyline nolds the interest from the word go. A fascinating historical story about Russia, Napoleon, and Russian society and values. Not all war history can be interesting, but allied with Tolstoy's wonderful writing style, the images come to life. The stories about all the families., their lives, and loves are great. The epilogue, in itself, is worth reading. I am no intellectual, but for me, next stop, Anna Karenina.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars veary good book, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace (Cambridge World Classics) Critical Edition (Annotated) (Complete Works of Leo Tolstoy / Complete Works of Leo Tolstoi Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I brought this book and i am thinking that everyone should get this book and read it as it will make you think about things in a new way this is a must have book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews