Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album from David Essex, 20 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Wizard (Audio CD)
I brought this album back in 1979 on blue vinyl and thought all the tracks were very strong songs showing what a uniquely creative person he is. Here David records with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and it really comes across well especially on my favorite track "Ships that Pass in the Night", which is very theatrical and moving, beautiful poetic lyrics.
Contains the hit single "Oh What a Circus" and the flip side "High Flying Adored" both from the hit musical Evita with David playing Che. He was easily the best Che due to his stage presence.
He even wrote and a sang a medieval folk song on the album "Are you Still My True Love", which shows he can write and record in different musical styles.
I think his song writing and singing really came together on this album, "Let it Flow" and "Call on Me" are great sweeping tracks especially the use of stings and pumping funky bass guitar.
I am really glad he re released this album as he is great singer and a gentleman.
Well done David!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best albums, 26 Jan 2011
By 
Julie Waller "Julie Waller" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Imperial Wizard (Audio CD)
One of the best albums David ever released in my opinion. A diversity of styles sung with warmth and feeling. The folksy, pleasant track - Are You Still My True Love backed by a bona fide Gaelic band, The Whistlebinkies, is a delight. The romantic ballad Goodbye First Love will take 'us ladies' back to the heady days of our first romance with a soft smile on our faces. Oh What A Circus and High Flying Adored are taken from the successful Musical, Evita, which starred Elaine Paige as the eponymous heroine Evita(Eva Peron)and David as Che Guevara. David only starred in the show for 6 months and left to take the Imperial Wizard album on a successful sell out UK tour, so it may surprise you to know that subsequent Che's have faithfully stuck to David's interpretation of the role, so charismatic was his stage presence. The original vinyl album only had 11 tracks, so the addition of two extra bonus tracks, High Flying Adored and Midnight Train makes this CD even more of a 'must have' for David Essex fans. It is great to finally hear these tracks digitally remastered without the crackles and hiss of the old vinyl album. The best [...] I ever spent! Julie Waller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars essex rocks, 4 April 2011
This review is from: Imperial Wizard (Audio CD)
david essex is my guilty secret as a fan of costello from alison onwards to julien cope via genesis gabriel talking heads and americana david essex shouldnt fit but hey his early albums mainly produced by jeff wayne are pretty good imperial wizard is a little bit different just after seeing the jam i saw david performing at the apollo ardwick promoting this album he was in fine voice sothirty years later i finally buy the album itself true its patchy a guilty secret but a guilty secret to treasureThe Psychomodo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Essex - Imperial Wizard - all those years ago he was our Imperial Wizard, 3 Aug 2011
This review is from: Imperial Wizard (Audio CD)
I was a major David Essex fan in the 70s and still like him very much today. I have his early albums on vinyl (in storage) but never play vinyl these days. Imagine my joy to find that four of his early albums have - at long last - been released on CD. I bought 'Stage-struck' and 'Be-Bop the Future' at the local 'record' store and the booklets in them advertised 'Imperial Wizard' and 'Hot Love'- what a result! Listening to the 'Imperial Wizard' album after all this time took me back to my teenage years and the album tracks sound as great today as they did way back then. If you have only just discovered David in Eastenders - then invest in this album to find that there is more to Mr. Essex than a spot of acting! Note to record company - you still need to release The Whisper album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
By 
Mr. James S. Edmondson (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Imperial Wizard (Audio CD)
really enjoyed this. forgot just how special it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Imperial Magic., 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Wizard (Audio CD)
David Essex c.d, from 1978, sounds better know that it did then, David put on the magic for this c.d, with the title song Imperial Wizard, still being sung in his concerts today, the song sure has stood the test of time, along with such gems as.Oh What A Circus, Ships That Pass In The Night. Buy the c.d, you wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Imperial Wizard, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Wizard (Audio CD)
I bought the record a long time ago and now I am gradually replacing my collection as and when affordable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album - and long overdue on CD!, 22 Aug 2011
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Wizard (Audio CD)
A surprisingly long time in coming out on CD - this was one of David Essex's best Albums. Featuring two great Singles; 'Oh What A Circus' and the title Track. The latter which was issued as a collectible blue vinyl 7" - which despite the help, amazingly did not do well in terms of Chart Placings, yet it is a Song that grows immensely the more it is heard. For some reason this did not get the airplay it deserved. The LP was also done in blue vinyl. These collectible Editions seemed rather rare at the time, though turn up frequently on eBay for those interested.

The CD consists of eleven powerful Tracks (excluding bonus material) with only one real 'filler' in 'Call On Me' which is decidedly of a lesser standard that the rest of the collection. The Album is great on first hearing, but will definitely grow on you on successive plays.

Highlights for me are; 'Let It Flow', the ancient sounding: 'Are You Still My True Love', 'Oh What A Circus', 'Imperial Wizard', 'Goodbye First Love' (probably the strongest Song on the Album) and 'Ships That Pass In The Night'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C.D, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Wizard (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed having this CD. I lost my record when I had a flood. Many thanks. Good doing business with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Imperial Wizard
Imperial Wizard by David Essex (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews